ROW80

ROW80 check-in October 23, 2011

This check-in will be short because I got zip done on any of my goals in the past week. Zip, nada, null, rien, and many other cognates in lots of other languages. I did think a lot, and had a wonderful time with the kids and grandkids. As a result of the thinking, I wrote a long post about life goals on my Lapidary Prose blog, which gives more delineation of the changes I have made to my goals. I haven’t managed to make them SMART yet, but I’m getting there.

New goals:

Health: Lose ½ pound to 1 pound a week

Exercise 45 minutes a day 5 days a week

Stop purchasing and eating empty calorie foods.

Family: Contact each of the kids every week.

Devote one weekend evening to time with my husband.

Friends: Contact one friend a week until contact is well established.

Continue to contact my closest friends at least once a week; unless that is unworkable for them, and adjust accordingly.

Writing:  1½ hours a day, 7 days a week, on the articles I have to publish.

½ hour a day, 7 days a week, on the dissertation.

½ hour a day, 7 days a week, on creative writing.

2 hours a week writing a book review until I am caught up. I have read 10 novels or novellas by RoW80 participants and will write those first; I have 6 written by other authors which will come next; I have 6 more by RoW80 participants that I need to read that will be next.

Day job: Disappear from the face of the earth on days off, vacations, and evenings. That means do not answer the phone, do not check work email, do not go to the office “just to finish up this one little thing.”

Work 40 hours a week.

I mentioned in my life goals post about how much I hate ice. I remembered a conversation I had with my aunt, who never travelled outside of Georgia except to visit her daughter in Jacksonville, FL. The first time I ever broke a bone (I’ve broken 16 now) was when I was in graduate school in southern Indiana and slipped on black ice, breaking my elbow. When I told my aunt, she asked, “But honey, why didn’t you walk around it?” To which I replied, “I would have had to walk to Louisville to do that.” I loved her approach to life–straight on and full of common sense.  It was rare that she was wrong, and only when she had a gap in her knowledge, since she had more wisdom than most.

I hope all of you have a lovely week.

 

23 thoughts on “ROW80 check-in October 23, 2011”

  1. Nice. It sounds like you’re turning your ROW80 (a challenge that knows you have a life) into a challenge that brings you life. A positive change for sure. Good luck with your new goals 🙂

  2. Good luck in finding that balance that makes life the enjoyable thing it’s supposed to be. I hate when I lose that balance (and we all do at times) and end up plowing through the day to just ‘get one more thing accomplished’ so I can check it off my master list! That’s not living – it’s existing.

    Have a great week, Elizabeth!

  3. Those look like really great goals, Elizabeth, a really good balance of life and work and writing and everything else. I’m always impressed with time goals, too. I tried to set myself a time goal, and I just do not have the attention span to sit for 45 minutes just writing. It’s terrible! So I always bow down to those who can.

    Best of luck! Looking forward to seeing how they work out for you!

    1. Thanks, Laura. I hope that things will start to be in better balance. Isn’t it funny how different people can be. I cannot do word count goals, because I obsess about each and every word as the numbers change at the bottom of the page. Time, however, is my oyster! Thank you for the encouragement! I will definitely keep you apprised of my progress.

  4. Sounds like you are on top of things. Best of luck to you. Maybe I should add some health related goals to my list too.

    As other commenters have said, it seems like you have a great work life balance worked out.

    Best of luck to you in all your endeavors.

  5. Good luck with your new goals!! I had a similar quest for balance in Round 3 – it almost killed me lol, BUT I made huge changes. Now my goals for Round 4 are nice and simple because everything else has become habit 🙂 Wishing you a great week!

    1. Thanks, Lauren. I’m glad that you survived this process–that gives me hope! I am really hoping that the habits kick in. Wow, then maybe, I could have a simple goal for Round 5? I love that thought! 🙂 Thank you for stopping by to offer support. It is much appreciated.

  6. I love the way you included goals for your friends in your list! I’ve been focusing more on the writing, but I think I might need to add some attention to the other areas of my life!

    1. Marji, I just came to realize that my balance was way out of whack. My job was far too much of my waking hours and the friends and family were getting the short end of the stick. I was miserable, too, so only the big non-profit I work for was winning anything. I really hope I can turn that around. Thanks for dropping by.

  7. I find that signing up for ROW80, even though I also did not get anything done regarding my goals for this check-in day either, gets me thinking about goals in general and how I live my life, which is a good thing.

    I like what you are trying to do, good luck with it.

    Kevin

  8. I always enjoy your ROW80 updates, even when you don’t make progress. Glad you got lots of quality time in with family. Looks like your goals are solid ones. Hope to see you working on them in the near future now that your traveling is coming to a close. Do keep us updated, regardless 🙂

    1. Susan, I will definitely keep you updated. I’ll need the accountability for the life goals, perhaps even more than for the writing goals. November is a heavy travel months as well, with conferences and Thanksgiving, but nothing as extended or wearing as last week. Thanks for coming by, and I promise sometime you’ll see some progress!

  9. No longer eating the empty calorie foods really does make a big difference. I gave up anything or tried to give up anything with high fructose corn syrup or corn related since had allergy to it when a kid. Made all the difference in the world. Giving up sodas was easier than I thought.

    I’m so bad. I’ve read several row80 books and haven’t gotten around to reviewing them. Will have to put that on the list, but it will have to wait until nano is over.

    Have a great week – happy writing!

    1. Robin, isn’t it interesting how we think giving some things up will be so hard, when in actuality it turns out not to be that hard at all? I find regular soda cloying now, so that easily is off the list. I’m behind on responding to my comments–so sorry! Have a great NaNo!

Please leave a reply

