Posted by: Elizabeth Anne Mitchell | September 7, 2011

ROW80 Check-in 9/7

Wednesday comes quickly, doesn’t it? I actually did pretty well Monday on most of my goals, with the exception of putting up the Leibster Award I received from Jamila Jamison. FAIL! I have been meandering all over the landscape after reading Gene Lempp’s excellent post on the whole award process. I don’t want to impose any rules on anyone, but I will gird my psyche later today and do it, with Gene’s excellent hint that no one should feel suborned to fulfill all the rules if they don’t want to do so.

Monday was a lovely day with just me and a laptop, after I quit snuffling about my youngest son leaving. I’m told it gets easier—okay, I’m waiting! I read a lot of articles that I needed to add to the literature review, and began editing two conference papers. Two? Yeah, I’m constitutionally incapable of concentrating for ten hours on one thing *blush*.

I also set up the Google Reader folders for the Platform-Building Campaign. I didn’t sign up for many groups because I couldn’t get around to everyone if I did.

Tuesday, with the exception of a walk with Brigid and about an hour of writing was a wash. Work has gone into high gear, and will take a week or so to calm down.

Also, later today I will (finally) put up my first book review, on Rebecca Emin’s lovely YA novel, New Beginnings. I hope that will clear the un/subconscious unwillingness to post book reviews; I will quickly move on to others.

So that’s my progress for the past few days. Please wander about and encourage others here.

Responses

  1. Most of us had a slow start this week due to the holiday and it appears you have quite a bit lined up for the remainder of the week, with the review, platform-building campaign and all.

    Best of luck for the rest of the week. Stay strong, Elizabeth 🙂

    • Thanks Gene, I am starting out slow with the campaign–lots of folks are doing the flash fiction challenges, but I’m confining myself to the blog visits. Thanks for the encouragement, as always, Gene. Have a great weekend, 🙂

  2. Great progress on so many different goals! And with the young ones going away, it really does get easier, I promise. At some point you even start appreciating the spare time!

    Have a great rest of the week. 🙂

    • Thank you, Ruth. I actually prefer having several things to do–part of my distraction disorder, I think! I appreciate the solace over the empty nest. I am proud of how well he’s doing, so I’ll concentrate on what Nadja said a few weeks ago–no more finding empty cartons in the fridge, and no smelly socks on the floor! Have a lovely weekend! 🙂

  3. Oh wow, you sound wonderfully organized. Google Reader folders, eh? Hmm, not a bad idea. Though I’m only in one group – the historical romance writers. Oh, and Canadians, of course!

    • Well, I’m certainly trying, Deniz. I’m in historical fiction and beginning bloggers, both of which are big groups, so in addition to ROW 80, I really needed to group things. I didn’t fit into a nationality ;(

  4. Getting my Google Reader organized has been a lifesaver, and your blog post was a big encouragement, thanks. I love the support of ROW 80 and now the campaign, but I also want to give back and the commenting can get a bit overwhelming. All worth it in the end, though.

    I’m late getting around to 9/7 check-ins, and then will head over to the 9/11 check-ins. One of these days I’d like to feel caught up, but it might never happen. Maybe I can attempt to achieve an “only slight behind” status. 😉


Please leave a reply

Categories

