ROW80

ROW80 Check-in 7/24/11

After organizing data most of the last check-in period, things went rather well these past few days. I started reading some of the books that my fellow ROW80 colleagues had written, planning to post reviews. I’m impressed at the talent in this group!

I did work my requisite two hours every day. I posted on my Lapidary Prose blog on Saturday; I read and took notes on several short stories and novellas; I worked on the next journal article.

However, one of the short stories I wrote last year kept coming to mind. I’m sure all of you know how that is—one is just working along, and the character pops in your head. Mine said, “You know, you gave me pretty short shrift toward the end of that story. There’s more story there; you crammed three years in pretty quick there.” Sad thing is, he’s right. It’s not that I got tired of the story or the characters—not at all. I wrote in the ROW80 main blog post that I’m used to fitting my writing into corners, but I ran out of corners. I was days out of major surgery, hundreds of miles away from my family, and I just ran out.

So, I may just have to carve out a little more time to give to that story. My professional writing and creative writing really feed off one another in a rather weird way. While it’s true each takes time from each other, each gives energy to the other.

I’ll probably have to tweak the goals a bit. I’m going to see how it goes in the next few days.

Please check on the other participants here, visit and encourage. We can all use the cheering on!

40 thoughts on “ROW80 Check-in 7/24/11”

  1. You’ve been busy these days as it seems. Well, that’s good.
    Good luck if you decide to write more about this hero. 🙂

    1. Thank you for your encouragement, rockfreak. 🙂 This particular character was rather, umm, vocal when I was writing about him in the first place, so I sincerely doubt he’ll leave me alone.

  2. Oh, I’ve met a couple of those. They are the reason for the current novel I’m writing. (3rd attempt! but it seems to go great for now)

  3. I can never stick with one project for long before other ideas and stories start talking so I tend to jot down notes now, keeping them all separate from one another. Sounds like you’re doing well with row80.

    1. Thanks, Katy. It sounds like you’re starting off well, too. I have to write down notes, too, in hopes of quieting some characters enough to be able to concentrate on what I’m trying to work on at the moment!

    1. I know these characters already, so I know they’re serious, and won’t go away on their own. I do sympathize, so I’ll need to sit down with them and work it out!

      Thanks, and have a good week yourself! 🙂

  4. Thanks for stopping by my blog. I like how you write on your screened porch. That sounds lovely. I have actually incorporated a screen porch in one of my WIPs, because my favorite aunt had one when I was a kid. She turned it into a sleeping porch when I visited.

    When you mentioned your characters getting “short shrift” in your short story, I smiled to myself. I took a short story, expanded it, and turned it into my current WIP. I did that with another short story, too. Sometimes the characters do demand a stronger and perhaps louder voice.

    1. Thanks for the encouragement, Laurel. I do think these characters have a lot more to say, I’m glad to know that you have done this successfully; that makes me feel a lot more comfortable diving back in with them.

      I love screened porches. Right now mine just has a table and chairs, but I’ve been tempted to turn mine into a sleeping porch when it gets cooler, because I get too cold in the air conditioning at night, and too hot indoors if I turn it up. What a dilemma!

  5. Awesome week 🙂 I don’t know if I could even attempt a short story as I always want everything to never end lol! I feel like they are constantly saying ok, what next, what do we do today? It might be a challenge I have to take on at some point. Best of luck this week!

    1. Thanks, Lauren! I know what you mean about short fiction. I’m in awe of the folks who write flash fiction. I can’t say a darn thing in less than 1000 words! But yet, I’m also amazed by the people who write over 100,000 words, too.

      Hope you have a great week.

  6. Go for it! When a story starts tugging the backbrain, that’s a pretty good sign it’s one that need to be written!

  7. Nothing is better than a character who demands to be written about. Good luck! And I look forward to your upcoming reviews. I’m always in search of a great new book, and I’d love to support some ROW 80 writers!

  8. I love that a character is knocking on your door wanting more! Soudns like you have had a busy week and I hope you find the time you want for that story. Have a great week!

    1. Yes, Em, it’s been crazy and this week is only going to be worse! As for the character knocking on my door, I hope that means that I can make him as alive to my readers as he is to me! Thanks for the good wishes, and I hope your week is wonderful!

    1. I do have a pretty rowdy bunch in my head! Isn’t ROW80 support wonderful?!?!? I’m just drinking in all the support, and loving it!

      Hope your week is great, as well. Thanks for stopping by!

    1. I am definitely doing that, Matt. Those corners are squeaky clean, and look what I found!

      Thanks for the encouragement; it is greatly appreciated!

      I hope you have a great week.

    1. Well, I prefer that they talk to me, no matter how rowdy and pushy they get, than that they lay there like a spent balloon (and I’ve had too many of those, too!)

      Thanks for the encouragement; I’m tweaking away!

      1. “Spent balloon”- LOL Now I’m imagining a frustrated novelist huffing and puffing away on a limp balloon character. Maybe helium would help . . XD

  9. I’m sure Florida’s heat and humidity are as sweltering as ever! We relocated to PA from southern VA, in the Hampton Roads Area, (former Navy), and for years, humidity was a way of life! Ha! My poor husband doesn’t like that kind of heat – and he prefers the mountains. Sigh.
    Funny how that chapter found its way round to your thoughts after awhile. It’s as if your brain wasn’t ready to tackle the problem until now, and waited for the right moment to assert it’s claim….. Good luck. Hope the perfect additions come to you easily! ~ Nadja

    1. Oh, yes, Florida does a lovely job as a sauna in the summer. My eldest step-daughter is in Virginia Beach (Navy wife) so I know about the humidity there, too!

      It is interesting that the character, who’s been silent for about a year, almost thought to himself, “What? She’s writing? What about me?”

      Thanks for stopping by, Nadja!

    1. I think there may a few other characters in line behind this one, too. Sometimes you just know that you’re not done with them. I’m looking forward to knowing at least a little bit about what drives this guy, too, rather than someone completely new.

      I hope your week is going well. Thanks for visiting, Patrick!

  10. I trust you are recovering well from surgery and are comfortably back with family.

    I understand completely what you’re saying about characters who won’t be silenced. I was responding to an online writing prompt when my laptop threatened to go into hibernation mode. Because I was traveling, I didn’t have anywhere to recharge the battery. I hastily posted to the site saying I’d finish when I could plug in my computer. Sadly, today has escaped me, and I wasn’t able to finish or edit the story (embarrassing when you have to “put it out there” with glaring errors or lose everything). So, even though the story was a just-for-fun exercise, I have a character that is yelling at me to get back to her.

    All the best…Stephanie

    1. Oh, arg! That is awful–I hope you can go to the same site and respond to another prompt! Maybe that will make you feel less embarrassed. Also, even if it can’t be for that prompt, you can go do justice to the character who feels abandoned–poor thing and darn technology!

      All the best to you too, Stephanie. Thanks for your comments about the surgery. I’m fit as a fiddle and back to driving my poor family around the bend! I hope your week is going well.

Please leave a reply

