ROW80

August 5, 2012 check-in Tidying and Organizing

I’ve been concentrating on organizing and planning the past few days, so there’s not a lot to report.  I am always amazed at how long it can take to get things back under control.  I’m rather bummed that it isn’t going more quickly, but I need to concentrate on the positives, which is further efficiency and better organization.

I also have been continuing the planning of the novel.  I am really enjoying working on it, although I know it is early days yet.  I sent my logline off to get a critique of it; I’ve fleshed out the antagonist and am outlining the scenes..

Today my younger son and I went to see “The Dark Knight Rises.”  We had a late lunch afterwards and had a long conversation critiquing the movie.  It was very nice to have the time with him.

My apologies for the brevity of this check-in; as always, please consider visiting some of the ROW80 participants here

10 thoughts on “August 5, 2012 check-in Tidying and Organizing”

    1. Thanks, Mike. You’ve a good point, in that I have not fallen off the wagon. Ah, yes, you are one of those NaNo folks. I could not do NaNo if I had a gun to my head, so you have this tortoise’s admiration. Have a lovely week!

  1. I can’t wait ti see The Dark Night Rises! Loving the past two Batman movies the best, and I know this will be great too. You sound very organised in regards to your next novel. I need to get organised (although it really isn’t in my nature!). Best of luck for the week. X

    1. Thank you, Shah! I blush that I am so behind on replying to comments! My son didn’t think the third movie was as good as the second, but we both felt it was very good.

      Ha, being organized is not in my nature either, although that is the essence of my day job! I hope you have a lovely week, Shah! xx

  2. Brief check-ins are my favorite to write LOL!! I always start out trying to be brief, and I never know how it’s going to turn out. Good work keeping up with everything. Glad you enjoyed the movie 🙂

  3. I’ve been doing that organizing and tidying thing, too. And I’m also going quite slowly with it. I have a theory about this. I think if I take my time, do tiny bits at a time, and really think through where I’m going to put things, if I’m going to keep them, etc., then I have a better chance of being able to keep things organized and tidy after I’m done. I think a more hurried approach can leave you with things that don’t work as well as you’d like them to. So I think slow is good!

    Sounds like great progress on the novel planning. Glad you’re enjoying it. We love this stuff! It should be fun, right? 🙂

    1. I agree completely, Kim. I know that when I hurry through organizing, I can never remember the logic behind it. Thanks for the encouragement about the novel–it should be fun but often is work. I’ve been following with great interest your work with Tia Bach–that sounds very helpful!

  4. Interesting post! What tools do you use to organize your story? I just read an article by a professional time management consultant who said we cut hours of doodling off by using well organized files (and a filing system). Tenacity! Perseverance! Write on!

    1. Thanks, Beth–the time management consultant sounds right to me. I know that I waste so much time looking for things, it is ridiculous.

      I am using hints that I learned in a WANA international class about conflict and goal; scene and sequel. A friend of mine, Nadja Notariani, has used K. M. Weiland’s Outlining your Novel and recommends it. I don’t use any particular writer’s software–I’m mostly winging it that way.

      Thank you for the encouragement! 🙂

Please leave a reply

