Posted by: Elizabeth Anne Mitchell | August 6, 2011

ROW80 Check-in August 7

Well, it was good that I tweaked my goals. For a recap, my revised goals and my progress:

1. Two hours a week on my author platform. From Wednesday through Saturday, I only spent about half an hour, so I need to make up some time here.

2. I will post at least once a week on my Lapidary Prose blog. I managed one post late Saturday.

3. I will work at writing or related tasks roughly two hours a day; I met this goal, but most of my writing time on Thursday and Friday was spent writing about 6,200 words for work. I read a lot, and did get some ROW80 writing done as well.

4. Two new articles; the book proposal is off for consideration. The draft article will be back from my torturer, oh I mean, my editing partner on Monday.

5. Two revised articles; not much going on with these yet, beyond doing some literature review.

6. One book review a week on my blog; I’ve read several short stories, but need to get my reviews out.

7. Fifteen minutes a day walking with my dogs; done, yay!

I played around with writing an article about a local point of interest. I like to describe things, and I thought I would like to write about it, but not only was it incredibly difficult, but it was awful, just completely awful. It read like a really bad government brochure. Awful, and so disappointing. Well, I will dust myself off, and keep trying.

Responses

  1. Wow, that’s a lot of goals. Sounds like you’re making progress on all of them. Keep it up!

    • Thanks for stopping by, Angela! I appreciate the encouragement. It’s funny, but I look at other participants’ goals, and think, wow, mine look so paltry! It’s all in the perspective, isn’t it?

      I hope you have a wonderful week!

  2. Well done on what you did do, that’s great 🙂 As far as the article goes, maybe try to describe your experience of it rather than just how it looks. If you can make it personal to you, that might help you connect with your subject.

    • Thanks for the tip, Anne-Mhairi. I think that is what is missing from it; I have to fight the objective perspective I was taught for so many years, and remember to put myself in there. I appreciate your stopping by, and hope you have a wonderful week.

  3. Wow. My goals feel so tiny now! 🙂

    Way to go on your progress!

    • It’s all in the perspective, Amber–I look at word counts and think, holy smokes! Also, I’m just keeping lots of plates spinning on the rods; I’m too fickle to concentrate on any one thing at a time! 😀 Thank you for coming by–I hope your week is wonderful!

  4. I love this list of goals, and how you’ve got the academic ones alongside your personal and writing goals. Glad to hear that the book proposal is sent off, and that other things are going well. 😀

    • Thanks, Jamila. I spent a long time trying to separate the intellectual and personal lives, but it never really worked for me. My creative life is still a secret, but I have picked a pen name, so it may become an open secret soon. Oh, and I am going to steal your idea of blogging about your research for your thesis. As you have found, since we dig up so many interesting things, we might as well share them, right? Thanks for stopping by and for your encouraging words. They are very much appreciated.

  5. Glad to hear your new walking with your dogs goal went well! And atleast you tried to write an article about a local point of interest even if it wasn’t as successful as you hoped!

    Have a great week!

    • Thanks, Em! I recently moved from a house with a garden to a condo; the dogs miss the freedom, and I miss the lazy opening of the back door, LOL. I want to lose about 30 more pounds, so I need to walk them almost as much as they need to walk!

      Thanks you for the encouragement about the article–even writing that gets trashed keeps us writing. I needed that reminder! I hope you have a great week, too; thanks for dropping by!

  6. Sounds like you are staying very busy. Lots of goals and it seems that they are coming together nicely. Love that the dogs even made it in there. Good work!

    • Thank you for coming by and for your encouraging words, Wendy. Yeah, I stay busy–it keeps me off the streets and out of trouble, my dad used to say! And, yes, the dogs are very happy that I am spending some time with them. Brigid, my Standard Poodle, has a habit of plunking her paw down on the keyboard when she thinks I am ignoring her too long! She keeps me honest, lol. I hope you have a great week!

  7. As for that ‘really awful government brochure’……Yeah, I’ve written one or two of those in my day…Ha! Loved that description – too funny.

    Thanks for the ‘small kid love’…….My sophmore is 5’8″ and about 130…so he’s not as far behind anymore! Believe me, he wore a 2-T when he went to kindergarten. But he’s still one of the smaller kids. He doesn’t mind at all…he’s a wrestler. His build is perfect for that sport! I was just floored that someone thought to suggest that my younger sons were ‘malnourished’……Oy!

    Sounds like you’ve got your goals clearly set for the upcoming tasks you want to accomplish. Best wishes!
    ~ Nadja

    • I’m glad you enjoyed the description, Nadja. Your sophomore is definitely wrestler-build. My eldest decided to go work construction while deciding whether to go to college or not., so after a year and a half, he is probably about 130 as well, and built out of lead!

      Some people should just hold their tongues. I was in an elevator at a hospital once with my two step-daughters and two sons. A man actually said, “Have you ever heard of birth control?” Incredible!

  8. Great progress, Nancy, keep up the good work! That’s a lot of goals to keep track of, and it can make it hard to focus. Makes your progress that much more commendable! I tend to get totally frazzled when I have too many big goals to keep track of. 🙂

    • Thank you for the encouragement, Ruth. I get frazzled by the panoply of goals at times, but several of them are time-dependent, so I have no choice but to keep those plates spinning 😀 But, to be honest, I am so fickle that I work better when I can switch up at least a couple of projects; that said, I will be happy when there are only a couple!

      I hope you have a lovely week, and thank you for coming by.

  9. Yay YOU!! It sounds like you are a very busy person and have a lot going on in your day. If you’re making even a few of your goals, I think that is cause for celebration! Keep up the fantastic job 🙂 WOO HOO!

    Marie

    • Thank you for the cheery, encouraging words, Marie. I do get down-hearted, but you are right, and I try to focus on what I have gotten done–none of which would have happened without ROW80. Thank you for coming by, and I hope the rest of your week is wonderful!

  10. Love that walking the dogs is in your goals. I’m sure they appreciate it. Best of luck on your book proposal, and 6200 words is always a good thing for a writer. Keeps the juices flowing, even if it was for work.

    Hope this week is productive, too.

    • Thank you for stopping by, Tia. My dogs love the walks, since they are so cooped up most of the time. I appreciate the good wishes on the book proposal–again, it’s work-related, but at least a subject that interests me. As for the 6200 words, I was astounded when I saw the word count; I never look at it while writing, even for work. Have a lovely week!

  11. If I read about local interest or article such as that I like the personal not just dry facts – can you relate to yourself or find a ‘human interest’ angle so that it becomes part of life – might be a way around it

    all the best for this week

    • Thanks, Alberta. I think you’re right–the “me” was missing. I will ponder and revise. Thank you for the advice, and for stopping by.


Please leave a reply

Categories

