Posted by: Elizabeth Anne Mitchell | July 5, 2012

ROW80: Day Late, Dollar Short

Um, I really had a good excuse for not checking in yesterday.  Really!  My oldest son started his first college (university if you are outside the US) classes on Monday; since he had yesterday off, he needed to catch up on all his homework, on the only computer in the house.  

Not even for my sanity would I have stood in his way–the child who despised school, never did his homework, and left ten minutes after he turned 18?  No way. I sat nearby, encouraged,  cheered, and proofread two papers (punctuation and grammar only).

So, how did I do?

Writing: I scribbled a bit–I started a blog post on how words hurt, which was founded on this blog post by Tia Bach.  I filled out a character questionnaire for one of my characters who just isn’t talking to me right now.  I hope to figure out why she’s giving me the silent treatment soon.  I wrote an outline of one scene in one work, and a scene in another work.  I will have a chance to refine them when I type them in.

As for the website/blogs transition, I had a comment asking why I didn’t put this blog on my website.  Excellent question, and one I need to think through.  Some ROWers have some horror stories about moving blogs; not being the handy type (I still use fountain pens, for Pete’s sake!), I’m terrified of mucking things up.

Community: I have a few more folks to visit, but I have been more active on FB and Twitter than in a long time.  I just caught up on replies to comments this evening, yay!

Exercise: Whew, 5,000 steps is more than I had thought.  I am slowly working toward 5,000 a day, but the ultimate goal is to get to 10,000.  I may have to walk the three miles from home to work to get that much in!  However, I am standing a lot more at work; I pace when I am on the phone, and stand when I work on the computer.

Personal: I’ve made good progress toward this goal as well.  I’m not as present as I would like to be, but the trend is positive.  I meant to call my daughters yesterday, but my phone was mistakenly taken off our account.  It’s almost funny, in a way.  My youngest son upgraded his phone, but the carrier turned off my phone and gave my phone number to him.  He was a bit freaked out when all my phone calls and text messages started showing up on his phone.  Now that I have my phone back, I’ll be talking to the daughters this weekend.

So, not perfect by a long shot, but a good measure of where I have to work harder.  I’m finding my stride, and am happy to be back.

Welcome to my new followers, John Holton, L-Jay Health, Tia BachKnow Your Why and C. Dewar. I’m glad you’re here!  Also, please go encourage all the ROWers here.

Responses

  1. Just curious: I saw where you have two blogs. this one and Lapidary Prose, and you have your site over at SheWrites.com. Are you looking to merge the two blogs and move them to SheWrites, or to another website?

    • Ah, John, I set up an author website (http://elizabethannemitchell.com) as well. I’ve reblogged some things there, but haven’t really taken the leap to merge this blog and Lapidary Prose with it. I just need to jump in, I guess. 🙂

  2. It sounds like a good start, with generosity and humor to accompany it.

    It’s nearly 4am. I just stopped reading here to draw a horse in the picture of grass Lise just brought me, “your best cross-country horse, Mom”.

    Perhaps your character is just distracted right now?

    • I love “your best cross-country horse”! And yes, I think, after some pondering and communing with my character, she is in the throes of figuring out what she wants to do with her life–not that such a thing would sound familiar to me at all!

  3. It sounds like a great first week for the Round. Sometimes slow and steady is the key. You might want to look at Marcy Kennedy’s blog as she has a some posts on how to move blogs, self-hosting, etc. that are nicely laid out step-by-step. Good luck 🙂

    • Thanks for pointing me to Marcy’s blog, Raelyn. I think I just need to take the plunge! I am also continuing the slow and steady–it seems to be working well for me so far. And thank you for stopping by! 🙂


Please leave a reply

Categories

