ROW80

ROW80 November 9, 2011

ROW80 11/9/2011

Despite a very idiotic near-fall on Sunday and a massive asthma attack on Tuesday, I did get some things done, so I am pleased, but man, it was hard.

Monday found me hip-deep in Latin, checking citations in the writings of the Fathers of the Church.  Edifying stuff, that; I found the childhood guilt creeping up over me again, because what I’m writing about are the seven deadly sins.

Monday evening, I had a very nice dinner with fellow ROWer C. M. Cipriani.  She lives about 35 miles out of town, but it was the first time we met IRL.  We had a great time talking about writing and good books; then moved on to bad books that we couldn’t figure out how they ever got published.  We closed down the restaurant (at 9pm; yes, I live in a hick town), and then critiqued the date that was going on at the table next to us.  Dude, that was a total fail; you will never see that chick again!  We were in hysterics on the sidewalk.  As much as the online community has helped me, it was so wonderful to have a real-life chat with another writer.

Tuesday was figure out the blog posts and schedule day. I appreciate all the comments I’ve gotten on what you write on your blogs and why.  I had a long list of things that I have run across and enjoyed researching, another long list of background explanations about me and my rather strange brain; finally I communed with the History Channel’s This Day in History, which is the kind of site I can spend days on. I kept researching until my eyes would have no more.  I almost fell asleep in my dinner, but my good husband saved me from that fate.  A few minutes later, he found me snoozing, finger poised over my phone, and convinced me to go to bed.  Now having slept for 11 hours last night, I’m feeling pretty good.

Let’s see: exercise, nope.  Sunday night, I was bringing the dogs back in the screened door, when it caught the back of my shoe, causing whiplash as my whole body ceased forward motion at short notice.  My elbow rebounded off the wooden brace on the door; my neck whipped back at mach 2, my knee did a 360 (well, maybe only a 280) and I almost fell face-first on the floor.  I’m proud I didn’t fall, but felt like an 80-year-old Monday morning.  Monday night I was out late and didn’t catch up; Tuesday morning I had a massive asthma attack.  I have found that exercise requires being able to breathe, so no exercise either Monday or Tuesday.

Family:  Monday was my eldest daughter’s birthday, and today is my eldest son’s, so there has been some family contact. More to occur later in the week.

Friends: I had a little correspondence with some overseas friends, so that was very nice.  See above for the IRL dinner Monday night, which was a whole lot of fun, and not something I do anywhere near enough.

All in all, a good couple of days, giving myself a small pass. Please go encourage all the rest of the ROWers here.  Also, I’m still interested in what you write about on your blogs and why, so don’t feel the poll has closed!

12 thoughts on “ROW80 November 9, 2011”

  1. Oh, man! The little get-together sounds like a lot of fun; the incident with the whiplash, not so much! I hope you’re feeling much, much better today, and, if not…well, the day is still young, so I hope you feel much, much better by evening.

    You’ve definitely been keeping yourself busy with the research, though! This is the kind of post that makes me almost miss being chest-deep (I’m short, so chest-deep isn’t even that deep) in research myself.

    ….Almost.

    I hope the rest of your week goes supremely well!

    1. Thanks for the good wishes, Laura. As it happens, I got to feeling worse before I got better, but I am on the mend finally!

      I looove research, maybe too much, actually. Well, it depends on the research, but most of it for these articles is a lot of fun.

      I hope you have a wonderful week, as well!

  2. I’m so sorry you hurt yourself. I hope you’re feeling better!

    I love getting together with other authors. I’ve been able to hang out with Susan Bischoff three times, Kait Nolan twice, and Andrew Mocete once. That last time was with all three of them and we called it FandrewCon. LOL Sometimes other authors are the only ones who get you, ya know?

  3. Ahh the joy of meeting an online friend IRL! Does’nt happen often but when it does, well you know! lol Glad you had fun. Chances f it happening for me are much slimer being across the pond as I am! :/ Still maybe one day. Good luck keeping up with the goals.

  4. Ouch! You poor thing! I’m a total klutz, so you have all my sympathy. Wishing a speedy recovery. And the IRL dinner sounds like it was great. I’m glad you shared that with us. I need to follow your example and put social activity in my goals. I can so easily lock myself away and bury myself in my work. I’ve had lots and lots of family contact as of late, but that is out of the ordinary. I need to do better with that.

    Very good check-in. Glad to hear about the fun research. Funny how time gets away from us when we are doing what we enjoy.

    1. Thanks, Wendy. I’d thoughts I’d gotten to be less of a klutz, but this was classic. Dinner was great; we had such a good time talking about things that we both understood immediately, and people who aren’t writers don’t get at all. I would encourage you to get out with friends or family more; I found myself becoming the cranky misanthrope and wanted to change that before it was too late. lol.

      I could spend hours doing research–total nerd that I am! I hope you have a lovely week, and that your family stress diminishes.

  5. You’ve described (sans the incident on the porch with the pooches…Okay, I did giggle a little…sorry;} a wonderful week so far. I love getting together for dinner with a friend! And I don’t do it near often enough either.

    That History Channel can get to be a time vortex that you never get out of…be careful…ha!

    And the seven deadly sins…hhhmmm. Guilt? I’ve heard that Catholics suffer this. Jews do too….Ha! Nothing like some good ole’ fashioned guilt to remind you of your roots, eh?

    1. Ah, Nadja, I don’t blame you at all for giggling. I’m sure it was funny to see. And dinner was wonderful–I tend to hole up in my little rut far too much, so it was really good to get out.

      The History Channel has always been a favorite in my home; finding that it is available on-line? Uh-oh! 😉 As for guilt, I think it’s a toss-up between the Irish Catholics and the Jews as to which upbringing instills more guilt. I have to say, though, that my Jewish friends’ mothers were better at the mother guilt than any Irish mother I know. LOL

  6. Two of my kids suffer with asthma, so I know that’s no fun.

    Sounds like a fun ROW80 dinner. I recently met one of my online writer friend’s in person. Such a treat. I, too, love the online community but there’s nothing quite like person-to-person.

    You sound in an overall upbeat mood, always a good thing for getting things done.

    1. Oh Tia, that stinks that two of your girls have asthma. I don’t have many episodes anymore, but I remember how awful it was when I was younger.

      Dinner was fun; there’s nothing like meeting someone you feel you already know from online conversations. And to be able to talk writer stuff all evening–wonderful.

      As for my mood, it was upbeat; I declined during the end of the week, which is why I am so behind on replying *blush*. I’m fighting back up the slope, though, and hope to get a lot done this week. I hope you have a great week, too.

Please leave a reply

