ROW80

Check-in April 4 Return to blogging

My only goal this Round is to write a test mile of 250 words a day.  So far, so good.  I have written over 800 words in the past two days, parts of two blog posts, one of which I will post on my lunch break today.

What have I learned: I’ve learned that sometimes the words don’t want to come.  I find that if I just rant about something, then I often find myself writing into the topic I had planned, or I find another subject that is interesting to me as well.

I’ve also learned, or rather, become re-acquainted with my magpie nature.  I have been researching topics for an article I need to write for the day job; I can write about anything in the realm of medieval literature, which leads to my problem.  I think of one topic, go grab some books, and find ten more topics in the books.  It has been a constant flow of “Ooh, shiny!’  The bad part is that I would be long retired if I wrote all the articles that grab me; the good part is that I am finding creative ideas as well.  Although the creative “ooh, shiny” is frustrating, I know that I can at least follow some of those leads.

So, all in all, a good start to the round.  Thanks for stopping by, and please go encourage everyone else here.

13 thoughts on “Check-in April 4 Return to blogging”

  1. Grab yourself those 250 words, lady! And good luck on reining in the magpie. I have her in my astrological chart too, even though she doesn’t exist …

    1. I am grabbing gratefully those 250 words, Ruth! They come slow, but hey, the practice is what counts. And oh, the magpie! I was supposed to be researching middle English works, but I found myself reading about Renaissance feminists. There’s just too much of interest out there! Thanks for stopping by. I hope you have a wonderful rest of the week.

    1. Ah, Robin, it feels so good to be writing again, after a few weeks of packing/unpacking/learning the day job. I have missed it! There is the small problem of setting the magpie loose in a library (flit. . . flit . . . flit) but as long as I can keep the creative juices flowing, I’m happy. Have a lovely rest of the week!

    1. Thanks, Darlene. You’ve said it perfectly–make it an attainable goal, and then keep at it until it can get bigger.

      I have to laugh. My husband just said that he likes me better when I write since I’m less grumpy! How’s that for motivation?!?

      Thanks for coming by. Have a great rest of the week!

  2. You’re off to a great start! LOL at the magpie. I understand. I have to physically stop my brain from wandering and then later allow it to look at new ideas. It doesn’t always work, but sometimes I can force tunnel vision on myself. Good luck with the rest of this week!

  3. The 250 word goal you chose is doable. We all have different word counts we feel comfortable with, and that’s what we need to choose. Then, when we write even more words, we feel great. 🙂

    I understand about the “ooh, shiny”. I think it happens to us all. LOL

    1. Absolutely, Lauralynn! I will eventually have more words to throw at ideas daily, but right now I’m enjoying going past the 250 word limit.

      There are several people who have owned up to the “ooh, shiny” syndrome. It helps to know I’m not alone!

Please leave a reply

