ROW80

Check-in April 11, 2012 Throwing Away Words!

It’s been a busy week at the day job.  I’ve come home to collapse on the couch, falling asleep by 8pm. It’s sad, but it’s not bad.  I still like the job and the atmosphere. More importantly, even though I am flattened by the end of the day, I am still getting the test mile written. Yay, me! True, most recently, it has been academic writing, but it comes from my research interests. I’m not counting the reports and other writing of the day job

I started writing the grant application on Sunday, and finished on Monday, thank goodness. I hate writing those things! Tuesday and Wednesday, I started to edit one of my articles, and thought the beginning was dry and boring, so I decided to trash the first several pages and start over. It may not sound like much of a decision to all of you, but trust me, for me to throw away any of my precious academic writing is huge. I felt that I could easily write better, and that I could edit and rewrite if it wasn’t better. How freeing, and how much like my creative writing. I find I have a different view of the academic writing now that I see the ways that what I learn about creative writing can help with it.

Today was full enough of grand poobah-ness that I may have to count this post as part of the test mile, but I’m feeling okay about that. I often exceed the word count, but the important part is forming the habit.

I will try to have some more interesting things to say on Sunday.  Have a great rest of the week, everyone, and as always, please go encourage the other ROWers here.

12 thoughts on “Check-in April 11, 2012 Throwing Away Words!”

  1. Sounds like you’ve had an exhausting but “full of win” week here, Elizabeth. Somedays, even getting the test-mile done can be considered a success. And sometimes, admitting that something isn’t working and being able to step awy from it completely is the biggest ‘win’ of all. Get some rest. You’ve earned it.

    1. Thank you for the encouragement, Eden. I ended up taking a break to get the house ready for my sons’ return. As for throwing away words, I was so wedded to the way I’d written the introduction, I couldn’t step back to see it properly. I’m ready for my rest, now 😉

      1. When your sons come home…. Well, you didn’t become a writer because you wanted things to be boring. How else could you write with convincing intensity?

        And as for the old paper? I suspect it will end up just fine with the new improved style.

      2. Ah, too true! Truly, I’m excited to have them home for a while, and looking forward to going on campus visits to various schools in NY. But boring–far from it.

        Thanks for the encouragement about the paper, Eden. I think you just might be right. 🙂

    1. Thank you, Shah. I sometimes feel caught on a speeding amusement ride, which isn’t amusing at all. I appreciate your caution about burn out–I’ve been there with other jobs and you’re right–it ain’t pretty. x

  2. Day jobs really do impeed on writing time, huh? I also wonder how we (as writers) can keep justifying running ourselves ragged. It’s like we’re all masochists or something.

    At any rate, good job making your test mile! I specifically told myself in my goals that I couldn’t use blog posts as words written, but I’m incredibly strict (cause otherwise I’ll never get anything done). Good luck making your goals for the rest of the week!

    1. Day jobs are such an impediment, but then they do pay the bills. Sigh. It’s also true, to read through the ROW80 check-ins, you’d think you’d stumbled into a masochists’ support group that was failing miserably.

      Thanks for stopping by, Dahnya. Have a wonderful week!

  3. Near the end of my academic career, I actually enjoyed reading my academic writing but it took an exploration of writing, really writing to lose what I thought was academic voice. Think I have some idea of what you felt tossing those pages, both sides of the emotion spectrum. In my opinion, it will be better, now.

    Best,
    Karen

    1. Thank you, Karen. I suspect you do know the spectrum of emotions. I think it will be better now, too. I was far too invested in how I had said things. It was time to work through the thoughts and pathways of the material again. Have a lovely week!

  4. Wow, what a week. I’m always late getting around to check-ins here lately, but better late than never, right? I hope your week has been productive. Looking forward to your Sunday. I need to find something interesting to post about, too. Technically, I just hit Sunday. Better get to thinking!

    1. It’s always good to see your comments, Tia, and much better late than never! The rest of the week was productive in different ways, but nearly just as fulfilling. I had to laugh at your being a day behind–when my kids were in school, any holiday threw me off, too. Have a great week, and thanks for dropping by!

Please leave a reply

