ROW80

ROW80 November 13, 2011

To answer Kait’s question, I’m actually feeling pretty good about my goals.  Of course, I’m not doing NaNo, so that makes my November less crazed.  There are some goals that need adjustment, but on the whole, I’m pretty pleased with the progress.
Health: I lost a whopping 4.4 pounds this week.  I questioned this figure, and had my husband verify that the scale was not broken, but yes, 4.4 pounds.  It was helped by the fact that I had an asthma attack that killed my appetite Tuesday through Thursday, then caught a nasty cold on Friday.  Food has been of absolute zero interest.

Exercise: Nope.  Wheezing after walking the dogs around the block will really put a crimp on doing any further exercise.  But I’ll get back to it when I get better.

Family:  My youngest son came home for Veterans’ Day, which was nice, even though I had a cold, and he seems to have an even worse cold than I do, poor thing.  I’ve been in touch with my parents and my brother, so keeping up with that part of the family is going well.

Friends: I’ve been keeping in touch a little better with my friends, so that’s coming along.

Writing: Most of the writing goals are being met.  I continued to work on the article about the Latin Fathers.  Although it isn’t the most exciting stuff in the world, I have some good points to make, even if they aren’t earth-shattering.

I did a lot of work on the blog posts and schedule.  I wrote a very short post on Veterans’ Day here, and one on the closing of Ellis Island here.  I have drafts of about six more posts, so I’m feeling pretty good about that.

I also had a revelation about the book reviews.  My e-reader is the Kindle app on my Ipod Touch.  While that works for reading something at the doctor’s office or at lunch, it is inadequate for the kind of reviews I want  to write.  I could read the entire book again, and take notes, but I have to admit that even just reading an entire book on a 2.5 x 3.5 screen is difficult.  So, I am taking the plunge and buying a real Kindle with my next paycheck.  I feel sure that will allow me to do the reviews the way the books deserve.  My apologies for not understanding this problem earlier. D’oh.

Except for the blog posts, I haven’t been able to do anything creative.  My muse has been as sick as I have, I think.  I will get back on that horse soon, though.

I’ve also fallen behind on commenting on blogs beyond the sponsorship duties, and haven’t cheered on the NaNoers as I had planned.  I’m climbing back on that horse, too.

Day Job:  I have continued to put the day job in its place, even taking sick leave when I was sick (Imagine that!)

All in all, a good few days.  I’m hoping to do better the rest of this week.  Please go encourage the rest of the ROWers here.

17 thoughts on “ROW80 November 13, 2011”

  1. Sorry you have been under the weather but glad lots of yoru goals are still coming along nicely!

    Keep up the good work and I hope you feel better soon.

  2. I hope you feel better soon. It sounds like you’re doing okay, considering you’ve been sick.

    I like the way you talk about different things in your life besides your writing goals. It helps us get to know you better. 🙂

Please leave a reply

