ROW80

March 11 Check-in Feathering the Nest

Howdy from upstate New York. I must say that, although the move had several glitches, and there are many, many boxes still to be unpacked, I am happy. It’s an interesting feeling, a contentment I haven’t felt in a long time.

 

What have I accomplished: since Wednesday, I have set up the kitchen, dining room, and sunroom. My muse isn’t absent, but rather quiet. I found a box of journals I wrote when I was in my teens and twenties; my muse actually squee-ed, “ooh, fodder.”

 

I had hoped to get the study set up, but due to a major glitch in the move, the desk chair and part of the drafting board got left in Florida, along with one of our cars—a long story that bears telling at some point. But here is a picture of the mostly blank canvas. 

The study to be

 

What have I learned: I am a nester, and I’m rather good at it. It seems to be my answer to the loneliness and disruption of my childhood. I enjoy making a comfortable home that is cozy and welcoming.  I don’t remember anyone ever visiting my parents’ house, or rather, that the few relatives who visited were just as uncomfortable as my parents.  It’s interesting that a house can so thoroughly reflect the attitude of its inhabitants.

 

I hope to get back to the test mile tomorrow, or even later today. I’m happy as a clam to be back on the interwebs!

 

Please go encourage the ROWers in the home stretch here.

16 thoughts on “March 11 Check-in Feathering the Nest”

  1. Good for you! Glad you’re settling in and hope those glitches get taken care of soon. We live about an hour apart now! We should definitely meet one day! Have another great week–find stories in the journals, get your new home cozy. Your future study has a lot of light, very nice!

    1. Thank you, Marie! I don’t like being without internet, which shows what an addiction I have! As much as I like setting up the cozy nest, I missed being in touch with my friends. I am very happy to be back! 🙂

  2. A move is such a tremendous change in our lives Elizabeth and I’m glad that you’re taking this time to nest. It’s important and I think once you feel settled you will be ready to take off with your writing. I wish you all the best in your home and may it inspire you! Have a great week! 🙂

    1. Thank you for the encouragement, Karen. The move and change in jobs has affected most of my life, but I am feeling very comfortable so far. I have the feeling that you are right about the writing; I think this will be a good situation for me. I hope you have a wonderful week, too!

  3. Glad you’re settling. Ive moved more times than I care to count and I hate it. Although I do love the fresh nesting start…new rooms and colors to create for comfort. Good luck getting your test mile back. And um, your car. . .

    1. Lynette, I’ve moved a bunch as well, and it hasn’t grown on me. But I’m with you, I do like the fresh paint and making the nest look nice. I think the test mile will come back, even if it is maundering about the fouled-up move at first!

  4. You accomplished a lot this week. I love it that your muse is only quiet. That’s cute. Hope your week is good.

    My closet reflects my inner life. When things are hectic and I feel out of control, just open my closet and you will see a mess. The opposite is equally true. I tease my friends and say, “If you want to know how I’m feeling just peek inside my closet.”

    1. Thank you for the encouragement, Ali. Your closet story made me laugh–for me, it is the top of my dresser. If you can’t tell what color the dresser top is, look out! If I’m feeling good, you could put a picture in Good Housekeeping. Have a good week!

  5. Beware a musing muse as you never know when the lull will cease. Unlike the others, I am not a nest-er but gradually, a home of mine takes place. I admire anyone who can deal with moving and boxes as orderly as you do.’

    Again, keep an ear out for that muse!

    Karen

    1. Thanks for the advice, Karen. I’m planning to coax my muse with the test mile, starting with journaling, and then working up to the idea file.

      As for moving, thank you for the compliment. I”ve done it disorganized and crazed and found that made the following months hectic and unsettling, so I have *finally* learned from earlier madness. It has been more pleasant to have things dated by “open by” date.

  6. Oh, I love that you’ve figured out you’re a nester — and want to make your home comfortable for everyone. What a wonderful gift.

    I bet your writing reflects this. Comfort, warmth — what people want to come home to.

    I hope your study gets its absent furniture soon!

    1. Thank you for dropping by, Amy. I should have figured out before now that I’m a nester, but hey, better late than never, as the hackneyed expression goes! And thank you for the compliment about my writing–I’d like to think that I could write comfort food!

      Also, my absent furniture and car is supposed to arrive in about an hour–yay!

  7. Welcome to Upstate NY! I’ve lived here…well forever basically except when I went to ‘western NY’ (south of Buffalo) for college. Good luck with getting the rest of your house together after the move and I hope you have a great week with your goals! 🙂

    1. Thanks for the solid vote for upstate New York, Kat! It helps to know that people like it well enough to stay here. I’m certainly liking it so far. And thank you for the encouragement on the goals; I am looking forward to some time in the bright, sunny, study!

Please leave a reply

