Posted by: Elizabeth Anne Mitchell | December 29, 2011

Goals for Round 1 of 2012

A Round of Words in 80 Days is a writing challenge that “knows you have a life.”  Click here to read more about it from the creator of the challenge, Kait Nolan.My goals for ROW80 reflect what I have learned in the 3rd and 4th rounds of 2011. One stable factor is that I am not a friend of word counts, so I plan in discrete time slots and goals measured in different ways. One change in 2012 is that I am going to work on fiction, not the non-fiction required by my day job.
Writing:
  • I will spend one hour a day writing book reviews until I catch up. When I have caught up, I will spend one hour a day creating a blueprint for the fiction works languishing in my file drawer.
  • I will spend one hour a day reading and annotating craft books.

Community:
  • Comment on at least five blogs per week.
  • Work on my Facebook page for one hour per week; when that is updated, use this hour for my author platform.
  • Catch up with Twitter for a half-hour per day.
  • Check on the ROW80 Facebook page daily.

Exercise:
  • Walk at least 5,000 steps a day, tracked by a pedometer.
  • Use the stairs whenever I am not carrying boxes.

Personal:
  • Contact my closest friends at least once per week.
  • Contact my children at least once per week.
Responses

  1. Good luck for Round 1, My goals go up on the 1st 🙂

    • Thank you, Sharon. I’m excited for the Round to start; I’ll look for your goals the 1st 🙂

  2. my you’re early bird – well done – hope festivities were good – just drafting mine now – oh how full of beans we are at beg of year:)
    best of luck with week one – I’m in process of moving blog sites – bit major and not quite got the hang of where every thing is yet but getting there getting there!

    • Oh, *blush*, thanks, Alberta. I knew I had to gain some traction before the weekend, with the youngest home from uni!

      I’m fussing with my blogs, too. I finally moved to an “author platform,” and am trying to figure out whether to make this and Lapidary Prose look as nice as it does, or not! Decisions, decisions, ha!

      Have a lovely start to your year, Alberta!

  3. I like the fact that your goals aren’t JUST about writing. They are very well rounded.

    I’ll be posting my 2012 Round One goals when Kait does the linky tool for it (I think on the 2nd).

    • Thanks, Lauralynn! I tried for some balance; I am too prone to forget about the important things if I don’t keep them in front of me *blush*

      I’ll look forward to seeing your goals. 🙂

  4. Glad to see you’re going for ROW again – last time was my first and I wondered how many repeats versus new folks signed up each time. Looks like a lot of rollover. Yay! Good luck on your goals, especially the writing what you want instead of day-job writing.

    Have a great new year!

    • Thank you, Lynette! It seemed like time to walk the walk, lol. It will be good to have you on the ROW again, too. I hope you and yours have a lovely new year!

  5. These look like excellent goals, and I like the switch to working on fiction, rather than the non-fiction for the day job. I’m still inching my way towards craft books, so I’d love to hear your opinions on the ones that you read.

    Happy new year, my friend, and have a wonderful week!

  6. These sound ambitious.

    My question is – what is really your priority?

    If you like the craft books -why worry about fiction? Or if you really want to see your fiction published – why worry at all about the craft books?

    That was my quest for this Row80 – making sure I focused on executing what was a priority.

    And why I split my goals into “must do” and “nice to have”.

  7. Yeah, fiction! Great goals, lady, keeping it realistic but also branching out.

    Good luck with the writing and have a great week.

    Happy New Year!

  8. Great goals and you reminded me I have a pedometer! Now I just need to locate it as it will be useful in my fight against the flab!!

    Have a wonderful week 🙂

  9. Ah, those blasted stairs. Always there, rising off into seeming infinity. Always judging. Stairs, how I hateth you. But, alas, the elevator doth protest my boarding. I will not abide by its cantankerous groaning. I shall immunize myself to its ascendant wiles, and assault the stairs with renewed force. Such is the opportunity of a new year, and we shall seize it! Together!

    *Braveheart-like cries*

    Unless (and here he holds up a finger) those foul boxes should appear. I fear that, then, we are helpless. The climb is not worth the fall, the potential injuring. Nor the resultant scattering of goods.

    So shall I stare down from within the lift’s metallic embrace and mumble: “We will meet again, crafty Stairs.”

    Also, I’ll park my horseless carriage a bit further off, if it please the weight-retention deities.

    The stairs. A worthy goal, indeed.

    Oh, and the rest. They’re good, too. :-P. Here’s to a great new year and round!

  10. Great goals for Round 1! I love the idea of some restraint on FB and Twitter. I spend too much time using them as an excuse to not do the other things on my list of to-dos! I may have to borrow that goal from you! Good luck and happy new year!

  11. Hi Elizabeth! Glad you’re back. I like how you have goals already set to replace the first set once they are completed. So Smart. Good luck with everything.


Please leave a reply

Categories

