ROW80

ROWing through the Rapids!

All in all, a very interesting and productive week.  Pardon me the lack of introduction. I’m a wee bit hungover, since I went out last night, and I am an incredible lightweight. 😀
Health: I have gained one pound in the last week, but I’m not surprised, since I can actually eat again. The overall trend is down, so i’m okay with a small spike here and there.  My cough is still at the “am I trying to bring up lung tissue?” stage, but less annoying at night, which is all I care about right now.  I have been working on my computer posture.   I usually wear contacts, but for the days I couldn’t stand the thought of wearing them, I have been making do with drugstore reading glasses.  The probem? I have massive astigmatisms.  I realized that I was adopting a really weird posture in order to read my computer screen, while making really awful faces.  Had I been five, and my mother present, I would have heard the old “Your face will freeze that way.” So I took a deep breath, and got new glasses.Exercise: I can’t manage the 45 minutes without hacking, but I’m up to 30 minutes consistenly.

Family:  The conference call with the siblings went rather well.  My siblings and I are not close, but we have managed to stand together in dealing with my parents, which is something that makes me proud.

My husband and I actually had two date nights this week; both Friday and Saturday night we went out for drinks and appetizers.  It’s not much, but we went out about ten times after having kids, so it’ll take us a while to get used to the idea.

Friends: I have been able to stay in better contact with my friends.  I’m not tweeting or commenting on blogs quite as much as I would like, so that is an area to work on.

Writing: Wednesday afternoon I hit that sweet spot with the article, where the words flow as if one is channeling some 19th-century German scholar (well, for medievalists, that is the sweet spot.  Yeah, I know). I wrote without needing to check a source, a definition, or a translation for two hours.  It was amazing. I will definitely be done by the time I take off for Thanksgiving, so that brutal editor can tear it up over the break.

Yesterday I wrote a post on the Professional Good Girl. Born out of something Another Damned Medievalist said a few months ago; given further shape by Lena Corazon’s post last week, this post traces my childhood path through finding approbation and attention at school, since it was not available in my home.

I am going to post an excerpt today as well–perhaps part of Six Sentence Sunday, but maybe a longer snippet.  I must ruminate thereon.  After such a long time thinking, worrying, and being scared that I had nothing to write about on a blog, I find that topics are coming out of my ears. There is at least one more post to the PGG series, and then another about the Imposter Syndrome.  I have a gratitude post for Thanksgiving: Lena Corazon gave me the Versatile Blogger award, and I am stealing Jenny Hansen’s idea of honoring Lena’s and L. S. Engler’s gifts of this award into a gratitude post. Thank you both for the honor.

Friday afternoon, I got my Kindle. I am in love.  Yes, me, the one who talks about the feel of paper and vellum, whose earliest memories include the smell of my father’s print shop; yes, I love my Kindle. I am slowly learning how to make notes and highlight and organizing all my books.

Day Job:  Meh.  I am finding that  the writer is very tired of folding herself to fit into the tiny little space I’ve given her; I used to think of her as the “dream self,” but more and more, the writer is the real me, and the person who goes to the day job is, um, not.  Strange, I know.  This situation bears some thought.

Please go encourage the rest of the ROWers here.

12 thoughts on “ROWing through the Rapids!”

  1. Good progress, Elizabeth, I hope the cough doesn’t hang around too long. I so know what you mean about the day job, writer me keeps thinking of all the creative stuff I could be doing in those 8 hours but alas it is the age of capitalism.

  2. 2 date nights in one week? I am a fan of this. I’m trying to push my parents into doing the same thing, but after my sister and I were born, their only dates have been once a year, on their anniversary. Getting them to unlearn that behavior (lol) is a work in process.

    It’s exciting to also hear that you are loving your Kindle. I am also a “I-want-to-touch-the-paper-and-smell-the-books” sort of gal, and the thought of going over to the e-reader side has left me frothing at the mouth with all sorts of rants… but I have so many indie books that I want to read from all my writing friends that I have to invest in one now.

    Your comment about the work and the day job reminds me of what I used to say about myself, before I got to grad school, and how I am feeling once more: that I am first and foremost and writer, that I was born to be a writer, and that I am a sociologist second, and by some combination of passion and training. It is a curious feeling; I’m still working on that integration between the two.

    Have a wonderful holiday week, ROWsis!

    1. Oh, yeah, ROWsis, I have done the anti-Kindle rant, but I have to admit, packing for Thanksgiving, putting the Kindle versus the four books in the backpack–bliss!

      I hear you about having to integrate the two sides of passion and training. It is an ongoing process, definitely. I hope you have a lovely Thanksgiving with your family, Lena! 😀

  3. You have some really great things going on, dates nights sound great! My parents never go out just the two of them….even on their anniversary so I can imagine it is a hard habit to get used to!

    I am the same with commenting on posts at the moment, I am not getting around as much as I used to but with NaNo something has to give!

    Hope you have another productive week!

  4. Ahahaha, always good to read a post starting with having a hangover. That means someone had a good time last night!

    It sounds like you’re week has been phenomenal! I’m so happy for you, especially about the dates and that blissful, wonderful, incredible feeling of a writing streak! Just thinking about it makes me swoon in envy. : ) It’s good to hear that you’re feeling better, too.

    I hope all the uplifting things stick around for the rest of the week for you!

    1. Ha, thanks, L.S. It was a very good evening! Oh, and that writing streak–the channeling feeling is soooo wonderful when it happens. It sounds like you are doing well despite being busy at work; I hope you have a chance to relax a bit during the holidays. 🙂

  5. Amazing update, and glad the writer is winning out but hope she can find ways to deal with the day job. 😉 Sounds like a great update, all in all. And you write very effectively while hungover. I’m impressed!

    I’m intrigued by my Kindle, but still feel like I’m cheating on my paperbacks. What to do…

    1. Thanks for dropping by, Tia. The writer is definitely winning out more and more. Maybe I should write more when I’m hungover–um, maybe not! I had to laugh at your feeling like you are cheating on your paperbacks. I do know the feeling, but I quell the guilt by still checking paper books out of the library. I own thousands still, so I’d have to fill up a Kindle or two before I matched my paper book collection!

Please leave a reply

