ROW80

ROW80 Check-in August 14, 2011

Hello, fellow participants in ROW80 and others who may be curious. The latter can check out this writing challenge here.

I actually am feeling quite positive about my work from Wednesday through Saturday. I got my library science article back from brutal editor, and worked on bandaging the wounds through Wednesday and Thursday. It is ready to go off to the journal editor now; yippee!

I began working on the first revised article, which I am very pleased to say is not as awful as I thought it might be. It was a conference paper, so I need to transform all the speak-y parts to write-y parts, but that is coming along well.

My dogs are settling in nicely for their walks, and almost never try to chase the armadillos, rabbits, foxes, or coyotes that are abroad in the early-dawn hours.

Actually, things are going so well that I moved on to my new goal to come up with themed posts for my blog. Several people had wonderful suggestions on how to work out what themes would fit, and I have some themes and posts to show for it.

My first theme is stolen (with apologies!) from Jamila Jamison, who has a Thesis Thursday post about the research she is doing for her Master’s thesis. I don’t have a snazzy or alliterative title yet, but I posted on Friday a piece of medieval studies research about what lapidaries are, and explaining the title of my Lapidary Prose blog all at once.

My second theme is Literary Post of the Week, based on a literary happening—birth, death, or publication that occurred during the week. I posted Saturday on Gone with the Wind; Margaret Mitchell was hit by a taxi in Atlanta, Georgia and died on August 16th, 1949. It went up a bit early, as the first part of the week is looking pretty bad for me.

On Sunday, I will take my youngest son to college, five hours away. Orientation is all day Monday and Tuesday morning, with Tuesday afternoon spent buying books, getting the ID card, and that last minute Target/Walmart what-did-we-forget-to-bring shopping. He moves into the dorm on Wednesday, and I will head back to go back to work on Thursday. My dear husband has offered to drive back, saying that I won’t stop crying until halfway back at least. I’m just working on not crying until I’m in the car and off campus; I managed that when his brother left, but not with my step-daughters, so we’ll see.

A major part of ROW80 is the community of encouraging cheerleaders; go check out how everyone is doing here. How has the weekend treated you?

18 thoughts on “ROW80 Check-in August 14, 2011”

  1. No apologies necessary! I’m so excited to read about your research. 😀

    Happy to hear that the articles are going well, and hugs on taking your son to college! My younger sister goes back for her sophomore year in a couple of weeks, and my mom is already getting teary-eyed.

    1. Thanks for sharing your great idea, Jamila. I’m glad that you are interested in the research; I’m looking forward to your Thesis Thursdays, too!

      Yeah, I’m having a hard time with saying goodbye to the youngest. While I’m not glad that your mother is having a teary time too, I’m glad that I’m not alone! I appreciate the hugs; thanks for stopping by!

  2. Sending some comfort your way……I had a few tears when our two oldest left home, one for college, the other to the U.S. Navy……But I’ve got three more at home…so maybe the impact isn’t the same as sending the youngest. Still…..from one mom to another……

    I’d like to add a few things that may make your tears lessen……(sometimes I daydream about just such a time….)
    1. There will be no socks to pick up each morning from the floor
    2. No dishes either – unless you choose to leave them yourself!
    3. If boys……The bathroom will stay so much cleaner! Really!
    4. And I think the food bill will shrink considerably….I currently feel like I spend enough to fund a small third world economy with the amount of groceries three boys in the house consume.

    Ha! Hope this gave you a smile….even if it’s only a small one with your son’s going coming up. ~ Nadja

    1. Thanks so much for the sympathy, Nadja. Yes, the two youngest are sons, and I have seen some of the work lessen after my eldest son left a year and a half ago. I won’t miss the food outlay or the mess they seem to trail behind them. You did make me smile, and that is much appreciated. Thank you for coming by and encouraging me!

  3. Nice to see you cracking on with your new blog posts. Hope the start of college goes well, think of how much less laundry there will be and holidays come round so quick. Best of luck for next week

    1. Katy, thank you for stopping by and encouraging me. I am looking forward to less laundry, less food consumption, and less cleaning; and I know the time will go quickly.

      I’m excited about the blog themes; I hope they prove interesting. Have a great rest of the week, Katy!

    1. Thank you, Jaleh. I’m back from orientation and move-in; there were a few tears on both sides, but we’re all okay. He’s a good kid, and I’m proud of him; the time will pass quickly. Thank you for stopping by and commenting.

  4. Interesting to hear about your themed posts, this is something I have been considering as I post my non check-in post randomly during the week adn it is whatever is on my mind at the time. Some struture would be good for me!

    Have a great week!

    1. Thank you, Em, for your comments on the themed posts; I felt I needed the structure. I’m excited about them, and I hope that they are interesting to read! I hope you have a great rest of the week, and I appreciate your coming by to comment!

    1. Thank you for the encouragement, Tiffany. I fell off the wagon on my goals, but I’m going to climb back on. The drop-off was difficult, but he’s a good kid, and he’ll be fine. So will !, I think! Thank you for coming by and commenting.

  5. Glad things are going well. Good luck with the college drop off. I still remember when I first went away to college and how I felt saying goodbye to my parents. I think I was as misty eyed as they were. *hugs*

  6. You’re definitely moving forward, Nancy – way to go! And wow, with Empty House Syndrome looming, oh dear. *hugs* At least when they get to that age, at some point they start producing grandchildren. *g*

    Hope you have a great and productive week!

    1. Thank you for the hug, Ruth. It was tough to leave my baby so far away, but he’s a good, level-headed kid, and I’m proud of him. I fell down on the goals, but I’m just going to pick myself up, dust myself off, and get back to work! I hope you have a great weekend, and I appreciate your stopping by.

    1. Thank you for stopping by and being so encouraging! I’ve been an emotional wreck and fallen behind in my goals, but I’ll make it up. You were right, though, I was definitely not the only mother crying! I hope you have a great weekend!

Please leave a reply

