ROW80

ROW80 Round 3 2012 Goals

With this post I announce my goals for the third round of A Round of Words in 80 Days, which is a writing challenge that “knows you have a life.”  Click here to read more about it from the creator of the challenge, Kait Nolan. My goals for ROW80 reflect what I have learned in the 3rd and 4th rounds of 2011.   Although I stumbled a bit during Round One 2012, during which I moved far too much stuff 1200 miles; and frittered and stammered through Round Two, which suffered from my adjustment to a new day job, I remain committed to this community of writers.

Although I declared myself a writer at the end of Round 4 in 2011, I didn’t quite walk the walk.  This Round, I want to take baby steps in several arenas.  I am going to return to the breakout of goals I did last year, which were writing, community, exercise, and family/friends.  My new day job certainly impacts my time, but happily, it does not drag me down like the one I left.  Thus, I’ve not included it or the writing involved with it in this list.  This list is all personal goals.

Writing:

  • I will write one page a day on each of the two fiction works that have bubbled to the top.  I may use 750 words for this, and throw in a page of blog posts or one of the other fiction ideas, but I’m not sure yet.
  • I will continue to refine my main author blog, which may involve combining the Lapidary Prose blog with Elizabeth Anne Mitchell.


Community:

  • As I’ve returned to being a sponsor, I will visit all my 8’s twice a week.
  • I will catch up with Facebook, Twitter, and my other sites for no more than an hour daily.
  • I will reply to all comments on my blogs.


Exercise:

  • Walk at least 5,000 steps a day, tracked by a pedometer.
  • Use the stairs going upstairs; if I want to, I can cheat going downstairs.


Personal:

  • I have let many dear friends fall off my radar these past few months.  I will stay in contact with the group daily, if only briefly, and weekly individually.
  • I will stay in better touch with my daughters on Facebook or by phone.  My sons are back home, so my only trouble connecting with them is that they have vampire schedules.
33 thoughts on “ROW80 Round 3 2012 Goals”

  1. Great goals, especially on your exercise. There was a study done in China or Japan that revealed great weight loss for those who walked at least 10,000 steps a day. I strive for that but I usually come in well under that. Good luck and keep us posted on your progress.

    1. Thank you, Jenny. When I worked in Florida, I walked with a colleague who managed 10,000 steps a day–I only did about half of that with her. I spent the last three weeks in a walking cast, so I’m starting back slowly, but I would like to get to 10,000. I’m glad to know it may pay off in losing weight as well! I appreciate your encouragement, and I definitely plan to keep up with the check-ins. 🙂

  2. Nice breakdown into categories – hopefully with equal weight.
    My first ROW80 was this year – Round 1. Modest goals, did well.
    Round 2 – added more to the list – over-reached, too many misses.
    Round 3 – will be a balance between the two I hope. And a balance in categories.

    1. Thanks, Mike. I did this sort of breakdown with the last two Rounds of 2011, with good success. Round 2 this year really fell apart for me–I wish I could blame the move and the new day job, but it was really just me. I’m interested to see how you balance your goals–it’s always good to see how others balance things. Thanks for coming by.

  3. Great goals. Glad to hear you are a sponsor this round. Round 2 kind of fell apart for me too. I’m working on getting it together for R3. Good luck with your goals and happy writing.

    1. Thanks for the encouragement, Robin. I’m happy to be back as a sponsor–I really missed it. You know, I think a lot of people had trouble in Round 2–I’m not sure why. I’m looking forward to seeing what you worked out for goals. Happy writing to you, too! 🙂

  4. Great goals, Elizabeth! I really should invest in a decent pedometer as well, I’m pretty sure I probably don’t get anywhere near the recommended number of steps in a day.

    1. Thanks, Emily. Round 2 went all pear-shaped for me, so I thought I’d best return to basics. Also, a pedometer is a good idea–even the better ones are not terribly expensive; I know that I never was calculating how many steps I was taking correctly on my own. The pedometer keeps me honest! 🙂

  5. I’ve always liked how you break your goals up! I’m taking this Round off but definitely think I’ll start applying a similar breakdown in prep for Round 4. I think I need to pick up a pedometer…I’m walking the dog but other than an approximate length of time I have no idea how well I’m doing, LOL

    Wishing you a fabulous Round Elizabeth!

    1. Thank you, Raelyn! I need to break things out, or I get distracted and forget things *blush*. I’ll miss you this Round, but look forward to seeing you around the blogosphere, and absolutely in Round 4. I definitely cannot judge how much I am walking, so the pedometer is a great help.

  6. I did the pedometer thing for a while. I live a far too sedentary life so need to do more. I hate exercise though. Show me a gym and I’ll run screaming in the direction of the spa 🙂 I have broken my goals like this from last round. I piled too much on though, and made gains in goals I’d not originally included. I’ve tried to be more sensible this round. I’m still asking a lot of myself, but I don’t mind falling short too much. It’s having no goals at all which leaves me floating without focus to a cloud in the sky names Nowhere.

    Best of luck. Hope I’m one of your 8’s. X

    1. I’m far too sedentary, too, Shah. I found that I do not walk anywhere near as far as I thought! I agree, I’d rather fall short of a goal or two, rather than pretend I can keep plugging without any goals. I don’t go anywhere, and I might as well accept that I need the accountability. 🙂 Have a great weekend, Shah! x

    1. Thanks, Nadja.I have to gear up slowly after falling off the wagon, so that I don’t get dragged along behind! I see it somewhat like typing–one worries about hitting the right keys, then works to up the speed. I’m glad to know you’ll be lurking 🙂

  7. Excellent goals and measurable. Some of mine are sort of vague.
    Why don’t you combine this page with your website? Wouldn’t that make it easier? I found you through your website…to lazy to find the row80 link. 🙂
    I’d love to be one of your 8’s as well. 🙂 I’m super new at the row80 thing.

    1. Thank you–I need very concrete goals, or I’ll quickly run off the road. I am thinking of combining all my blogs together, but haven’t mustered the know-how quite yet. I do think I’ll be combining at least one with the website, then this one would be next.

      Welcome to the ROW! It is a wonderful group. 🙂

  8. I always hate the thought of “walking the walk” but not “talking the talk” when it comes to writing. Kait’s post today make me feel a little more motivated than normal… but some days you just don’t have the energy to pick up the pen.

    Good luck to you this round!

    1. Thanks for coming by, Dahnya. I’m truly hoping to make a good start this Round, but here I am, responding three days later to comments *blush*. Ah well, sometimes it just takes a little longer, but as long as the trend is positive, I’m happy.

      Good luck to you, too! 🙂

    1. They really are vampires. My oldest is taking night classes, so I have to stay up late to see him at all. I think/hope that figuring out how to work around the day job got shaken out last Round. Writing is a survival tactic for me and all those around me! Good luck to you this round, J.R. 🙂

    1. Thanks, Tia, although in the spirit of full disclosure, I arrantly stole the one-page idea from L.S. Engler *blush*. I’m excited to hear about your working on your WIPs; while I love your blog, I am looking forward to your works! 🙂

  9. Your new goals sound great, Elizabeth! I love the way you break them down. I too had trouble with last round. I’m still not entirely moved, but I’ve added it all to my Round 3 goals lol! Here’s hoping for a productive and peaceful round!!

    1. Thanks, Lauren. I think everyone had trouble with Round 2–I don’t know what the heck it was, but I sure heard about a lot of struggles. Good idea to add moving to the goals–I’m still unpacking boxes from the garage–sort of a dismal Christmas, “Ooh, look at what I never needed to schlep 1200 miles!” I’ll join you in that wish for a peaceful and productive round! 🙂

  10. I love these goals – and the sense of where you are and want to be that so clearly inspired them!

    I’m not sure what exactly an eight is…but being one of yours would be lovely, i imagine!

    I, too, have let some friends fall by the wayside, and you are one of them…next weekend we will be camping in Plymouth, but then there will be some time before our next big trip, in August….seems we had a date with a bookstore…

    Hope to see you live soon, and will be back to see how you blossom into your goals!

    1. Thank you, Shan. I do feel very different from when I started ROW80 last July. Ah, the “eights”; that’s how the sponsors split up visiting participants–it’s the luck of the linky.

      We absolutely had a date with a bookstore. I hope you have a lovely time in Plymouth, and I look forward to seeing you live as well. 🙂

Please leave a reply

