Posted by: Elizabeth Anne Mitchell | July 22, 2012

July 22 check-in A Short Sprint

This was a great weekend on a lot of fronts, yay!  It followed a couple of days of being sick, so double yay! It seems that the fridge in our rental home was not cooling as it should, but we didn’t realize it in time to save ourselves from eating things that had gone bad.  Thursday night, I was feeling very rough; Friday I went to work feeling only slightly better. I found out I have several lovely colleagues, who offered help; one offered a home remedy, which worked quite well, and another who was headed out to a doctor’s appointment asked if I needed anything from the pharmacy.  I was touched and grateful–I haven’t worked in a place like this for far too long.

Writing: I took one of WANA international’s courses, From Story to Idea, with Donna Newton on Saturday, so I was glad I felt better by the time it happened.  It was such a helpful course, in that Donna put together a lot of puzzle pieces that I had been staring at without seeing the bigger picture.  I had several aha! moments, and got some wonderful ideas about organizing a longer work.  I’ve never written any fiction longer than a novella, so I was worried about approaching a novel. I spent some time both yesterday and today putting some of Donna’s suggestions in place.

Community: I’m still working on this goal.  I am doing all right on the sponsorship duties, but have only lurked on several blogs that I tend to follow.  Baby steps, though.

Health/Exercise: Being sick put a crimp in eating anything, although it did help my hydration! Ihave slowly been walking a bit more–not up to 10,000 steps a day, but getting better.  I like our neighborhood in that we walk to a lot of shops.  I want to walk the dogs, but they need a little bit of socialization.  Our Weimaraner is very protective, especially of me if I’m alone, so it’s tricky to walk him in an urban neighborhood.  It’s a work in progress.

It’s cooling off more at night here, and that is helping me sleep, thank goodness.

Personal:  Despite being ill, he past few days have very good personally.  Friday was my husband’s birthday.  We all walked up to a nice restaurant a few blocks away.  All the men in the family had recovered enough to have nice meals, so I enjoyed hanging out with them while drinking water and peppermint tea.

The three of them had a boys’ night out to see a movie, while I stayed home and wrote.  I also spent some one-on-one time with each of them, once I felt better. Both of them needed to talk about the massacre in Aurora.  It will take a long time for any of us to work through the emotions that incident evoked. My thoughts are with the victims’ families and friends.

The participants in  the Round of Words are a diverse, interesting group. They would appreciate some encouragement here.

Responses

  1. Sorry to hear you were sick!! I’m glad you’re feeling better though. Good for you for actually getting things accomplished while feeling like crud. Hope this week is even better 😀

    • Thanks, Lauren. Luckily. food poisoning passes quickly, but it certainly is nasty while it stays! I’m very proud of getting anything done, so thank you for your kind words. I’m looking forward to using some of what I learned this week. I hope you have a wonderful week! 🙂

  2. Hi Elizabeth, I’m really glad you worked out the cause of the food poisoning. That’s scary! I had not considered fridge temperature, you tend to just take that for granted until your ice cream won’t freeze… Great to see you gained so much inspiration out of Donna’s course. I hope the weather cools further, life becomes more cruisy and that you continue your writing journey with joy.

    Cheers, Cate (ROW80)

    • Thanks for stopping by, Cate. I wouldn’t have thought to check the fridge temperature either, but my husband is more attuned to that. He was concerned that his insulin wasn’t being kept cool enough, so he checked the temperature.

      I’m really stoked about putting what I learned into play. I hope you have a wonderful week! 🙂

      • Insulin! Thank God you didn’t cop a worse outcome than you’ve already suffered.

        Have an excellent week too. I am trying to focus on writing blog posts today. Trying. 🙂

      • I know, Cate! It could have been far worse. I hope your week is going well. There are times when I am just so uninspired to write blog posts. I truly have about ten in various drafts *blush*.

      • Elizabeth, that’s normal! 🙂 I have a folder of bits and pieces. Some days I look at it and think “yeah!!!!!” other days it’s, “why bother?” Creative energy levels ebb and flow like any other energy level. Some days, I just need that push to get going.

      • Thank you, Cate. It’s good to know I’m not alone, sailing through the swells of creative energy. 🙂

  3. Love that your pushing the exercise dispite being ill. I have to push myself in that department now and hate it. And you’ve took and course and wrote too – excellent advancement, esp under the circumstances. X

    • Shah, thanks for coming by and commenting, especially given all that is going on in your life these days. I hate doing exercise, so I try to sneak it into daily life, where it isn’t as noticeable. I hope you have a calm week ahead. 🙂


Please leave a reply

Categories

