Posted by: Elizabeth Anne Mitchell | January 25, 2012

Check in January 25 Moving and musing

While still knee-deep in packing, I am at least using the time to think through the great mysteries of the universe. How do closets and bookshelves secretly replicate in the night?  Why does it take me more time to do anything–pack, write, plan my life–than everyone else in the world?Seriously, while I am not blazing through anything, I am making progress.  I missed the last check-in, as I had to be at a library conference in Dallas from Saturday through Monday, and didn’t want to haul a computer through several terminals.  I have been writing the test mile every day; sometimes it is a data dump about characters and scenes, at times more mid-life crisis angst, but it is there.

I reworked a scene from the British bride WIP and posted it on Elizabeth Anne MitchellShan Jeniah rightfully said that she wasn’t feeling the female lead; I have a hard time getting into her head.  I need to have a long conversation with her–I know her external circumstances, why she is afraid to get close, but I don’t know what overrides all that to attract her to my male lead.  He’s been in my head trying to tell his story for over a year now, so I know him very well.  Her, not so much.  I have to get them better names, and I should start thinking about a title. Obviously, I have some work ahead.

So for my goals:

Writing:  I don’t think I’ll be able to get beyond the test mile soon.  I am going up to Albany on Friday to find a place to live; the uncertainty about that undercuts my ability to work on the blogs and the creative writing.


I did read Claire Legrand’s insightful post on blogging this morning; I’m going to work on feeling that it is not only okay, but important, to talk about myself.Behind on replying to comments, but not too far behind.

The new domain is coming along slowly, but I’m not too worried about it right now.  I will post excerpts every so often.

Packing: Last night began the true packing; I have organized things into tiers of necessity–Open First, Open within Two Weeks, and Open when More Settled.  Good Lord, I am a nerd!

Social: Not much this week yet.  I called my dad last night, which became a very difficult conversation.  He is stubbornly refusing to see that my mother is too much for him to handle.  Part of the “Greatest Generation,” he sees his growing inability to care for her as a moral failing.  I swing between wanting to rail at him and wanting to cry.

Exercise: I walked a lot in Dallas, but have not been walking since I got back.  I have been hustling books and boxes, though, for somewhat of a workout.

As always please go encourage all the other ROWers here.

Responses

  1. Heya Elizabeth, it seems like years since I’ve caught up with you! How did that happen? I see you have been quite busy, travelling and getting yourself back to what normal is -which is super (if you don’t mind me saying). I wouldn’t be so hard on yourself; you are progressing and writing/plotting at a speed which suits your current needs; so don’t stress, just focus on what you have achieved, you will see it’s more than you probably thought you could have.

    Stay positive and I hope to catch up with you soon(ish). 🙂

    • Hi Oz, it does seem like a long time! And thank you for reminding me to look at the half-full glass. i am writing–and some of it is fiction-yay!

      It’s good to hear from you; I look forward to seeing you around the ROW.

  2. Elizabeth…I’d say you’ve got a full plate right now, so don’t get down!

    As for your female lead…check out the character chart link I posted awhile ago….this helped me to breathe life into my characters. You may like it as well.

    I”m crazy this week…hope to see you next!

    • ugh….crazy busy that is….ha!

    • Thanks for the support, Nadja! And um, I looked around on your blog but couldn’t find the link you mention–could you send me the url? I see that you are crazy busy with wrestling sons–officially wrestling, that is, not the common kind! I hope it gets better soon!

  3. making progress is much better than blazing through anything… blazing leads to overlooking things!

    Good job.. 😀

    • Thanks, Darlene. That is good advice–I do tend to be the baby sea turtle (not even as fast as a tortoise!) but I do tend to go through things meticulously. I hope you have a great week!

  4. Wow you’ve got a lot on your plate. I probably wouldn’t get anything done if I were moving. I do like your packing tip though (labeling boxes from when they need to be opened), Good idea. Have a great week.

    • Nicole, I didn’t think I’d get anything done; in fact, I contemplated withdrawing from ROW80, but I love the community and figured I’d miss it too much, even if I wasn’t getting anything done. What a surprise! Although I should have realized that after years of stuffing my muse into corners and closets, she prefers to flower among the busy-ness of it all!

      I have to admit, I thought it was a good idea when I thought of labeling boxes according to time. I’ve let things languish in the past–I’ll let you know if this method works better. Have a lovely week!

  5. Ohmigawsh. With all that packing I am amazed you are writing at all. You inspire me with that writing tenacity!

    Like Nicole, if I was moving, that would completely consume me!

    Looking forward, as always, to more updates!

    • Aw, thanks, Julie. My muse likes tight spaces, I think. Also, I haven’t allowed myself to write whatever came to mind; although I read The Artist’s Way a long time ago, I never let myself “fritter” away time on morning pages. I am now a complete convert. I hope you have a wonderful week!

  6. Very good check-in. You are super busy. Moving is such a pain. Being able to keep up with life during the process is amazing. I understand the whole “getting in the character’s head” bit. It can be a little awkward at times, but when it finally clicks, it’s great. Keep up the good work. Stay strong!

    • Thanks for the encouragement, Wendy; I hope to get into this character’s head soon, since her male interest just won’t leave me alone. (Cool your jets, buddy–I’m working on it!) I hope all is well in your part of the world.

  7. Hey what a lovely post… nice and light… we’re moving soon from our home in Torquay, UK, have to say I’m sort of not looking forward to the whole concept of packing and unpacking :S… I like your idea of Open immediately, open in 2 weeks… will be recommending that to the wife later on!! 😀

    Keep blogging!!

    • I blush to see that I haven’t responded before now! Moving is no fun, although for us the prospect of new, better, day jobs is enticing. I hope that you have some silver lining to your move!

      I actually am rather proud of the “pack by time” concept–I’ll let you know how it works out on the other end.

      Thanks for stopping by, and for being patient for a reply!

  8. You’re so busy right now, it’s pretty cool that you can even do your test mile. Just do the best you can while you’re going through this move and things will settle down soon. Good luck!

    • Thanks, Lauralynn. I’ve moved a bunch of times, so one would think I’d have the concept done by now. Yes, and no, actually. I’m enjoying the freeing up of space, and am planning a more minimalist style of decorating, but the chore of boxing everything, knowing I will be unboxing it in three weeks–ugh!

      I am so sorry it is taking me so long to rely to comments!


Please leave a reply

Categories

