ROW80

Nancy Poehlmann 8/10 Check-in More New Goals?!?!

Here we are again, my friends—a little behind again, sigh, but it’s okay, I can get back on the horse. . .

My draft is not back yet from my brutal editor. That is so not a good sign. I was a good girl, and ate that frog, but when I just plain despise having to write something, it shows. I hear mutterings like “it’s a good skeleton,” and “a good 2,000 words should be salvageable,” but nothing very reassuring. So, today or tomorrow I will get the draft back and will begin the painful revision (did you know that is the same term used for reconstructing scars?).

On the up side, once I am done with this bloody poisonous frog, I get to work on some things that will be more fun for me to research and revise (yay!).

Also, I have been floundering around on the writing blog—yes, I am posting every week, but it doesn’t pop for me yet. I have been seeing other participants and other bloggers with themed blog posts and thought it was a very cool idea. I’m going to add a couple of themes to my blog: cool things I run across in my research, and a literary day of the week—a birthday, or publication of a classic, something of that sort. Right now, I can’t manage to do a post for each theme every week, but I would like to eventually get to that point.

So a revised goal: to write one post a week on either the literary day of the week or some cool medieval thing on the Lapidary Prose blog.

Oh, I did accomplish one goal that I had not listed—I’ve chosen a pen name!

Have a look at how everyone else is doing; their check-ins are here.

20 thoughts on “Nancy Poehlmann 8/10 Check-in More New Goals?!?!”

  1. Literary things and medieval posts all sound incredibly interesting — looking forward to it!

    And I’m excited to hear that you’ve found yourself a pen name. I’ve been combing through my family tree in an attempt to pull one together, but I haven’t been successful yet.

    Have a wonderful rest of the week!

    1. Thanks for coming by, Jamila, and leaving such a nice comment!

      I’m excited about the posts, too. Several people left comments that the travel article I trashed probably didn’t have any “me”–well, as you know from your own research, there’s a lot of “me” invested in that!

      I am over the moon about the pen name; combing through your family tree is a great idea; I’m sure you will find a wonderful one. Have a great week, too!

  2. Progress is progress, even if it isn’t precisely what was planned. As for the blog, try making a list of 10-20 topics you’d like to write on then test out the ideas. Then write a few samples of what you want in each one and you’ll find that certain themes will begin to spring up both in the test posts and lists. This is a good way to find the rhythm.

    All the best for the rest of the week!

    1. Thank you for stopping by, Gene. I do have to remind myself that I am much farther along than when I joined this Round (and stop comparing myself to some of the word-count whizzes!)

      Great advice for the blog posts–I will do that, thanks!

      I hope your week is not overcome with the day job, and is very productive!

  3. Best wishes for a relatively painless revision. That’s a tough part of the process! Glad you found a pen name you’re excited about. Good luck on the rest of your ROW80 goals!

    1. Thanks for the encouragement, Julie. Sometimes revisions come easily, but never on something like this! Character-building, though, right?

      Yeah, I’m pretty pleased about the pen name–I’m planning the great reveal. Thank you for stopping by and commenting. I hope the rest of your week goes very well!

  4. Ugh. Reconstructive Literary Surgery…. Scrubbed in! Paper? Paper. Pen? Pen. *Snaps rubber gloves* Good luck.

    A weekly recurring post theme is a great idea. It sort of becomes a bastion of solidity, removing the “what am I going to write about today?” question before it has a chance to paralyze. Almost like a day of rest without really resting. Good stuff.

    1. Thanks, Matt, I needed that laugh! Actually, my DH (also an academic) said revision felt more like a prostate exam–to which I have no answer. Moving right along, I have my fountain pen at the ready, filled with bright green ink, as there is enough red on the paper already, thank you very much.

      I appreciate the encouragement on the post theme. I really have been floundering in a very unattractive manner, so I am running full tilt to that bastion of solidity. Thank you for stopping by and commenting. I hope your week goes fantastically.

  5. I am really intrigued with the themed posts idea, enough so that I may end up working that into my posting goals as well.

    A pen name?? I can’t wait to hear what it is!

    Matt……hilarious. And Nancy…..your reply is great….Moving right along….Ha! Too good.

    Have a great week – hope your surgery isn’t too awful painful…..~ Nadja

    1. Nadja, I’m glad you laughed–Matt had me laughing out loud in my little cubicle at work when I sneaked a look during lunch.

      So far the revision doesn’t look too bad. I have a habit, when I’m less than excited by a topic, to throw a few stones in the wide river and expect my readers to ford the thing easily. Brutal editor, therefore, mostly said, “um, you need another page here . . . and here . . and yeah, here, too.” There wasn’t too much of the “this part makes NO sense,” or worse, “this part stinks!”

      I’m thinking of a good way to reveal the pen name *creases brow in thought*

      Have a wonderful week, and thank you for coming by to encourage me!

  6. I can understand a blog slump, I fall into that often. I try and write down a bunch of topics/subjects to write on little pieces of paper and then jumble them in a little box and pick one. That seems to help inspire me. I’ve also done that with pictures – I cut some from old magazines I had and then wrote about the one I chose. It’s good to jumble it up.

    Of course I do that for a little while and don’t stick with it, lol.

    I hope the edits aren’t too painful, and WOO HOO on selecting a pen name – not an easy feat to do.

    Have a great rest of your week!

    1. What great ideas for choosing a blog topic! I like the picture idea a lot–I’m very visual, so that might knock a few brain cells into action.

      So far, the edits are just weaving together the big old holes in the fishing net–sigh!–but not too painful, thanks!

      I am totally psyched about the pen name–scoping out the twitter/goodreads/facebook territory at the moment.

      Thank you for stopping by, Marie. I hope your week is wonderful and productive!

  7. Hang in there, Nancy. I love/hate getting feedback from editors. I love that someone’s taken the time to help me get the draft to a better state for publication, but I hate it that I have to go back and revise things.

    Congratulations on choosing a pen name. Be sure to let us know what it is when it comes time for you to publish so we can check out your work. 😀

    I never thought of doing themed posts on some historical/literary subject, but that sounds like a fun thing to do. In the process of educating yourself, you get to educate others. It’s a win-win. Have fun with it. 😀

    Have a great day.

    Milli

    1. Thanks for the encouraging words, Milli. I keep telling myself that revising makes it better, but I don’t wanna! *said in a four-year-old’s howl*

      I will definitely let this group know my pen name before anything comes out under it 🙂

      As for the themed posts, I have so much research I’m doing that is kinda cool (at least I think so), that I’d like to share it; and you’re right, writing about it helps me learn it too!

      I hope you have a great rest of the week. Thanks for stopping by!

  8. Good job settling on a pen name. I wrote a blog a few weeks ago about how I thought I might go about picking one. But in the end the name just came to me. All the best with your revisions, I hope they are not too painful!

    1. Thanks, Jody–I’ll go look at your post. I played with my family tree and a name hit me in the face, so I knew it was right.

      The revisions are coming along; it’s one of those butt-in-the-chair, no distractions, sort of things. In some dry, dusty, academic writing, one has to make sure no stepping stone is further than an inch or two from the last–and I like to fly from stone to stone, so the trudging is boring, but necessary!

      Thank you for coming by; I hope the rest of your week is wonderful!

  9. Sorry about your frog situation, but your attitude is up, that’s always the best. Pen names are fun. It’s finding that special one that fits you that also gives an extra umph to stimulate the writing pep again. Good luck on your goal.

    1. Thanks for coming by and commenting, Doree. This pen name fits like a glove, and it does give me a boost to come out with something to which I can attach it! Thanks for the good wishes; I hope your weekend is lovely!

    1. Thank you for the encouragement, Katy. I always told my sons to do the stuff they didn’t like first, so I kinda had to practice what I preached! It turned out well–I’m now on to the fun stuff, and rubbing my hands with glee!

      I hope you have a wonderful weekend, and I appreciate your stopping by!

Please leave a reply

