ROW80

ROW80 Check-in 7/20/11

I suppose I had to hit the wall at some point, didn’t I? Actually, I’m going to be half-full glass girl here, and say that I did get my book proposal all done and turned in. Now the waiting starts.

As for the rest of my goals, they just didn’t happen. I spent the Monday time organizing all my electronic files. I blush to admit that I’m one of those incredibly lazy people when it comes to culling out the dead/old/unhelpful copies of things. I’m revising three chapters of my master’s thesis and two conference presentations; the multiple copy situation was driving me crazy (my kids would say, crazier). So I took my two hours and organized.

Tuesday, it was time for the same on the paper file cabinet at home, so there went that two hours.

This morning, I left the house at 4am to drive my youngest son to the airport to visit my older son. It bites to live in the middle of nowhere; it takes at least 2 hours to drive to any airport where one can afford the ticket. So I got home at 10am, and to work at 10:30. Phew.

Back to that half-full glass. By sharpening my saw, as Stephen Covey calls it, I should be able to sit and revise rather than searching for the latest emendations, additions and the rest. I’m holding on to that happy thought!

16 thoughts on “ROW80 Check-in 7/20/11”

  1. Oh gosh, congrats to you for organizing the electronic files. I’d say that’s a feat in and of itself. My MA thesis folder is currently this wasteland of countless journal articles and dead/old copies of drafts. I can’t stomach the thought of actually wading into the fray, so I’ve been starting new folders instead. This, of course, only adds to the mess.

    I’m glad to hear that you are holding on to that half-full glass. Sometimes we need to tackle those mundane tasks that will make our lives a little easier. 🙂

    1. Thanks, Jamila. Yes, that describes my hard drive and paper files completely! It dates me that I have the paper copies, I know; I like to say it’s the medievalist that likes the paper, and the proof is that I revise with fountain pens (all those under 40 can look them up, lol).

      I find it very hard to take the time to organize, but the time spent figuring out what was what was overwhelming even my reluctance!

  2. Yes, but you wrote a great inspirational post on Monday. It was good stuff. Not a total wall, it would seem.

    Keep looking forward and ROWin’. Let the rough weeks go… you’ll have ’em. You wrote: “I have had years of practice at fitting my writing into corners.” It’s that experience that will carry you through (that carries us all through). The corners sometimes get filled up, but we dust them out and get back to building things in the shadows there.

    1. Thanks, Matt. I’m glad you liked the post. But in the spirit of total disclosure, I wrote that a while ago, so I don’t count it as part of this check-in. However, you’re right that it wasn’t a total wall, since I did finish the book proposal on Sunday.

      Your comment about the corners is spot on; I needed to hear that.

  3. Kudos on the organizing. I think I might need to do that. My computer is being very. sl. ow. I live in the middle of nowhere too and yes, driving anywhere is horribly long. And I usually have to listen to Disney Princesses on loop the entire time, too.

    1. Thanks, Crystal. I just couldn’t find the latest iteration of anything, since I’d saved them in different folders (blush!).

      You made me laugh about the loop of Disney princesses. My boys are older, but oh yeah, I can still remember the words to a lot of songs I wish I’d forgotten!

    1. Thank you, Erin. Oh, both my personal and work email inboxes are next on the list, but I can use work time for the work email! 😀

      It wasn’t a lot of fun, but I have to admit there was a lovely glow of accomplishment afterwards!

  4. Organizing (digital or paper) files is definitely no fun, but it is rewarding once you’re finished 🙂 Be gentle with yourself – you got a lot done! 🙂

  5. Congratulations for the organizing part. And who likes to do this anyway?
    I try to organize them every once in a while to avoid having all the mess upon me.

    1. Ah, if I were only so organized as to do the cleanup every once in a while! Hmm. I think you’re on to something. I now going to plan cleanups every few months to keep things in line. Thanks for the congratulations. 🙂

  6. Hi Nancy,

    Congratulations on completing your book proposal and getting your files organized. 😀 That is quite an accomplishment to celebrate. And, I’ll bet your time spent organizing allowed your ideas for the WIP to gel so that you’ll be ready to move onto the next stage. Yea!

    Have a great day.

    Milli

    1. Thanks, Milli! I appreciate your congratulations. And yes, it does seems that it chased away all the cobwebs, and let me think through the WIP. I hope you have a lovely day as well.

Please leave a reply

