Posted by: Elizabeth Anne Mitchell | September 5, 2012

September 5 Check-in Progressing

Things are pretty crazy in my life right now, so I will make this rather brief.

I have so many blog ideas, but I just can’t seem to find the energy to research them enough to post them.  Sigh.  I think I may start writing them as part of 750words and then slowly do the research.

However, the positive news is that I have made some progress on a couple of my goals.

I have written an hour a day, up from half an hour. I have written most of an interview with my antagonist (14th century French society), which has proved fascinating.  I’m nerd enough to know a lot about it, but there were still some surprises.

I have walked 5,000 steps a day, up from 1,000.

I’ve  done some sweeping out of cobwebs both at home and at the day job.  My personal life has been messy lately, some of which has been detailed in this blog. After the initial lethargy, I tend to busy myself with things I can control.  Writing helps, as does the organization of inanimate objects.

One thing I am planning that some of you will notice, is that I am going to shift from following your blogs by email to following by RSS.  I am not abandoning anyone, I promise.

I hope everyone is having a good week.

My goals are:


Writing:

  • I will write at least one half-hour a day. Updated to one hour a day.

  • I will continue to refine my main author blog, which may involve combining the Lapidary Prose blog with Elizabeth Anne Mitchell. Still not excited about this goal, but maybe soon.

Community:

  • As I’ve returned to being a sponsor, I will visit all my 8’s twice a week. Slowly, but yes, I’m doing it.

  • I will catch up with Facebook, Twitter, and my other sites for no more than an hour daily. I have been keeping up with this goal.

  • I will reply to all comments on my blogs. Again, slowly, but I am keeping up with comments.


Exercise:

  • Walk at least 1,000 steps a day, preferably 2,000, tracked by a pedometer. I got 5,000 steps 2 days in a row.

  • Use the stairs going upstairs; if I want to, I can cheat going downstairs. I’m now doing this, even for multiple stories at work, even when I *really* don’t want to do it, so I think it is now a habit.


Personal:

  • I have let many dear friends fall off my radar these past few months.  I will stay in contact with the group daily, if only briefly, and weekly individually. Still a fail at the individual contacts.  

  • I will stay in better touch with my daughters on Facebook or by phone.  My sons are back home, so my only trouble connecting with them is that they have vampire schedules. A little better this week. I have been able to spend some one-on-one time with each of the sons; I need to be better about the daughters.

 

 

Responses

  1. One of the writer skills I still struggle with is how to make good use of ideas when they flow too quickly, without losing my WIP. It is NOT an easy task, and I’ve had WIPs sit on the shelf waaaay too long while I chased a smaller work. I have to concentrate on finishing.

    • Oh, this problem sounds far too familiar, AmyBeth! I am such a magpie, I often chase the new shiny while the other thing I was working on sits unloved. I try to write down notes fully enough to be able to remember what the idea was, without getting sucked into the shiny new thing. Best of luck to us both on that!

  2. Hey, I’m loving your progress. I got out of my writing habits when I went on vacation and now I’m having a heck of a time starting up again. I may need to take your advice and start with a half hour a day till I get in a groove again. Thanks for some motivation, Elizabeth, and here’s rooting for your continued momentum!

    • Jess, it’s very easy for me to lose the habit. I did about three weeks of a half-hour, then took the plunge to an hour because I was starting to do more than the half-hour.
      I’m more than glad to give you some motivation, and thanks for the rooting!

  3. Well done on the progress!

  4. Sounds like you’re doing great. Upping your goals is admirable. I’m just struggling to keep with the ones I’m doing. Keep up the awesome work!

    • Thanks, Mike. I appreciate the praise, but I will say that I inched along for a very long time before finally deciding I had to putt or get off the green. I suspect you’ll get there, too! Have a great weekend 🙂

  5. Excited to see your main author blog come together. I tend to check in with you here in the meantime. I’m fascinated by your character interview. I’ve never done a formal one, but I talk to my characters all the time in my head. Wait, maybe I’ve shared too much. 😉

    Hope you have an excellent writing day and check in tomorrow. This round is wrapping up, and it was a tough one for me with summer and kid chaos. I’m looking forward to the next round and really rocking the goals!

    • Thanks, Tia. I want to make the main blog more professional-looking, so I may try some different things with it. It should be fun, so I’m not sure why I’ve been putting it off.

      Oh, I talk to my characters in my head all the time, too. This one became an interview because dear 14th-century convention refused to talk to me since I”m a woman (which fits well in my novel). So I had to invent a male persona to talk to this stubborn antagonist, while I sat prim and quiet, madly taking notes in the corner. And you thought you’d shared too much! 😀

      I know you’d had your struggles this round–here’s to both of us rocking the next round!

  6. It sounds like you’re doing well despite the personal challenges, Elizabeth. I hope this week is even better. All the very best!

    • Thank you for the encouragement and wishes for this week to be even better. I’m trying to take all the personal angst and transform it into words, So far, it seems to be working. I hope you have a lovely week!

      • I find working things out on paper – or the computer screen – to be a BIG help when I have to process what’s going on in my world and in my mind. I refer to journalling as rambling until I come across truth. I truly hope you have a lovely week as well. Thanks, Elizabeth.

      • “Rambling until I come across truth,” is a wonderful expression of journalling, Stephanie. I suspect that as writers we are used to wrangling emotions into words, so it is a safe place for us to work through difficult emotions. Thank you for stopping by.

      • One day I hope to go through my journals and copy the highlights and get rid of what I wouldn’t want anyone else to read.

        One lady I spoke with at the bookstore said she was going to be buried with her journals. :0)

      • Ha, I love it! The thought of someone reading through my journals does give me shivers! Have a wonderful rest of the week, Steph.

      • Thanks, Elizabeth. You too.

  7. […] I’m still motivated by you ROWers to make changes.  Elizabeth Anne Mitchell in particular gave me a good boot with her ROW update last week to make small changes for a bigger […]


Please leave a reply

Categories

