ROW80

February 5 Check-in Dredging the Delta

Thank goodness for this group. Since last check-in, I have been travelling or packing without pause. The test mile refuses to stay in the clear water of the delta, and is dredging the mud and silt of decades. It is fascinating, informative, and exhausting.

I have also come to realize that I have to back off a bit from some of my goals for a little while, and that the world will not end if I do that.

Writing: The test mile continues to be a place where I can vent about the insane family things that have imploded over the past two weeks, or to realize the origin of some character traits that have caused me problems in relationships in the past.

I spent most of Wednesday travelling, getting home at midnight; other than the test mile and an impromptu #wordsprint on Thursday, I have not written, but I’m okay with that.  I have not yet replied to comments on my Wednesday check-in; I am not okay with that.

Exercise: After lots of walking on Wednesday in various airports, I have only had packing as exercise. Something is making my muscles hurt, so I suspect the packing is the culprit.

Family: Due to the ongoing family crises with my mother, my mother-in-law and our youngest son, the family contact has been increased; it’s not always the most positive contact, but more of it is supportive than I would have expected. 

Friends: My on-line friends have been truly supportive these past days; I have been leaning heavily on them, and hope to repay the favor when it is needed. Today, some lovely neighbors of ours invited us over for snacks mid-afternoon, providing a very needed break from the packing.

Day Job: Neither the old nor the new occupies my thoughts; I am very Scarlett about both of them, although I do write down any good ideas I have about the new one before I sweep them out the door.

Have a lovely week everyone, and click here to encourage all the other ROWers.

21 thoughts on “February 5 Check-in Dredging the Delta”

  1. Sometimes life gets in the way and we just don’t have the time of the emotional resources for writing. Take care of yourself, take care of your family, and get things sorted out. We’ll be here when you’re ready to get back in the groove and the words will be too. 🙂

    1. Thank you so much for your support, Ruth. I do have to fight the feeling that the words will abandon me, if I do not attend to their care and feeding in the meantime, but remind myself they never have before. I’m grateful that the online friends I have are willing to stick around while I melt down in the corner, lol.

  2. You are in a good place it seems, realistic about what you can and cannot do. That may well be the key to success, Elizabeth. I’m interested in your statements about how the test mile is awakening/dredging….I will keep your family in my thoughts and prayers this week. Take Care – and good luck with packing…(which may be the worst task ever)

  3. Elizabeth, you are thinking of these life-changing moments with clarity and sense. Do not let any of these get you down; you stick to your guns and do what’s necessary to get back on the path you want to continue on. There seems to be more testing times ahead of you, so stay strong, you can get through this.

    1. Thank you, Oz. I slid out of focus for a while these past couple of weeks, but I think I’ve readjusted the lens again. I have been very protective of my time and energy at the day job, saying no in the past month more than I had in the previous 12 months, I think! I appreciate your confidence in me–I know I will get through it, but the 3-year-old in me wants to be through it already!

  4. The test mile is such a good idea. I know it makes me write on days when I just don’t feel like it.

    Hope the packing goes well and you are right, the world will not end. This is something I have come to learn recently too 🙂

    1. Em, I know you’ve had some tough times recently, and it is hard to feel that the world really goes on. The test mile has been the salvation of my sanity on some days. Kait is right, sometimes one just has to put on the trainers and run, no matter how one feels.

      Thanks for stopping by!

  5. Elizabeth, there are only so many hours in one day. I say you’ve had your hands full. I’m sorry to hear that you’ve been dealing with a lot of family issues. It seems like so many are having those types of interruptions in their life. And family comes first, right? It sounds like you’re packing and moving too. Take a deep breathe. Now let it out. This too shall pass. I’m so glad I got a chance to drop by and visit a fellow ROWer. I hope you have a less stressful week! 🙂

    1. Karen, I very much appreciate your stopping by; I have to apologize for taking so long to reply. I’m usually much better 😦

      There have been a spate of ROWers dealing with various family issues; I am hoping that all that angst will lead to great creative efforts once the dust has settled for us all.

  6. Family issues take so much out of a person, I don’t know how people write through them. Thank goodness for online friends, Elizabeth. Sometimes, they’re all that keep us sane. 🙂

    Good luck with your goals and be good to yourself!

    1. Thank you for commenting, Sheila. I have been just awful about replying, please accept my apologies. I have met so many wonderful people online; they have definitely helped me stay sane on more than one occasion. *thumbs up*

  7. Sometimes you have to either back off of your goals or change them for awhile. With everything you’re going through right now, trying to achieve too much will overwhelm you. You HAVE to take care of yourself and your family first. The writing will always be there. Use it when you need to escape for awhile, but don’t put too much pressure on yourself with word count right now. You can worry about that when things calm down. *hugs*

    1. Thank you for the hugs, Lauralynn. I have needed them recently! I am trying very hard not to obsess about the writing by just trying to write something every day, whether a scathing rant of the oblivious shoppers at the grocery store or the great injustices of the world, lol.

      Thank you for stopping by and being so supportive, Lauralynn. 🙂

  8. All this is why ROW is such a great challenge. It’s great that even though your plate is full you are still working forward through your test mile…sometimes that sort of mental working out of things makes the dealing with them a bit easier. Or a bit more clear, at least. I hope things settle for you soon.

  9. I hope you adjust the goals to fit what’s going on right now. Wishing you lighter days (literally and figuratively).

    I feel like I’ve been chasing my tail (my tale, too, pun intended) lately. I was going to sprint today, and looked up and 2pm had come and gone. Sad. I hope to sprint soon!

    Hope you have a good week!

    1. Thank you, Tia. I have adjusted the goals, and will probably have to adjust them again before the end of the round, but that is okay. I had so much fun on the sprint (or two) that I did; I hope that eventually I can get back to participating in them. I appreciate your stopping by with good wishes!

Please leave a reply

