ROW80

July 25th check-in Slight Course Corrections

It has been a contemplative beginning to the week, which I will further explain below in the goals. Although I am feeling somewhat overcome by everything on my plate, I have made baby steps in getting organized.  Fueled by a need to find my son’s immunization records for college, I decided to attack the garage.  In somewhat of a hoarder’s Christmas, I found most of the files I had so carefully set up many moons ago.  I set up the rolling file and can see being able to find important documents in the near future.  It makes my librarian heart glad.

Writing:  I decided to change direction after taking the class last Saturday.  I have been wanting to write about a particular character for a long time–shockingly since the summer of 1985, without ever thinking it would work.  I wrote a very short flash fiction about this character last year, and got some good criticism from the few people who commented on it. Once I got a tiny bit of encouragement, I started thinking about the character more, at odd moments and in dreams.  I kept working on other stories, because I was still quite unsure that I had enough to make it work.  Now I’ve gotten more encouragement, and have been putting a lot of thought into it.  I’m teetering on the edge of the high-dive, scared of failing, scared of succeeding, but more than anything wanting to try.

Community: I’m not progressing as I would like on this front.  I am keeping up with my sponsor duties, but I have not been very active with my on-line or real-life friends.  I’m in cave mode, which I want to change.  In the Myers-Briggs continuum, I am on the cusp of Introvert and Extrovert.  I need both alone time and social time.  I find it hard to find the correct balance.  I loved Jess Witkins’ sponsor post for expressing that need for alone time so well.

Health/Exercise: It is far too easy for me to cut corners here.  I have an extremely sedentary day job; the last thing I need  is to sit at a computer the rest of the time.  That is the extrovert side of me, which needs to be out among people, finding the connections that are so vital to making the characters feel alive and real. I hope that the need to get out of the house will help me get some walking done.

Personal: I have also decided that finding a balance among all the responsibilities, needs, and desires I have is the most important goal for the rest of the Round.  I am very busy, but there are so many other busy people on the ROW, I hope to learn some strategies from them.

Please encourage some ROWers who can be found here

14 thoughts on “July 25th check-in Slight Course Corrections”

  1. Go for it! If you’ve had ideas about this character for a long time and they haven’t gone away then the ideas must have staying power; so they must be good! Trust yourself and believe in how great you can be! I know you have it in you Elizabeth! I am a psychic and I can feel your power!

    1. Thank you, Janet. I greatly appreciate your intuition about me, as well. I want to make a vision board, so I can have a visual reminder of where I want to go and where my dreams will take me.

      Thank you for the encouragement; I have a good feeling about this novel, and I am going to trust myself. I hope you have a wonderful week.

      1. The vision board is a great idea; I have one but it needs updating a bit. I don’t want to tell you want to do but there is a spell which is great for getting rid of negativity which I’m going to recommend for you. You only need a pen and paper and a box of matches. You write down on the paper what you think your worst negative quality is and then you set fire to the paper (this must be done outside!) and let the wind carry the paper away. Or you can just burn it and scatter the ashes to the wind, whatever works best for you. As you do this imagine the dark negative thoughts draining out of your feet and the white light of positive thoughts pouring into your head and down you body until you’re filled with light. Hope this works for you.

      2. Thank you for the suggestion, Janet. I was initially going to say that I have a lot of negativity, but truthfully, I think that getting rid of my worst negative quality would help greatly. I will let you know how it goes.

  2. Summer of ’85? Ah… I remember it well! Sometimes the characters that percolate for a while tend to be the best. They take on lives of their own.

    I read something about introverts and extroverts recently, and I can’t remember most of it… but I do remember another blogger mentioning that although she considered herself an extrovert, she was really an introvert at heart. Looking at her life, she realized that although she enjoyed going out with friends and to parties and such, she only wanted to do it for a short time, and then come home. I feel the same way. Yes, please, give me a social life where I can be with people, but then let me come home to my cave and hide away.

    My hint for balance? It’s not going to happen day by day. Think of it as a year at a time. For example, if you’re one who does NaNoWriMo in November, that means much of your time in November is spent writing. Another week, another month, you might find yourself putting more of your energy into something else. Well, perhaps a year is too big a chunk… but a day is too small to fit “a little bit of everything.”

    1. Thank you for coming by and commenting, AmyBeth. You describe me exactly as an introvert who needs to go out with friends, then to retreat to my cave. Exactly, lol.

      Your hint is a very good one. I always try to break up each day, and I end up feeling fragmented and frustrated. I am going to try a longer term plan–a very smart suggestion. Thank you! I hope you have a lovely week.

  3. I don’t know if I should mention or not that if the character came about in the Summer of ’85, that character’s almost as old as I am. I feel like a wee babe now. But you should definitely go for it. I’ve been working on one of my WIPs for ten years now, myself, so sometimes, the best stories just take the longest time to grow, and something really amazing will come out of it. And my own strategy for balance (for what it’s worth, since I haven’t had much luck with it myself lately): just don’t stress about not getting something done. Three’s always tomorrow and, if there isn’t….then we’ll have much bigger things to worry about than RoW goals. ; )

    Keep up the awesome work, Elizabeth! And I promise, I really am going to get back to you about that guest post…eventually…ahem.

    1. Ah, it’s okay, L.S.! After the initial shock, I wasn’t really surprised that you are the same age as my character–well, actually she was born in the mid-fourteenth century, but she came to life for me in 1985. I agree with you that the best stories take a long time; it’s hard to process all the pain and dark places those characters come from.

      Thank you for the suggestion about balance. Stress doesn’t help. One thing I’m trying is to just write down a couple of things that are quick to do–make a doctor’s appointment, for example–and a couple of long-term things that I just want to spend a little bit of time on. AmyBeth has a great suggestion in her comment, too. I’m going to try that as well.

      Regarding the guest post, I am here, and not going anywhere. I’ll be glad to post it anytime you want to write it. Let me know if there’s anything I can do to help. 🙂

  4. Of course you know I am going to tell you to “go for it” regarding your character… Truth be told, the characters that I writer about all started coming to me through stories that Shan and I traded with each other during high school (yes, around 1985, since that would have been our sophomore year). Those stories are not only still growing and evolving, the characters in them have done amazing things.

    I bet yours has too.

    Immunization records! Oh, my! Exactly one of the things that has limited me from finishing my SUNY application… Glad you were able to put your hands on it in somewhat short order.

    Good luck to you on the rest. I wish I could say something encouraging about the community part, but really, I’m hermiting too.

    1. Thanks, Eden. This character certainly has been on the back burner for a long time, but yes, she has evolved a lot.

      I hate when I can’t keep track of important documents. I hope you can finish your application; it would be awful if you couldn’t move ahead on that.

      I hope that we can both find a way to balance the hermit and the social fields. Have a great week!

  5. Definitely go for it!! If you can’t stop thinking about it, then I’m sure others won’t be able to stop reading about it. Finding balance is really hard. As elementary as it sounds, when I get overwhelmed by things like this, I usually find that I have to stop multitasking. I time block my day, only doing one thing at a time, and choosing only what will fit in each day until I get faster at everything and I’ve relaxed and can start multitasking again. It’s the only way I know to pull myself out of that whole LOL. Good luck with everything, and have a great rest of the week!

    1. Thank you, Lauren; I appreciate your confidence that it would be a compelling story.

      I also appreciate your suggestions on not multitasking and time blocking your day. I am going to try to make a short list and not overschedule myself. I hope you have a lovely week, Lauren.

Please leave a reply

