ROW80

Check-in January 18 Muses and Censorship

First, all my blogs were blacked out today.  I am joining the protest against proposed U.S. legislation that threatens internet freedom: the Stop Internet Piracy Act (SOPA) and the Protect IP Act (PIPA).

Next, most of my time has been spent packing.  Let’s see what my living space looks like.  In this corner, we have the six-piece drum set that my youngest pined after for more than a year; to his credit, he did play for a couple of years after getting it. In that corner is the shredder, with which I am merrily shredding all the junk mail and no-longer-needed paperwork to create confetti for the kitchen packing.  The bedroom looks like straight-line winds hit a thrift store; clothes are in “summer, when will I ever wear this again,” and “Florida winter, passable with hat, gloves, scarves and a couple of sweaters” piles.  And everywhere there are boxes; the china was only packed for a cross-town move, and needs to be babied for its long journey north.

What, this isn’t a moving blog?  Um, sorry!

I find it rather incredible that my muse has decided to come live with me in this mess.  I moved some excerpts to the new domain, ElizabethAnneMitchell.com, and I realized how much I love those characters.  Those of you on Round 3 last year may remember my very insistent hero who was bugging me constantly, well, this is that guy’s, and his wife’s story.  That’s another theme that keeps cropping up in my musings–being the odd one in a situation.  I started another story on that theme last fall, for the Platform Building Campaign challenge. Even though I wrote only 200 words, the idea of the story still pulls me.  All these themes: the odd one out, the lost/good little girl, and the fight for love and acceptance when one doesn’t grow up with it, have deep roots in my own life, but common wisdom is to write what one knows, right?

So for my goals:

Writing:  I’m not pushing beyond the test mile, even though I’m pleased at some of the ideas, and I scribble notes as they come to me.

I have kept up with replies to Sunday’s comments, but I want to make my way back to earlier comments.

I am still working on the new domain.

Packing: I’m at the divide and conquer stage.  It is a really good place for a nester like me to be able to say, “I haven’t touched this in over a year. Buh-bye!”

Planning:  I am still the planning fool.  Maybe it makes sense that I moonlight by working on the organization of information.

Social: Not much this week yet.  I did call my dad last night, so that was something.

Exercise: Although I’ve been using the stairs, I have not been walking the last two days.  All my exercise is packing and coughing.  Wheeee!

And, penultimately, I would like to thank those who have followed my blog since Sunday:

Missy Biozarre is a young adult fantasy/science fiction writer and blogger.  She is following Leavekeeping and Elizabeth Anne Mitchell.

Eden, a fellow ROWer, author of speculative fiction and erotica, started following Leavekeeping

Shan Jeniah Burton, also a fellow ROWer, and master of little to no sleep, started following Leavekeeping.

As always please go encourage all the other ROWers here.

8 thoughts on “Check-in January 18 Muses and Censorship”

  1. I so enjoy your posts. It’s a little sad, though, that you are coming to Albany a year before we hope to leave the area…..

    It sounds like the packing is going well. You are inspiring me for the major purge and life reorganization I’m just making the first shaky steps in……..

    I love how your writing flows into you life, and your life into your writing. =D

    And I REALLY like “Master of Little to No Sleep”. Mind if I shamelessly steal it? It has more flair than referring to myself as a Sleep Camel! =D

    1. First, feel free to steal “Master od Little to No Sleep.” It makes me grin when someone likes one of my phrases.

      As for the timing, yeah, it could have been better, I guess, but hey, it’s a year. And regarding the writing/life tide, they have always moved as one in a way. Writing began as my escape from a bad situation–I suspect you can relate; by the time I could create my own situation, the two were intertwined like dye and fiber, impossible to tell where one began and the other ended.

      So far the packing is going well, but you will probably hear it devolve into “GAH, where is all this coming from?? Make it STOP!” Just to warn you . . . 😀

  2. I think with all the packing and work on the new domain you have plenty on your plate, so hopefully you don’t feel to bad about not hitting some of the other goals! needs must as they say 😉 At least you are still writing when you can! Have a great week 🙂

    1. Thank you, Sharon. I should give myself a pass on some of the goals–it’s not as though I’m sitting here twiddling my thumbs, after all.

      I am very happy the writing still flows into the crevices; I feel very strange when my muse sulks in the corner.

      I hope you have a lovely rest of the week 🙂

  3. Wow, musing and moving at the same time — I applaud you! I would give my own muse a long vacation under the same circumstances. 🙂

    Take care, and I hope the move goes without a hitch and you continue to do so well on your many goals.

Please leave a reply

