Posted by: Elizabeth Anne Mitchell | November 16, 2011

ROW80 November 16, 2011

Well, it’s still been a bit rough since the last check-in, but things are on the upswing.  I’ve been trying to stay organized, which is a good thing.  The bad thing is that I realize all the things I have said I would do, but have not.  I’ve mentioned the book reviews, but I realized upon waking up this morning that L.S. Engler gave me the Versatile Blogger award, but I have not passed it on.  It was an honor, and I have dropped the ball. Blush.  I plan to dedicate some time to that this week-end.
Health:  I weigh myself only once a week, so I don’t know how I’m doing on that score.  I have been feeling a little better; my cold is travelling to the cough stage, which is unpleasant but makes it easier to think. Kait’s post about posture hit a chord with me.  I spend all my working hours bent over a computer, so I realized that I am slowly contorting myself into a dowager’s hump.  Very unattractive, so I thank Kait for reminding me to think carefully about my computer posture.

Exercise: The dogs and I have done some minor walking; not up to the 45 minutes/day but on the upward slope.

Family:  My youngest son came down with chills and fever on Sunday evening, so he didn’t go back until Monday.  My husband drove the ten-hour round trip, while I stayed with the dogs.  They were in full “Protect the Mother” mode, barking at acorns dropping on the roof, a car door closing, pretty much continually.  I shouldn’t complain, because if I’m honest, my husband had the worst ten hours of it.  But also to be honest, I miss having a house at times like these.

I talked to my dad last night, and have a conference call with my siblings tonight, so despite the topics not always being cheery, the contact is better than it has been in some time.

Friends: I haven’t kept up with my friends as much as I would like.  I used to be able to tweet and comment on blogs during breaks at work, but I have been too braindead–my apologies for disappearing 😦

Writing: I should be done with the article about the Latin Fathers by Thanksgiving.  I have to say that I am glad to be done with that.  The next one is a lot more fun.  It’s more involved because there is more expansion needed to turn it from a conference paper into an article, but it’s a good subject and, if I do say so myself, I have a good platform on which to build.

My last blog posts were on Friday and Saturday:  my  Veterans’ Day and Closing of Ellis Island posts.  They are somewhat experimental, in that I am taking a personal look at a historical event or place.  I was feeling too icky to do much with the Veterans’ Day post, but my grandmother, who went through Ellis Island, had a interesting early life. I am doing more research on the drafts of a half-dozen or so more.  Some of them are tied to specific dates in history, so I have some time to spread them out.

I mentioned Sunday that I was going to buy a Kindle with my next paycheck, which is tomorrow–woo hoo! I should be able to start on some book reviews, which I will intersperse with the other blog posts.  There are several craft books that several of you have recommended that I have purchased in ebook, so I’m looking forward to adding those to the mix.

I also want to get back to the Tarot class that I ended up essentially abandoning last month 😦  I have several short stories, snippets, ideas that I want to revisit.  I think the Tarot class gave me a way to look at them differently, and I’m excited about that.

Day Job:  I am proud to say that I am still taking a few sick hours here and there when I find myself exhausted at noon.

Please go encourage the rest of the ROWers here.

But before you go, I have a question for you: do you post excerpts on your blog, and do you find the comments helpful?  I’m thinking of dusting off some of my writing and posting little snippets–what say you?
Responses

  1. Well done on a good week!

    I have posted an excerpt, just once so far and was pleased with the response and comments. I think it is a great idea to get some feedback and also so people can get a taste of your work – go for it! 🙂

    • Thanks for the encouragement and the advice on excerpts, Susan. I hope you are having a great weekend!

  2. Your week is going well so far! Let’s hope the rest of the week is even better!

    As for excerpts. No, I never posted them, though I think about it sometimes. I see a lot of people doing post called Six Sentence Sunday where they put up six sentences of the wips or other writings … on Sunday lol
    I think it’s interesting.

    • I appreciate the encouragement, and the information about Six Sentence Sunday. I’d seen the snippets but wasn’t sure whether there was a particular theme or prompt.

  3. Aww, no worries about the blogging award; the rules say to pass it on to fifteen people, so when I got it, I just balked and thought about how I don’t even know fifteen bloggers, and so I just gave it to a few particularly deserving ones I did know. : )

    It’s good to hear things are heading on the upscale; it seems that way with a lot of us, so I think maybe just a writing bug was going around, too. And I hope your cold clears up soon, too. That’s no fun to add to everything else going on.

    I don’t usually do snippets, though I did start throwing one onto my RoW80 updates this round, just to test it out and get some feed back on the direction I’m taking it. Sometimes they go unnoticed, sometimes people comment that they like them, and I hope it helps spark some interest in the WIP. When you’re working on something and not letting anyone see it until you’re done, sometimes you feel a little blind, so the snippets, when they get comments, helps shine a little light for the way.

    I’m also thinking of posting short stories for a brief while on the blog, to get thoughts and opinions before going off and editing them and sending them off, but I haven’t finished any short stories to put up there lately. So we’ll have to wait and see how that goes.

    • Your understanding is greatly appreciated, L.S. I noticed that a bunch of people hit the mid-NaNo wall, too, so there were a lovely of sluggish check-ins around. I have gotten out of the slump, and the cold is better, thank you!

      I have noticed your snippets, but I don’t think I’ve commented on them. They have made me intrigued with your WIP, though, so that is working!

  4. I don’t do snippets, but I do post serial fiction. On both of my blogs, I try to dedicate a day to writing some (what I call) experimental fiction. It’s totally rough draft work, and I often use metaphors that don’t work… plus the over-arching plots are pretty loose and I don’t always advance the story (sometimes I prefer to just be funny).

    I don’t really do it for feedback, though feedback is always welcomed. I have been told that several of the people that bought my book “knew they would like my writing beforehand” from the stuff I’d posted on my blogs. In that regard, I think it can definitely be a good thing.

    One thing I’m always afraid of with my larger WIPs is to get too many opinions up front. You have to be careful that you ignore your gut (and thus gut your voice) listening to others. For me, it works well to keep the stories separate. Experimental online stuff (practice work) and the real deal (novels). Eventually, I may take the serial stuff and make a novella/collection out of them… but only after some good editing :-).

    Still, sometimes input is needed to move on when your mind just won’t kick the idea out.

    • Thanks for the thoughtful comments, Matt. I don’t have anything longer (um, well, thesis and dissertation, LOL) to post; however, I do see your point about keeping the longer pieces out of the mix. I can definitely see that the shorter pieces would give readers a very good idea of your voice. Good advice!

  5. ROWsis, I’m glad to hear that the cold is getting better, though I know that coughing phase all too well — it’s the dry, hacking one, is it not? It always leaves me feeling like my ribs have been bruised or something from all the effort. Super unpleasant.

    Yay on getting yourself a Kindle! I’ve decided that I’m buying myself one for Christmas. There are so many indie books that I want to read from the ROW80 crowd, and while my phone has a decent-sized screen, the Kindle app drains the battery ridiculously fast. I’m looking forward to being able to take my Kindle to the beach. 🙂

    And I know what you mean about being a little slow about getting around to responding to blog awards. I had made a mental note to pass a couple that I had received along, and realized tonight that the mental note had been in place for almost 2 months. So I am passing along blog awards, and you can add a 2nd Versatile Blogger award to your cap, ’cause I’ve given you one. 😀

    Have a great rest of the week!

    • Thank you on so many counts, ROWsis! Yes, it is that deep, punch-a-rib-through-a-lung sort of coughs. Lovely, aren’t they? And yay, the Kindle came yesterday, so I’ve been madly organizing, downloading, making notes. . .

      And thank you for honoring me with the Versatile Blogger award. You and L.S. are so kind! I am totally stealing Jenny’s idea to post it as part of a gratitude post this next week.

      I hope you get rid of that pesky migraine, and have a great rest of the weekend!

  6. Good check-in. Sorry to hear of the sicknesses, but glad everyone seems to be getting better. It sounds as if you have been super busy as of late. You are doing very well, all things considered. And I say go for the excerpts. They are always fun to look over. I’m absolutely terrified when I post writings, but then super excited when someone says something nice about it. I think it is a great idea. Give it a try.

    • Wendy, I do think I am going to put my toe in the water with excerpts. Now I just need to blow the inch of dust off my stories to see what excerpts to put up. I totally understand your fear, but I also think I would be sooo excited if I got a nice comment, too!


Please leave a reply

Categories

