ROW80

August 12 Check-in Trips, Dreams, and Day Jobs

I was away all weekend, but still managed to get some things accomplished, so I am feeling rather proud of myself.  

We took a trip to check out the campus at SUNY Plattsburgh, which is on Lake Champlain, close to the Canadian border. I must admit that my near-complete ignorance of New York State was in full flower.  The sign announcing that we were entering Adirondack State Park also mentioned that it is 6 million acres.  Six million?  I didn’t think there was a state park that big east of Montana.  I was also amazed at how beautiful a drive it is up through upstate New York.  It was stunning.  

My husband has been wanting to return to his dream of photography in more depth than he has been able to do in recent years.  I finally convinced him to buy an entry-level, better than point-and-shoot, good-amateur camera.  He was happily playing with all the bells and whistles during the trip.  It was very nice to see him one step closer to his dream.  I hope he will upload the pictures soon so I can use them! I plan to ask him to put them up on the WANA commons site so they will be available for everyone’s use.

We stopped on the way at Fort Ticonderoga, which is at the southern end of Lake Champlain.  I am an avowed history geek, so I had a lot of fun reading about its founding in 1755 by the French, and Ethan Allen defending the fort in 1775. The men were more interested in the guns and swords exhibit there, but that’s okay.  There was a flintlock demonstration, too, seconds before a noisy thunderstorm rolled up and drove us all inside.

Writing: I heard back about my logline, and it was closer than I expected.  Not perfect, but not bad, so I’m pleased about that news as well.  The next step is to continue to flesh out the antagonist to a point where I am comfortable sending that off for vetting.  It’s still happening–and I am still pinching myself!

The day job threw me a loop at the end of last week, but I’m endeavoring not to panic.  Although I knew that my “shall-we-keep-her or shall-we-cast-her-into-the-darkness” evaluation was coming up soon, it is going to happen even more quickly than I thought.  Sigh.  I do not want to stress, but I have to admit, it is slightly stressful.  More to the point, I will have to spend more time on academic writing in the near future than I had hoped.  Again, sigh. I know it means nothing more than having to work smarter, goof off a little less, and perhaps lose a little bit more sleep. but having made the commitment to work on the novel after all this time, it feels like two steps forward, one step back.

However, I will not sink into the doldrums.  I know I am not alone in facing the day job conundrum.  I also have a wonderful support group here and among all my other friends.

If any of you are so inclined, I’d appreciate your support of the other ROWers who can be found here.

 

6 thoughts on “August 12 Check-in Trips, Dreams, and Day Jobs”

  1. Hoping the day-job review goes better than expected and stress can be relieved. 😉 Excellent job on putting your work out there and getting back some positive input.

    My family used to live in Clifton Park, NY (near Albany). I was amazed, too, how beautiful the area was (they had a boat at Lake George, so gorgeous).

    Hope you have an excellent row-ing week!

    1. Thank you, Tia. To be honest, I’ll find something else to stress about, but I do hope to put this particular stress behind me.

      It was *so* great to get some positive feedback. I was very grateful to get the constructive criticism, and even more pumped to get the encouragement.

      And I know where Clifton Park is! Lake George is stunning this time of year; I had no idea how much of upstate New York is filled with green hills and lakes.

      I hope you have a wonderful rest of the week!

  2. It sounds like you had a good trip!

    The day jobs always get in the way of writing. I wish I didn’t have to have one. But it’s a necessary evil right now, and I don’t hate my job, so….

    Good luck on the evaluation!

    1. Thanks, Lauralynn, it was a very nice trip. Um, the day jobs really do inhibit the muse, but as you say, they are a necessary evil, lol. I don’t hate mine, so I need to adjust around it. Thanks for the good wishes on the evaluation. I hope you have a lovely rest of the week.

  3. I haven’t been to NY either! I’d love to go. It sounds like you had a lovely trip. Thank your hubby in advance for the WANA pics!

    Best wishes on shaping your story based on the feedback you are getting. It’s always nice to have another set of eyes. Have a marvelous ROW80!

    1. Thanks for stopping by, Julie. It was a wonderful trip. I will thank my hubby, definitely. He took some very nice pictures.

      Thanks for the good wishes. It is so exciting to get constructive feedback *and* positive encouragement to keep going. It definitely helps to have someone not as close to it evaluate it.

      I hope you have a fantastic ROW!

Please leave a reply

