ROW80

Check-in May 6 Boxes, Sons, and Computers, Oh My!

I missed Wednesday’s check-in due to technical difficulties. Our internet router has been ailing since we moved; on Monday, it finally went to a better place.  After we installed the new router on Wednesday, the laptop decided to go crazy on Thursday. It decides to “panic,” which means a black screen rolls up with admonitions to shut down in six languages. It used to happen about once a week, but now it happens three or four times a day. Really? I mean, really?

I can write longhand—actually, I sometimes prefer it. I haven’t figured out how to make longhand digital yet, however. Also, the changes with having our sons here, even with their vampire schedules, have made writing difficult.  I did manage little snippets of planning, but on the whole, the week was spent on other things.

It was great to spend some time with them this week; they are pretty nice young men, if I do so say myself.  Dealing with the boxes that had to be moved out of their rooms—not so great.

What have I learned: I am deeply, intricately, and inextricably tied to technology.  I work on a computer all day long, and yet turn to one immediately in the evening. It has been a good thing to wean myself from it, even though I missed my connection with this group immensely.

Making room for my sons has shown me the allure of minimalism. I am discovering again what is important; things, even books (shocking, I know) are far down the list.

I dare not write too much as I never know when this laptop will “panic.”  I hope to have a new computer in about a week, sigh.  I’m hanging in there, though, and hope to be back soon!  In the meantime, please go encourage all the ROWers here

8 thoughts on “Check-in May 6 Boxes, Sons, and Computers, Oh My!”

  1. You can writing long handed digitally using a smart pen apparently? Never tried one but it’s pretty good by all accounts. I may have to have a go. Or you could use the latest version of Dragon Naturally Speaking – record what you want to write into a voice recorder and download it to your computer which will then magically interpret the recording and type it out while you do something else. All of these things do make me want to try them out. Either could free up time or change the way we right- for the better? I may have to. For now I just want to get things done. 🙂 I feel your pain re computers – My sony laptop constantly crashed so I got a MAC -(Dreamy machine, I adore you). Hope thing improve Elizabeth. 🙂 X

    http://wordsinsync.blogspot.com/2012/05/help-amediting-woes-more-book-cover.html

  2. I can’t imagine where I’d be without my technological link to the outside world. Mind you, it might make a great topic for my writing.

    Sons (and daughters) are pretty terrific. I helped Son #2 this past week get ready to officially begin his adult life. I dropped him at the airport yesterday to fly off to that life. Although he has been away at college for approx. eight months each of the past four years, this was different. I’m excited for him, a little sad for me and the rest of the family.

    Anyhoo, have a super terrific week.

    TTFN

  3. Ugh, computer problems! But a new machine soon, awesome 🙂 Glad to hear you’re enjoying the boys being home even if it mucks with your writing schedule at the moment, it will smooth out before you know it. Wishing you a fabulous week Elizabeth.

  4. Hey there, Elizabeth! Long time! I haven’t seen you on the check-in list this time…so I thought you were taking a round off. (shows how observant I am…Oy!) Anyway…glad you are moved…glad you enjoyed your sons’ company, too.

  5. I sympathize. Newly installed fans weren’t enough to keep my data drive alive. Several days of computer juggling have left me very discombobulated. But, it’s a a new week! Write longhand, plan, ruminate; come at it full force when all the tech has calmed down or been replaced. 😉

  6. Oh, Elizabeth,… Bleh! I wonder if we could do anything about that old machine (my laptop is going on eight years old now..).

    Sorry I cannot help with the boxes. I do sympathize. And yes, even books can become too much… That’s the glory of libraries (not to mention the ability for more people to share the pleasure).

    But the connection with your sons now… That sounds good. That sounds delightful. So glad for you. And about them being “pretty nice young men”…. that seems obvious given their roots. 🙂

    (Speaking of Shah’s comments: I do know there are some apps for tablet PCs that allow you to handwrite notes. I don’t know how they would work for essays. You have to “train” pretty much any program to recognize your personal style including Dragon, or the Smart pens… Staples does sell something that may work for you. I have been drooling over it, but a few things keep me from trying it. Maybe someday.)

  7. I know how it feels to be tied to technology. Sometimes I don’t like the fact that I’m on a computer at work and then again when I go home. I think it may be part of the reason that I really the energy of having been with good people to write.

    Writing longhand can bring out beautiful things in your writing that you weren’t aware were there. I hope that you are able to find a handwriting program for your computer to make it easier on you. I think it might bring a new dimension to your writing you weren’t aware of before.

    Good luck this week and Take Heart.

Please leave a reply

