ROW80

ROW80 Check-in 9/4

I was replying to all the kind comments left on my last check-in, where I mentioned that my book proposal was rejected, when my mind flew back a couple of decades. When my sons were small, they played with these little toys, wide-bottomed persons who couldn’t be knocked over. “Weebles wobble, but they don’t fall down.” I still remember the jingle—any parent will know what I mean about having some songs implanted deep within memory through thousands of times hearing it. I do not jest; I do not exaggerate. My daughters and my sons watched things in continuous loops *Runs screaming from the memory.*

Back to the subject—what else can one do? I was not at all happy that I was rejected, but you know, you have to try very hard not to take it personally. I am SO not good at that, but I am really trying to be a Weeble.  Oh, it was my book proposal that was rejected, not me. Oh my, I still have work to do, don’t I?

One very nice thing happened last week, in that Jamila Jamison gave me the Leibster Award.  I am so honored, I can barely type! I am so looking forward to fulfilling my obligations on that—putting up the badge, linking back to Jamila, who is a fantastic writer, blogger and all-around good sort, and paying the award forward to five more bloggers. I plan to do that on Monday, when I will borrow a laptop for the entire day. Be still, my madly beating heart!

Oh, goals. Well, not too bad. Except for Friday, when I spent ten hours in the car to go pick up my youngest son from university, I walked Brigid. I am really happy to have DS2 home; he is actually quite a delight.

I did read a lot and take notes. I’m still so queasy about doing book reviews, which is patently ridiculous, really! One of the first papers I gave at a conference excoriated, well, eviscerated, one of the scholarly articles written on my topic. When the Q&A time came, a fellow stood up in the back, and said, “I’m the idiot who wrote that article.”  And truly, I’ve read some really good books from fellow ROWers as well as the lights in the industry. So, why am I so nervous? Heck knows.

I did post in the Literary Post of the Week. I don’t know why I didn’t think of writing about the woman who has been a part of my life for more than two decades, but I finally wrote about the author whose work gave rise to my Ph.D. dissertation. Christine de Pizan was the first professional female writer and publisher in France. Born in 1364, she was one heck of a woman, and deserves a lot more attention than she receives.

Oh, and I will, with your indulgence, talk a bit more about Google Reader, which I love! Jamila Jamison did a wonderful job on her blog here, but she may not use some of the features that I do. She did mention the folders, which are crucial for me—I have “Medieval Studies,” “Early Modern Studies,” “Rare Books,” “ROW80,” “Other Writers.” The folders are important for me, since I have so much material on Google Reader.

There is a wonderful function, called Notes. It’s a little bookmarklet that sits on your toolbar. Using that, you can grab anything on the internet and stick it in your Notes. There is also a Share function, where you can share things with your friends, in a mini-Google Plus sort of way. I am just putting together my Elizabeth Mitchell/Lapidary Prose Reader, so I have no friends yet,  but in my real-name Reader, I have posts I share with my husband, children, and friends through the Reader.

You can also browse for subjects, or get recommendation from friends, in the Browse function. It is really one of my favorite applications. If you have any other questions about the Reader, please feel free to ask.

Finally, I passed through a very dark night late last week, where I really felt like I was being disingenuous to think that I could write anything of interest to anyone, ever. I read through some of your comments and encouragements, and emerged in a much better frame of mind. Thank you all for your kindness, help, hints, and just downright, outright, goodness.

To check on the rest of the participants—and please do so, it is so helpful to the psyche—click here.

18 thoughts on “ROW80 Check-in 9/4”

  1. Glad to see you back in better spirits, Elizabeth. I haven’t used Google Reader that much but I will definitely be giving a closer look now.

    Congratulations on receiving the Liebster award. Have a great week and enjoy the “laptop day” 🙂

    1. Thank you, Gene, both on the award, and on my return to better spirits. I will pass on the award to a few others tomorrow, but I agree with your post on blogging awards about not wanting to put obligations on already busy people. As for my reaction to the rejection, my regular personality is to be a realistic optimist. Luckily, my dark moods are not the usual fare

      I’m really looking forward to laptop day tomorrow–and although I feel ever so slightly guilty, my husband is driving our son back to college without me, so that is at least ten hours alone to write! If the poodle will keep her paws off the keyboard, I’ll be flying. I hope you have a wonderful start to your week, and I appreciate your coming by, Gene.

  2. Congrats on the award. I mainly use reader for managing blog feeds, occasionally I’ll search the books for research. Also I think you have to write to please yourself first and keep going. Wishing you all the best for the coming week.

    1. Thank you, Katy, for the congratulations and the encouragement about writing. I have to write too many things for work that are not what I want to write, so that on my own time, I do want to please myself , at least a little bit! Thank you so much for your good wishes; I hope the start of your week is a good one.

  3. congrats on award and thanks for tips on reader – now with ROW80 and a new round of campaigners I’m finding I’m losing my way with blogs so have started putting them into folders I didnt know about others will try them

    all the best for coming week and have confidence in yourself

    1. Thanks for the congratulations, Alberta, and thank you especially for the encouragement to be more confident. I tend to have a sunny disposition, but your kind words help. I’m in the Campaign; I have to use the folders in Google Reader for the different groups I’m in; I hope that you find some of the other hints convenient as well.

      Thanks for dropping by, Alberta. I hope you have a lovely start to the week.

  4. I think it is really important to keep in mind that they aren’t rejecting you. I think all writers need to keep this in mind!

    I am glad you have had a good week and I hope you have a wonderful day with the laptop!

    ps. I used to love weebles! I wonder if my parents kept them….

    1. Thanks for the kind thoughts, Em. I am really looking forward to the laptop–isn’t that nerdy! I had to laugh that you used to play with Weebles. I wasn’t sure anyone would know what I was talking about!

      I do need to get more philosophical about rejection; I agree with you about all writers needing to remember that. I appreciate your coming by to encourage and comment, Em, and I hope you have a wonderful start of the week.

  5. I think we must walk through those dark nights. For those of us that hold writing as a passion, we come out the other side (or morning after) ready to go at it again. It builds character, grows us, matures us, and reveals who and what we are. The first time through is the hardest, I think. We have to see if we have the heart and determination to knuckle down and ride out the storm. Glad you’ve weathered the ‘attack of the self-doubter in us all’ – and are here, checking in, continuing on. ~ Nadja

    1. Thank you for the encouragement, Nadja. I’m glad to know the first time is the worst–surprisingly, I’ve never had academic articles rejected, so it was rough. I’ve shoved the self-doubter in the hall closet with the air conditioner and furnace (we don’t believe in coat-closets in Florida, it seems), so there is little chance of mistakenly opening the door and letting her out again. So there! This group has been so helpful; I appreciate your stopping by and commenting!

  6. This post made my day! Thanks to you, and Jamila, my Google Reader has gone from complete chaos (to the point I hated looking through it), to organized. I don’t know how I missed the idea of Folders before, but I thank you. Hope you have a lovely Labor day.

    1. I’m so glad you found the hints helpful, Tia. I avoided my Reader for a while, and it was a mess! Now it’s all pretty and functional! I hope you had a lovely Labor Day–I spent the day editing (sigh!) and snuffling about my youngest son being so self-sufficient and independent!

  7. My favorite thought on rejections from Richard Laymon:

    “Rejection slips are badges of honor.
    Purple Hearts.
    They mean you’ve done your duty. You’ve written your stuff and sent it out.
    You’ve done your part.”

    Mmm, I use Google Reader, but I haven’t used the Notes function. I’ll have to try it out. I’m still sore that that discontinued Google Notebook (oh, so many years ago).

    1. Wasn’t Google Notebook great? It ticked me off, too, although I have to admit I usually feel as though my liking something is the kiss of death! The Notes function is helpful, even though it doesn’t quite replace Notebook!

      Thank you so much for the quotation from Richard Laymon. That will have to go on my wall! Thank you for coming by and commenting. I hope you have a great rest of the week, Katherine.

  8. Ooooh, I’m so happy to see that you’ve added your Google reader tips as well! I didn’t know about the Notes function, and I haven’t really used Browse at all, so I will have to employ them in the future.

    Hope the week is going well for you!

    1. I’m glad that I could give you some more hints for Google reader. I use Browse when nothing is showing up in my feeds, which is never the case anymore! But it is good when things are quiet. I like Notes, too, since I used to have the habit of keeping tabs open so I could find things again. It made my machine go soooooooo sloooooooooow! One can always bookmark websites, but Notes works well for individual posts.

      The week is crazy, now that school is moving into high gear, but all in all going well. I hope yours is going well, too!

Please leave a reply

