Posted by: Elizabeth Anne Mitchell | October 1, 2011

RoW80 Round 4 Goals

Work one hour every day on footnotes for the dissertation.

I have finished the main body of my dissertation, but have to revise my footnotes, of which there are several hundred, perhaps over a thousand. To say I am not delighted with the task is an understatement of massive proportions, but it must be done.

Work one hour a day on revising articles.

I have two conference papers and three Master’s thesis chapters that I need to update/revise into journal articles. I finished half of one conference paper during Round 3, and need to continue where I left off. What I did not do in Round 3 (*headdesk*) is carve out work time for this editing; since it is required for my continued employment, I should use work time to do it.

Spend one hour per week writing book reviews until I catch up.

I read many very good books over the last Round, so I need to dedicate some time to getting the reviews written.

Work two hours per week on organizing my house so that I have a better place to write.

Three years ago, my family and I moved from a 2400 square foot, four-bedroom house with a full basement to a 1500 square foot three-bedroom house with no basement. Our adult daughters had their own places, so we didn’t need as big a house. However, the new house was 1000 miles away. Also, we have a very bad habit. We will work until a Wednesday or even Thursday at one job, move a thousand miles over the weekend and start new jobs on Monday. It keeps us solvent, but means we are too busy to go through our multitude of books and other possessions, so we throw everything into the garage.

A year ago, we moved again into a 1000 square foot 2 bedroom condo, as our older son left the nest. Since then, our stuff fills our garage, a storage space, and any available corner. Dismally sick of paying for a storage space and living with boxes, I want to start going through our books, selling them, and getting rid of the majority of our other stuff. In the process, I hope to reclaim the screened porch for my writing space, especially now as the temperatures have moderated in the early morning hours. More importantly, I hope to have an uncluttered mind.

Increase my exercise to half-hour a day.

During Round 3, I added the goal of walking my Standard Poodle for 15 minutes a day. I did quite well on that, and it turned out to be a very good thinking time for me.  She needs more exercise, so I’m upping the goal to twice a day for 15 minutes each time.

Use my morning pages—roughly one half-hour in the morning—to think about my priorities, goals, dreams, where I want to be in five years, that sort of thing.

This started out as Figure out what I want to be when I grow up, but that isn’t measurable!

So there we are!  Please check out everyone’s goals here and encourage us all!

Responses

  1. These are great goals – very clear and, I think, achievable. I’m still working on mine.

    Good luck and see you at Row80.

    • Thanks, Angela. You think I’ll figure out what I want to be when I grow up? 😀 Seriously, the goals are pretty small compared to a lot of folks, but I know they will get me going.

      Thanks for coming by. I look forward to getting to know you through ROW80.

  2. Great goals! I like how they are well-rounded. I’m going to be incorporating exercise into mine as well. Good luck!!!

    • I appreciate your coming by and commenting, Barbara. I’m trying to find a work/life/dreams balance, so I thought some of the goals might help with this, especially exercise.

      Looking forward to doing Round 4 with you.

  3. Holy Cow! That is quite a large list. Good luck! You are probably more organized than I am, because I think I’ll be lucky if I get a few hundred words a day written. 🙂

    • Thanks for coming by, Kate. It is a large list, and I don’t really expect to finish them all, but I like to stretch a bit. As for being more organized, I think I’m finally learning how to be organized, but I’m not there yet! Looking forward to going through the round with you. 🙂

  4. Great goals! You’ve got the measurable aspect down to a science. WTG!

    I’ve checked in with three fellow ROWers this morning, and all have exercise goals. As a personal trainer, you’d think I would have thought of that – but nope. Kudos to you for doing so.

    All the best as you dive into Round 4.

    • Thanks, Stephanie. I have an extremely sedentary job (in front of a computer all day), so I need to get some exercise! Thanks for coming by!

  5. Good luck with your goals this round!

  6. Very reasonable goals! Hey, I understand about that clutter thing. If you ever need any help try flylady.net. :0)

    I’m glad I’m not the only one behind on book reviews. I don’t care when I don’t get to the “famous” authors who have hundreds of reviews already. It’s the indies that I want to review. I hope to catch up on those, too, but it’s not necessarily a realistic goal for me right now. 😦

    Good luck in round 4!

    • Thanks, Lauralynn. I’m a big Flylady fan, but I didn’t give myself enough time to get rid of stuff while packing, so here it all is, still!

      Oh, I’m with you–the big guns can take care of their own reviews. All the ones I owe are to indies *blush*

      And good luck to you in Round 4!

  7. Environment can’t be underestimated, and I applaud your goal of getting home sorted out. Disorder can definitely be distracting. Good luck on all your goals this round!

    • Thanks, Katherine. I can ignore a small amount of clutter, but a lot of it, or a long time of a little bug me. So a lot of it for a long time makes it impossible for me to concentrate well. It also makes it easier for me to procrastinate (oh, look–I can go clean out that closet instead of writing that article for work), so I have to keep a time limit on it!

      Good luck to you on Round 4!

  8. I like how your goals include things that relate to a writer’s lifestyle like organizing. Good idea. 🙂

    • Thanks, Nicole. I am easily distracted, and easily discouraged when things are disorganized, so it’s paramount to me. Thanks for dropping by!

  9. Those sound like really good, realistic goals. Good luck!

    See you in the next few weeks, as we congratulate and lament (hopefully in that order). 🙂

    • Thanks, Ruth! Good luck to you as well. Yes, I do hope it is congratulate and lament in that order! 😀

  10. Great goals. I need to get back into walking our dog every day…we BOTH need the exercise. Good luck with your goals and I look forward to getting to know you during round 4 🙂

    • Thank you, Raelyn. My Weimaraner is just finishing heartworm treatment, so he has to be sedentary (which is his heart’s desire, anyway 🙂 ) My poor Standard hasn’t had her sparring partner for several weeks now, so we definitely both need the exercise.

      Good luck to you, and I look forward to getting to know you, too! 😀

  11. I love when I see some goals that are not about writing =) Exercising, for example, is a must.

    Good luck to you!

    • Thanks, Juliana. I’m a big believer in the whole mind/body thing (mens sana in corpore sano), but have gotten out of shape recently. It does affect me, so I just have to get back working on it. Good luck to you, too!


Please leave a reply

Categories

