ROW80

ROW80 Check-in 7/17/11

Wow, two weeks in, and I think it might be working. I’ve been working on the author platform, adding Google+ to the mix, although not all are up and informative yet. I did post on my http://www.lapidaryprose.wordpress.com blog on Friday, so I met that weekly goal. I have spent several days consistently working at least two hours a day; today I wrote the book proposal that has to be submitted at the end of the week.

Planning the new essays has been slow going. I went off into interesting research, but found two topics that are too involved for the short-term results I need, and one that doesn’t have enough information to make it worthwhile. I pushed through the frustration, though, and have found one new topic as well as the one that will turn into the book proposal. I’ve also gathered the research I need to do for the four “old” essays, and have decided that the first one up is the one with the least holes. Hey, I’m driven, but I’m not crazy!

For fun, I’ve been playing with ideas for the creative writing. That goal is what keeps me going through the stuff I have to write now; I have to drag myself away from swimming in it too much, but I do allow myself to outline the musings about plot/character/setting while folding laundry or other tasks that don’t engage my brain. I cannot believe the progress I’ve made. My only problem is keeping my mouth shut about it!

26 thoughts on “ROW80 Check-in 7/17/11”

  1. That’s great that you’re doing so well. Keep it going for 80 days, and you’ll be amazed at what you’ve accomplished. Good luck.

  2. Laundry is a great time to think. I do the same and often am able to come up with solutions to a writing issue while building a stack of towels.

    Nicely done this week and best of luck with the book proposal 🙂

    1. It’s amazing how much one can get done during mindless work, isn’t it? There’s something freeing about the busy hands, free mind combination.

      Thanks for the good wishes! 🙂

  3. Oh, I completely understand what you mean about needing to “drag yourself away from swimming in it too much,” as I have that problem myself! But it’s a great feeling, isn’t it, when ideas are flowing. One of my favorite times of day is when I can deal with mundane tasks (brushing my teeth, doing the dishes, and styling my hair seem to be the best times) and let my mind wander. One of my current WIPs came to me while driving to school one day.

    Anyway, glad to hear that you’re getting back into the swing of things, and that ROW80 is treating you well. After a couple months of this, I can say that I have become much more disciplined about my writing, and it’s paying off. 😀

    1. Thanks for the encouragement, Jamila. I’m really looking forward to getting the habits nailed down. I’ve got a Ph.D. thesis awaiting me as well; I know you can relate to that, and how much I need the habits for that!

  4. you’re doing well there girl – discipline will be good for PHd – I have found myself so much more willing to knuckle down to nitty gritties since joining here

    Had a look at blog on genre – have the same problem

    1. I’m very much hoping that the thesis will go swimmingly, once I have these habits in place! I have a lot to ponder on the genre front, but I have a lot of non-fiction on my plate first, so I have time to ponder, luckily. Thanks for the encouragement, Alberta!

  5. Great job, Nancy! I can get some of my best ideas while doing mindless housework or busy work – I think it does indeed free up the brain to wander, which we don’t let them do often enough. 🙂

    1. Thanks, Cricket! As for freeing up the brain, I remember reading Pascal in college, who said that we try to fill up our lives with diversions,so that we keep our brains busy, and don’t have to think!

  6. Sounds like you had a great week! Two hours a day is an amazing result! I agree with everyone else about mundane work. I’m an administrative assistant (well… kind of) and I have a lot of mundane work that lets me focus on stories lol

    1. Yeah, Lisa, isn’t it great when you can do your job while letting your brain churn out other things? I’ve had those kind of jobs in the past, and they are great for that (if less interesting than those that use your brain!)

  7. 🙂 Like. That’s all. Loved your inspirational post – the community (and all you learn) is probably the biggest reason “why” for me. Necessary when I, too, have a family and obligations! Hope your week is another great one!

    1. Thank you, Shari. Definitely the community here is key for me; as you say, it is so easy to get cloistered with family and obligations, so the contacts are so good. The flexibility is wonderful as well.

  8. Aww, such a good feeling to be so happy about it that you want to blab! I think about it constantly while doing anything that doesn’t require my full attention lol. Hope you have another successful week this week!

Please leave a reply

