Posted by: Elizabeth Anne Mitchell | September 14, 2011

ROW80 check-in 9/14

These past few days have seen several family crises, both in my generation and my parents’, so not much to report, sadly.  I did write for about an hour a day, and did my minimal sponsor comments, but it was difficult.

What I can offer is my entry into the “Ten things about me,” that is going around the interwebs.

  1. I’m an INFP in the Myers-Briggs personality test. One of my former workplaces gave the test to about 50 of us a few years back. I was the only INFP. An explanation of the terms: Introverted, although I am 51% introverted and 49% Extroverted; N means intuitive, preferring to use imagination to see new possibilities, focusing on the future; Feeling, basing decisions on values and people-centered concerns; and Perceiving, tending not to want to miss anything; life is likely to be spontaneous and flexible.
  2. Although I am over-educated, with two Master’s degrees and ¾ of my Ph.D. dissertation written, I am legally a high-school dropout, as I skipped my senior year and never got a GED.
  3. Many years ago, I named my home Testosterone Palace, although now that both my sons have left, balance has been restored—my Standard Poodle is female, and my Weimaraner is male.
  4. When my husband and I moved cross-country 20 years ago, the weigh station on the North Dakota/Montana border said most household goods weighed about 3-4,000 pounds. Ours weighed 11,000; when asked if we had a car in the truck, we had to admit it was books.
  5. I love language, and have learned how to read five medieval languages and three modern ones. I warned you I was a nerd.
  6. I started writing when I was 4; my oldest sister saved my first story. I found it among my parents’ things last year.
  7. I don’t have 10 interesting things to say about myself.

I hope to be back on track the rest of this week, even though the crises are not over. I have another History of Profanity post in the works, and another review.  I hope everyone is doing well and is looking forward to the big celebration. Drop by your fellow participants and cheer them on here.

Responses

  1. Good job at keeping on track despite life’s bumps. Here’s hoping that you resolve those crises well enough…

    I think I grew up in Testosterone Palace (it was just three of us boys for the first 13 years). Then again, I also say I was raised by wolves (A lot of strong female influence in my family… very matriarchal). So, I guess it was the Testosterone Den.

    • Thanks, Matt. It’s part and parcel of being in the squeeze generation, I think. You made me laugh out loud at Testosterone Den! Thanks for dropping by; as always, your encouragement is greatly appreciated.

  2. Sorry to hear about the life crises this week, but I had to laugh out loud at your moving story — so many books! My friends who are finishing our PhD program have all been moving away and selling off most of their books to avoid having to tote them around, but the thought of parting with any of mine makes me sad.

    Have a wonderful rest of the week!

    • I’m glad you got a laugh out of it, Lena! In the intervening years, we have gotten rid of some–we had a lot of duplicates, and we’ve tried to be brutal about “fun” books–are we going to read it again? If not, it goes! We have times of lucrative Amazon sales, lol!

      Thank you for stopping by, Lena!

  3. I loved the part abut the books, too! That would be me…i have a personal library full of them! I hope your life smoothes out and the crises abate. Thanks for visiting my blog and liking my post!

    • Thanks for coming by and commenting, Marcia. We’ve had to get rid of lots of books through the years. We had a four-bedroom house when we had all four kids at home; now that it’s an empty nest, it’s a tiny two-bedroom condo, but there are still books everywhere.

      I very much appreciate the kind thoughts on the crises. It’s part of the “squeeze” generation, I suppose. Have a lovely week!

  4. Why does it always happen that everything happens at the same time. I hope things smooth out soon.

    I also think that the part about the books was priceless. I think your 6 things are so interesting that it makes up for not putting 10. 🙂

    • Thank you, Nicole! Things are beginning to become less stressful, thank goodness.

      I’m glad you found the six things interesting. The books do make a great story; our youngest son asked us when he was about 12 if all parents were nerds. It seems he thought it strange when visiting his friends’ houses that they had so few books; his friends quickly informed him we were the strange ones!

      Thanks for stopping by!


Please leave a reply

Categories

