Posted by: Elizabeth Anne Mitchell | August 19, 2012

August 19th Slow Renewal

First, I want to thank everyone who offered suggestions, commiserated with me, and shared their own stories of feeling the summer blahs. It did help to hear from all of you. A chat with a dear friend of mine also helped, as she has seen my ups-and-downs for several years now.

Several suggestions were made to switch up the writing scene, notably by Shah and Laura. Michael gave a great suggestion to get up early, which I had let slide this summer.  I finally dug out my fountain pens (I know, but whatever works, right?), and pulled out the paper.  It has been slow going, but it is going.

I had to work yesterday. I planned on being in for four hours, but it ended up being more like seven.  I didn’t get anything earth-shattering done, but it was good to spend the time filing, recycling, organizing. I know I will miss the time off, but it seemed to help to clear away some of the cobwebs as well.

Jennette Marie Powell had a post on burn-out that sounded all too familiar to me.  She linked to Louise Behiel’s post,  which really made me sit up straight in the chair.  Everything in my life has changed in the past six months:  cross-country move, new job, sons coming back home, this new wonderful writer that I’ve unearthed from the clay of the old life, problems with parents’ and mother-in-law, health problems with my birth family and in my own family.  I took a test that Louise linked to, and nearly pegged the chart, and that is just the day job.

The topper for today was to read Jenny Hansen’s post on grief.  I just seem to be reading things that slap me in the face lately.  I often say I’m too busy for grief, but I have been fooling myself. I said on Wednesday that maybe I’m not hungry enough to be a writer.  I don’t have the answer to that yet, but I do feel the pull of writing. This time I can’t shelve it again the way I did for so many years.  I need it. The past couple of weeks have been full of family problems, revelations, bad health, and not very bright futures.  Although I want to hide from all the pain, it is best that I face it and write through it.

I don’t have much to offer, but I am writing it all–the bad, the ugly, the hurtful, the sad.  I have no idea what I will do with it all, but I can’t keep it in.  Some of it may show up on the blog, some of it may not.  I have been heartened by the friendship offered me here, so I doubt I will go completely dark.  All of you are welcome to come poke me if I do.

I have gained many followers in the past couple of weeks. Welcome to LightningPen; Vergielyn  ; HCMFMovement  ; TheBetterManProject  ; Dianne  ; and EbookWorldMag

Finally, please give your support and encouragement to the other ROWers who can be found here.

Responses

  1. Sometimes progress seems annoyingly slow – but it still is progress. Hang in there and keep writing, whether for a story, a blog post, or even just to get the words down for your own viewing only.

    • Thank you, Mike. I’m doing exactly that, and endeavoring not to worry about the amount of progress, as long as some progress is happening. I appreciate the suggestion and the encouragement.

  2. Thanks for the shout out. I’m glad the test turned on some lights. It’s scary how we can be in the midst of something and not recognize it. Having got through my summer of nothingness, I can attest that it does end.

    As far as the writing goes, I stopped for 3 years but here I am again, writing like crazy. If it’s part of you it will pull (or life will pull you back) and then you’ll be back in the midst of it. When I shut down this summer, writing was one thing I could do. so i did it. I’m sure you will find your answers too. You’re too willing not to find them.

    • I’m glad to point folks to your post, and your blog. I appreciate your encouragement that it will end, and your confidence that I will find the answers. I hope you have a lovely rest of the week.

  3. Writing can really help get those emotions out in the open. Even if you’re writing just for yourself. Or you can share with others on your blog. Whatever feels right. But write it out! *hugs*

    • Thank you for the hugs, Lauralynn! I am writing, and as painful as it is, I believe it is helping. I am grateful for the encouragement, as well. *hug*

  4. Go, Elizabeth, goooooooo!! I’m so glad you’re writing it all out. That is the best, most awesome thing you can do. And when you get to the other side and look at all of it, you’ll say “WOW! Look what *I* did.”

    Thanks for the shout-out to my grief post. It was hard to write but the response is helping to push me onward. Yours will too.

    • Ha, thank you, Jenny. I am writing it, through the tears and the grief and the hopelessness, and it is helping. I am happy to send people to your blog, Jenny; the responses to that post clearly show how many people you touched and helped.

      I appreciate the encouragement; I think you are right. I hope you have a wonderful rest of the week.

  5. I can thoroughly relate to burn out. I’m glad you have such great writing friends to help pull you out of it!
    My normal writing time is early in the morning, right before my day gets started. My kids are early risers, so I have a 5AM rise time. Hopefully, you could consider something like 6 or 7. 🙂 There is something wonderful about writing at the start of the day.

    • Ah, Kate, I remember well the stolen hours before the kids get up. Mine are now 19 and 20, and fine vampires they are, getting up at 3pm this summer! I got up early for a long time, but drifted away from it this summer. I am now making my way back to a 5am start, since I need to be at the day job about 8am. I agree that the early morning writing is somehow magical–the hush, the crisp air, the lack of distractions. Thank you for stopping by!

  6. What I love about reading your posts is your raw honesty and then willingness to share what you learned. Summer’s been a tough writing time for me, and I so related to you saying you have a pull but not the hunger. I love writing and also feel pulled, but focus and balance tend to throw off the hunger. ;-(

    Thanks for sharing with us!

    (I am reading blogs and avoiding writing my own ROW80 post. Not sure why, but can’t even bring myself to write it. I’ll get up tomorrow and write a late one and see if fresh perspective will help me figure it out.)

    • Thank you so much for your kind words, Tia. Your point that focus and balance throw off the hunger lit the light bulb for me–you’re spot on. I still want to write (and thank goodness, have returned to it), but am just blocked by life. My academic writing group calls it OBE–overcome by events.

      I completely hear you on the ROW80 posts. Sometimes we need to turn to the interior; I’m sure you’ll return to the exterior. I hope you have a lovely rest of the week.


Please leave a reply

Categories

