Posted by: Elizabeth Anne Mitchell | July 6, 2011

First check-in Round 3

Hmm, progress toward goals? I have been able to sit in the chair for two hours a day, which is an accomplishment, considering the whirlwind around me. Progress during those two hours? More baby steps than anything else. On one new essay, I did enough research to find that my hypothesis is flawed, sigh. Erase screen. . . . On another new essay, things are moving along; I can see that I have a lot of angst to edit out, but I’m letting it flow for now.

As for blogging, I’ve been thinking of what to write about, other than the terror of the blank screen and the echo of saying something to an empty room. I have a couple of days left for that, though.

Overall, though, I am feeling good about the progress; even with the setbacks, I am further along than I would have thought. I’ve also been visiting blogs in my sponsor duties, and the sense of community is very helpful. Onward!

Responses

  1. Just picture your audience nekkid.

    Oh, wait–that might not be such a good idea after all. *shudder*

    Never fear, though–no word written is truly wasted if you learned something from it. :o)

    • Um, yeah, *shudder* ! I never could use that when giving presentations–too creepy to help me get less nervous!

      Your point about writing is very good–lots of ink has been expended through the centuries that did nothing more than teach its authors, and we have often benefited from what they learned. πŸ™‚

  2. Any forward movement is progress, as far as I’m concerned. πŸ™‚ Hope the rest of the week is good to you!

    • Thanks, Cricket–that’s a good thought to keep in mind. I get frustrated with the conga line (2 steps forward, 1 step back), but you’re right. The total progress is what matters. I hope you have a good rest of the week as well!

  3. Hang in there, Nancy. I like your strategy of focusing on nonfiction until you can figure the fiction out. I’ve been doing that too, and it helps. πŸ˜€

    From your post, it sounds like you’re doing some kind of scientific writing since you mention a “hypothesis.” You don’t have to tell me what kind of writing if you don’t want to, but in my VERY limited experience writing essays for a social sciences class, I found that I had to sit and let things gel until I had that ah-ha! moment. I believe you’ll have yours too, and you’ll get your flawless hypothesis.

  4. Thanks, Milli. I’ve had to write non-fiction for years due to various jobs, so it’s already a habit. I’m not doing scientific writing, but social science (library science). I am trained as a medievalist, so social science writing is a bit different for me–I can churn out humanities like a demon, but library science, um, not so much.

    I think your point about letting things gel is excellent; I’m letting some things percolate on a back burner while I research, outline, and the rest. I’m very familiar with that ah-ha! moment and I’m waiting with bated breath for it! πŸ™‚

  5. It’s great that you’re feeling good about it. It’s all a process I think. I just realized…as in about 30 seconds ago…that my outline is not detailed enough and I don’t know what on earth I’m writing lol. But it’s ok, right? Guess you gotta learn these things at some point! Good luck moving forward!!

    • Thanks, Lauren; I appreciate the encouragement. As for not having a detailed enough outline–I’d be rich if I had a dollar for every time I’ve done that! But yes, of course it’s okay! It’s how I learn, anyway!


Please leave a reply

Categories

