Posted by: Elizabeth Anne Mitchell | September 18, 2011

ROW80 Check-in 9/18

Here we are, my compatriots and friends, at the penultimate check-in for Round 3. The end of my week was one of those “two steps forward, one step back” things. I managed to write longhand for two hours each day, but it was more venting and working through problems than advancing any of my goals. I was unexpectedly out of town from noon Friday through mid-afternoon today, so I feel like Ray Milland in “The Lost Weekend.”

I did manage to keep up with walking Brigid, and I’ve been working out goals for Round 4 and life goals in all their glory. I have notes for my next History of Profanity post, as well as another one on writing.  Finally, on a very nice but humbling note, L.S. Engler gave me the Versatile Blogger award. I am hoping to post my thanks very soon.

The goal line is in sight (sorry, I grew up in Atlanta, so football metaphors come easily); the checkered flag is in the air (a sports metaphor bone thrown to acknowledge my years in Indiana). I hope everyone is feeling a sense of accomplishment. Please check on all the wonderful participants here.

Responses

  1. Well, as I posted, my writing goals have stalled out as well. Cheers! To the next round! *g* Hope you’ll be taking part. Not sure if I’ll be posting again this round, since I’m flying in a couple of days, but I’m definitely signing up again when the next round starts.

    Have a great week!

    • Have a wonderful time, Ruth! I agree with you–this way I already have some goals planned for next time! It’s good to know I’ll see you in the next round. Thanks for coming by!

  2. I’m over here beating a few of those conga drums 🙂 It’s a great time to take inventory of all that you did during the challenge and be sure to pat yourself on the back, especially for any healthy or positive goals that you kept up with. That includes walking your pet 🙂 Yay for awards – congrats, and I look forward to seeing you in round 4!!

    • Yes, Marie, I hear that Latin beat! I’m working on my wrap-up inventory, reminding myself to look where I am and where I was, not where everyone else is! I am definitely putting health goals in the next round.

      Thank you for the congratulations! It’s good to know you’ll be in round 4; have a great week!

  3. Keep on dancing!

  4. hehehe. The word ‘penultimate’ always cracks me up. It was one of my ex-bosses favourite words – only he clearly didn’t know the definition as he completely misused it. Anyway…. Good to hear you are going to be coming back for round 4 🙂 I hope the last few days of this round treat you well.

    • Thanks for the kind words, Jody. Don’t you hate when people persist in using words they don’t understand? I hope you have a lovely week; I look forward to seeing you in round 4!

  5. Thank you for your supportive comments over at my place. Glad the writing longhand is going well for you and I hope the last few days of this round are productive and wonderful!

    • You’re welcome, Em. I appreciate your coming by and commenting. You’ve always been very supportive of me when I’ve gone diving into the Slough of Despond. I hope you have a lovely week.

  6. It’s been great meeting you and reading your blog, Elizabeth! I hope to see you again in round four…which will be starting the first week of Oct! Get that space cleaned out and post a pic of your fav writing spot! One of these days, I’ll get my lazy butt in gear and post a pic of my office….maybe after I clean it…Ha! ~ Nadja

    • Thank you, Nadja. It’s been very nice meeting you, too. I just emailed Kait that I wanted to sponsor in Round 4, so you’ll be seeing me around the linky!

      I will definitely take a picture of the screened porch. It has finally gotten cool enough in the mornings that it is perfect! Isn’t there a great saying about untidy desks indicating a creative mind. Well, I’ve got creativity out the wazoo, then!

  7. This looks like a fun place to spend time and work on goals. Nice to see your blog, fellow historical fiction Campaigner. I’ll be back to see what round four looks like!

  8. Round 3 has been a wonderful experience, a 75 yard kick-off return just shy of a touchdown (love the sports metaphors!). I’m looking forward to seeing you in Round 4!

    • Round 3 has absolutely been a fantastic kick-off return! I am very much looking forward to seeing you in Round 4!

  9. Hi,

    Goals! Writing comes first no matter what, even if hubby has to cook his own breakfast. 😉

    Return courtesy call re Rach’s Campaign Trail.

    best
    F


Please leave a reply

Categories

