ROW80

August 26 check-in Slow Re-evaluation

I want to thank everyone for their support on my last check-in.  I didn’t plan for all that to pour out, but I suppose it needed to come out. I’m sure there will be more posts like that, not today, but soon. I was touched to tears by your support and encouragement.  Thank you.  

Kait’s check-in asked us to evaluate where we are with our goals.  I need to refine a bit, so here are the original goals, with refinements after each one:

Writing:

  • I will write one page a day on each of the two fiction works that have bubbled to the top.  I may use 750 words for this, and throw in a page of blog posts or one of the other fiction ideas, but I’m not sure yet. I’ve had to back off this goal, but I have been writing, so I’m not upset by it. I’ve been writing longhand recently, but I am spending at least half an hour a day, so that is something. Most of what I write is personal, but does help with some scenes in one of my works in progress.

  • I will continue to refine my main author blog, which may involve combining the Lapidary Prose blog with Elizabeth Anne Mitchell. This goal has just not happened yet, but I would like to keep it for the rest of the Round.  I think it is something I need to do.

Community:

  • As I’ve returned to being a sponsor, I will visit all my 8’s twice a week. I am keeping up with this goal.

  • I will catch up with Facebook, Twitter, and my other sites for no more than an hour daily. I have been keeping up with this goal.

  • I will reply to all comments on my blogs. Sometimes it takes me a few days, but I am keeping up with comments.

Exercise:

  • Walk at least 5,000 steps a day, tracked by a pedometer. Total fail. I have made perhaps 1,000 steps a day.  I will commit to getting to 2,000 steps by the end of the Round.

  • Use the stairs going upstairs; if I want to, I can cheat going downstairs. I’ve done pretty well at this goal.

Personal:

  • I have let many dear friends fall off my radar these past few months.  I will stay in contact with the group daily, if only briefly, and weekly individually. I have done rather well at this goal.

  • I will stay in better touch with my daughters on Facebook or by phone.  My sons are back home, so my only trouble connecting with them is that they have vampire schedules. So-so on the goal, but I am leaving it as it is for the rest of the Round.

Welcome to the blog, Kristal.

All of us would appreciate some encouragement.  Check out some of the ROWers here.
They are wonderful and interesting folks, great writers; give them a look.

8 thoughts on “August 26 check-in Slow Re-evaluation”

  1. Sometimes it needs to come out. That’s how we feel better, especially us writers. So what if the bulk of what you are writing is personal. It’s what you need. We have to do what we need before we do what we want. You’ll get to the point where you’ll do both. Just give it time and words. Keep that pen going. *hugs*

    1. Thanks for the hugs and the encouragement, Ryan. I think your point is spot on. We as writers deal with things by writing, and what the heck–all the literature says we throw away much of what we write, so why not work through things. I appreciate your stopping by and commenting. *hugs*

  2. Re-evaluation is good. It’s best to set goals you will reach, otherwise, it’s easy to become discouraged. Focus on the success you have had – and let the rest come as it will. Sit down and write…whether 100 words – or 1000. It’s words on the page. :} Remember, your writing is supposed to be a treat – a looked-forward-to-indulgance.

    All the best…and ((((hugs))))

    1. Thanks for the hugs and the encouragement, Nadja. I do need to cut myself some slack, don’t I? 🙂 I have a way of comparing myself to others, but then I try to remind myself of Natalie Hartford’s tagline on her blog–“be yourself, because everyone else is taken.” Thank you for pointing out that I should look at the successes, and keep writing.

      I appreciate your coming by, Nadja. All the best to you, and big hugs back!

  3. In my opinion, writers have to be true to themselves before they can be true to their stories. Sometimes this means opening up to others, and sometimes this is very difficult. You have all of our support for whatever you need to get off your chest.

    I’m new to this group, and don’t know everyone’s life stories yet, but I’ve read through your goals, and their modifications, and it looks like you really know what you’re doing. You’re owning up to your shortcomings, and you’re doing what you can when you can. I admire you a lot.

    I wish you the best of luck in the coming week, and thanks so much for stopping by my blog today!

    1. Thanks for coming by and commenting, Mike. Briefly, I’ve been hit rather hard by life and circumstances lately, so am writing it out. I am touched by your support, given how new you are to the group, but you certainly show the spirit of the group.

      I blush at your admiring me, but thank you just the same. I started ROW80 in July 2011, and have grown by leaps and bounds as a writer, well, even as a person, in the last 13 months. I’ve also wasted enough years of my life trying to be someone else to know who I am and not to compare my tortoise self to the hares among us.

      Best of luck to you, Mike, and it’s lovely to meet you.

  4. Hi Elizabeth, I’m really pleased to read that you’re moving forward and writing regularly and that the support has been a comfort to you. My thoughts and best wishes are with you and your family.

    Cheers, Cate (ROW80)

Please leave a reply

