Posted by: Elizabeth Anne Mitchell | June 25, 2011

ROW 80 Round 3 Goals

1. Work an hour a week setting up the “author platform” of Twitter, Facebook, new blog, Goodreads.
2. Post at least 250 words at least once a week (not including ROW 80 check-in posts).
3. Spend at least two hours a day on writing, research, outlining; no external distractions.
4. Plan/outline 2 new essays.
5. Revise 4 essays already written.

In the way life has, it has kicked my creative writing to the curb. Goals 4 and 5 are professional writing that has to be done; I am taking the attitude that the habits in goals 1-3, once established, will serve me well in my creative life. For that matter, writing for an audience, no matter how distant and aloof, cannot hurt. Therefore, until I can turn to my fiction WIPs, I will bear a standard with the strange device / Exclesior (apologies to Henry Wadsworth Longfellow).

Responses

  1. goals sound good – after all it’s not just about words counted – all the rest is as important – so go for it- keep smiling

  2. Those sound like great goals – Good luck!

  3. Thank you both for the encouragement!

  4. Sounds like some great goals 🙂 Here’s to a creative and productive 80 days – with some fun thrown in!

    Marie

    • Thanks, Marie. Yes, I think the fun is crucial–it seems like a fun group of people, so that should be easy to come by!

      And the same wishes for creativity and productivity to you! 🙂

  5. Posting is generally a great way to up the word count, IMO. It doesn’t officially “count” as new creative writing a lot of times, but it’s great practice. I think I tend to overlook how much I blog (figuring it for “fun” time as opposed to “productive” time), but it really is a great way to get in the habit of just writing regularly.

    I think you’ve got the right idea about setting the habits (especially blocking aside time)… that’s always the hardest part, right? 🙂

    • I’m new to posting, as myself anyway! I’ve been anonymous for a long time, so it is still a shock to see my name for all the world to see, but I agree it is really good for establishing a habit. And boy, do I need to establish some habits, well, good ones, anyway! Why are bad habits so darn easy to fall into??

      Thanks for your comments–great points!


Please leave a reply

Categories

