Posted by: Elizabeth Anne Mitchell | July 10, 2011

ROW80 check in 7/10/11 Nancy Poehlmann

All right, it’s confession time. I didn’t come close to what I wanted to do, although I suppose I should concentrate on what I did get done.
1. I did work on the author platform, but it’s taking more time than I expected, so that goal may need some tweaking.
2. I began my blog http://www.lapidaryprose.wordpress.com . I am now officially out of my cave of anonymity.
3. I have been able to spend two hours a day on research, outlining, and the rest. However, I have not been able to get up as early as I would like; nor have I been able to block out as many external distractions. I have some work to do here, I fear.
4. I posted Wednesday that I had to ditch one hypothesis for one of my new essays. I think I may have a new one, but I am unhappy that I had to start over. 
5. I haven’t yet started on the revisions yet, but I am tempted to start on one of those to assuage my disappointment about number 4 above.
Now that I write it out, I feel a little better, but I did spend most of the week in a blue funk. Any advice on dealing with this feeling of disappointment would be greatly appreciated.

Responses

  1. I think you should definately focus on what you did achieve! Something is definately better than nothing. I am going to be tackling getting up a bit earlier this week on two days as I know I won’t have time to reach my goals in the evenings….will have to see how that goes! Hope week 2 is productive and no blue funks surround you.

    • Thanks for the kind encouraging words, Em! I try to be the half-full glass person, so I’ll work harder on that.

  2. I know what you mean about funks. I’ve found I just have to roll with them and let them run their course. I pamper myself, eat right, get sleep – nap if I need it. I don’t know if or how well it actually assists with the funk, but I know for sure it’s better than when I’m trying to beat myself out of one! 🙂 Sending you good thoughts for the week ahead!

    • Thanks for the hints, Cricket. I, too, have found that beating myself up about being in a funk leads to . . .a deeper funk. Hope your next week goes well, too! 🙂

  3. I agree, look at the positives, not the negatives. Hope you do well this week!

  4. Thanks for the encouragement. I’m a real Pollyanna about everyone’s else’s life; I just need to turn that sunny disposition inward! Hope your week goes well!

  5. I don’t think we’d be writers without funks. I fear it might be a requirement. If you’re funk includes a jumbled brain, the thing that always works for me is a shower. I know that sounds odd, but it really does work. I’ve always done that to clear my head (wash the blues away lol!) but then I read somewhere not too long ago that there actually is a scientific truth to it – who knew?!

    A lot of times reading also helps with my funks. My brain goes somewhere else for awhile and I feel better.

    I hope you have a wonderful funk-less week!

    • How interesting that a shower really helps. Maybe it’s the sensory exclusion that the water creates–it does help me think through things.

      Reading helps too–again, it creates a barrier against intrusive thoughts (work, bills, other worries)

      Great hints, Lauren. Thank you!

  6. Looking at what you did do is already a step in the right direction 🙂

    When I’m in a funk, I try and find things to do that keep my hands busy like baking or cleaning, and then the ideas happen. Or read.

    Here’s hoping you have a fantastic week!

    Marie

    • Thanks for the suggestions, Marie. I was brought up in a very old-fashioned household, where idle hands are the Devil’s workshop, that sort of thing. Keeping my hands busy does free the brain–I just have to think about the right things, not worrying things 🙂

  7. fill the glass half full girl – you can write – dont beat yourself up. some weeks days hours are the pits find what suits you I sometimes go lie down and drift – others use up energy with physical, another I find good is messing about in the garden – something about getting hands dirty – whatever do it – doesn’t matter if goals have to be tweaked a bit thats all they are, goals – not set in stone

    • Thanks for the encouragement, Alberta. You’re absolutely right about the goals–what I love about ROW80 is its flexibility.

      I think I need more of a physical outlet for the my negative energy–something I can accomplish to feel good about myself again.

  8. Funky is as funky does. I beat myself so regularly, I hardly even notice it anymore! But one of the things that helps from getting into a funk in the first place is to try and keep my goals modest and realistic. Yes, I know we should reach for the stars, but we also have to know what we’re capable of and what we can achieve.

    Good luck with your writing this week!

    • Good advice, Ruth; thank you for sharing it. I’m my own worst enemy, my DH says. I should know by now that sometimes hypotheses are wrong–that is what makes them hypotheses and not laws, right? 🙂

      I love the flexibility of ROW80 and will continue to monitor whether I need to tweak the goals. Thanks for the good wishes–hope your week goes swimmingly as well!

  9. It’s hard when you don’t do everything you want to do…but then you might need to adjust your goals down a little so that they fit your life and schedule better. Hang in there! It will get going. 😀

    • Thanks for the encouragement, Sonia. Actually, it did get better, just like you said! 🙂


Please leave a reply

Categories

