Posted by: Elizabeth Anne Mitchell | September 11, 2011

ROW80 Check-in 9/11

Thank you, Kait, for mentioning the moment of silence.

As for my progress, I have been rather productive the past few days.  It took me a while, but I finally realized that Marie Andrews had given me the Appreciated Follower Award. Thank you so very much, Marie! I set about finding the people to award as well as those I wanted to give the Leibster Award that Jamila Jamison had given me the week before.  Thank you again, Jamila!

I posted each of the awards and my choices on Saturday. I also posted the History of Profanity; depending on comments and interest, I may continue with that, since I know far too much about it! I also need to figure out how to talk about the really bad words on an open blog—perhaps a warning? If anyone has any ideas, I’d be happy to hear them.

On Thursday, I finally posted my first review, for Rebecca Emin’s New Beginnings. Now that I’ve managed to put one review out there, I should feel comfortable getting a lot more of them out. Also on Thursday, I managed to use the time spent waiting for an X-ray  editing my conference paper.

On Saturday, I finally got a new hard drive that works (yay!) in my laptop, so I am digital, baby!

All in all, a good end of the week.  Check on the other participants here; your encouragement is what makes this a fantastic community.

Responses

  1. Congrats on the new hard drive! I’m thinking that I’ll be in the market soon, judging from the antics of my computer!

    Sounds like you’re making good progress, too.

    • Thank you, Rain (see, I read your comment on Anne-Mhairi’s post, and I owe you an apology, because I think at times I have called you only part of your name *blush*)! I was very pleased with myself this week–and I’m quite the taskmaster! 🙂

  2. Perhaps by way of warning, you could have a little disclaimer paragraph at the top of any posts with bad language, so anyone who doesn’t want to read it can avoid it?

    Having a working hard drive must be awesome, I think if my laptop died I wouldn’t know what to do with myself haha

    • Thanks, Rebecca, I do think that is what I will do. I don’t want to offend anyone, but it is the history of profanity, so . . .

      I LOVE my new hard drive–my MacBook lives! It was really, really hard to be without it.

  3. Congrats on all the great progress! And thanks again for the award. 🙂 I will pass it along as soon as the translation is done.

  4. Congrats on your achievements this week. Are there any slang terms for the particular words you could use or a way to mark the post as mature?

  5. Congrats Elizabeth, sounds like you have had a very good week 🙂 -hold on to that drive and move on forward!

    I echo Rebecca’ and Katy’ advice, a disclaimer (even if it’s a short sentence) should suffice. I have a disclaimer at the bottom of my blog (there’s also a link to it from a legal page I have compiled). For added security, on posts that have a hint of anything 18+ written or visual (I don’t have many), I add a warning sentence in red which reads: Warning: This article contains some strong language and images. -I hope that helps. 🙂

  6. Yay on the new hard drive! My laptop has been slowing down like crazy lately, and I’m going to have to give some thought to investing in something new.

    In terms of the profanity posts, you can include a disclaimer, and also hide most of the post under a “cut” (that’s the “click for more” button that shows up on the toolbar when you’re writing a post). That way, anyone who is looking through your posts will only see the introduction that you’ve written, and have the option to click for the rest of the post if they choose.

    Have a great week!

  7. Glad the technology side of things is looking up for you!

    I hope you have a great week.

  8. Congrats on your return to the digital world! I had to spend seven months one time without net access and it was shear torture. Fortunately, back then the online world consisted of pretty much just AOL, so I didn’t miss much.

    Nice job getting the review posted. Have a great week, Elizabeth 🙂

    • Thank you, Gene. It was truly like Christmas, especially as the blasted laptop couldn’t “see” the first hard drive I put in! The days when one could go seven months without internet access are long gone–although I do remember them.

      I now have a huge backlog of reviews to do–luckily, I took good notes while reading. 🙂 ! hope you have a great week

  9. Hi ~ Just wanted to let you know here that your ‘History of Profanity’ post was very much enjoyed. &^#$*, Oh, please pardon my Anglo-Saxon…haha. I’m going to share this with my boys. They’ll get a kick out of it for sure! ~ Nadja

    • Thank you for coming by, Nadja! I’ve been so crazed at work with school starting that I haven’t gotten around to everyone I used to visit on a regular basis. I’m glad you enjoyed the “pardon my Anglo-Saxon.” I love saying that–it gets me such weird looks, but then I get to bring out my inner Irish and tell people more than they want to know about it! 🙂 I’m honored that you’re going to share it with your boys, too.

  10. great news on the hard drive – am wondering if I need an extra one – will consult my computer man – profanity surely a disclaimer is all thats needed – cant think what else you could do.

    • Thank you for your thoughts, Alberta. I do think the disclaimer is the way to go, given what most people are suggesting. And thank you on the hard drive–it was a struggle! I guess it did make me feel closer to the female writer I studied who wrote in the late 1300’s–sort of method writing, but it was pretty difficult. I hope you have a lovely week, and thank you for stopping by.


Please leave a reply

Categories

