Posted by: Elizabeth Anne Mitchell | September 16, 2012

September 16 Check-in Barely Skimming the Treetops

Last check-in, I mentioned that I was addressing the picture problem.  Epic fail. My dear hubs pointed out to me that I just need to take the time to learn how to do things on the blog.  Um, is he new here?  He seems to have forgotten that he married Miss I-must-be-able-to-do-this perfectly-right-now.  But, dagnabit, he’s right.  I need to sit and tinker without worrying about how much time it is taking.  Hmm. Something to put on the goals for next Round, unless I figure the darn thing out before then. I’m still puttering on some draft posts, but have very little on paper to show for it.

On the personal front, my brother had a biopsy Wednesday, so I have not been sleeping particularly well, except in that ten minutes after I turn off the alarm clock in the morning.  I am concentrating on controlling what I can, and trying not to rail against what I cannot.

Although I am awash with ideas, I don’t seem able to plug them into an organization yet.  I’m trying to be gentle with myself, and just let things simmer and progress as they will. Realistically, this is one way that my muse works.  I thought about my master’s thesis for months, until I finally sat down to write it in three days.  I’d rather not go that direction, but I don’t worry about the simmering brain as much as I would had I not gone through the experience before.

I hope everyone has a wonderful, productive, fascinating, exciting week. The end of the round is upon us! Give a cheer to those in the  home stretch here.  

Writing:

  • I will write at least one half-hour a day. Updated to one hour a day. More thinking and planning than writing, but some progress.

  • I will continue to refine my main author blog, which may involve combining the Lapidary Prose blog with Elizabeth Anne Mitchell. This goal has progressed to the planning stages–it may happen yet this Round, or perhaps in the break between Rounds.

Community:

  • As I’ve returned to being a sponsor, I will visit all my 8’s twice a week. Slowly, but yes, I’m doing it.

  • I will catch up with Facebook, Twitter, and my other sites for no more than an hour daily. I have been keeping up with this goal.

  • I will reply to all comments on my blogs. Again, slowly, but I am keeping up with comments.

Exercise:

  • Walk at least 1,000 steps a day, preferably 2,000, tracked by a pedometer. Updated to 5,000, preferably 7,000.

  • Use the stairs going upstairs; if I want to, I can cheat going downstairs. Definitely a habit.  I don’t even think about it anymore.

Personal:

  • I have let many dear friends fall off my radar these past few months.  I will stay in contact with the group daily, if only briefly, and weekly individually. I’ve only lurked this past week.  I feel sad about it, but I’m tired of constantly being down and pulling others down with me.

  • I will stay in better touch with my daughters on Facebook or by phone.  My sons are back home, so my only trouble connecting with them is that they have vampire schedules. Very brief contact with one of my daughters. I’ve managed some one-on-one with the sons, but need to work on better communication with my daughters.


Responses

  1. It’s important to leave time for necessary things. It’s just that sometimes the necessary stuff is invisible and doesn’t seem _important_. (Good luck to your brother, btw.)

    • Thank you, Camille, especially for the good wishes for my brother. It is hard to remember that the invisible stuff is there, just maybe not on the shelf. Interestingly, we had that same chat on the academic writing group, saying that humanists tend to discount the research and synthesis that goes into writing. I appreciate your reminding me of that.

  2. Hoping for good news regarding your brother. Always hard to function on the normal levels when personal problems are stalking you, so don’t expect too much of yourself.

    Good luck with your goals, but don’t be too strict with yourself, ok? Worry is a killer of creativity, and sometimes we just have to accept that, and take care of ourselves and our loved ones. *hugs*

    • Thank you for the kind words, Ruth. We did receive good news, in that the mass is not cancer. I’ve pretty much gone to ground the last few days, and you were right, I didn’t get much done. *hugs back*

  3. Elizabeth, I have been finding that it’s super important to take time to have 20 quiet minutes to myself every day. I don’t always manage it, but I try and it makes me feel a little more settled, even if all I do is read.

    I’m so sorry about your worry for your brother. I hope you receive some amazing healthy news back very quickly so you can sleep easy again.

    Keep trucking along, every little thing you get done counts!

    • Thank you for your comment, Jenny. We finally heard back the good news that it is not cancer.

      Your idea of 20 quiet minutes is such a good one; if you can manage with a toddler, I should certainly be able to hide from my 19- and 20-year old, shouldn’t I?

  4. I’m sending a prayer for your brother.

    It sounds like you’re doing really well with your goals. Good luck with continuing your success…just don’t put too much pressure on yourself.

    • Thank you, Lauralynn. We did hear good news; my brother said he could feel all the prayers surrounding him. I’ve been taking it easy the past several days–just thinking and being. I think I needed the break.

  5. I do hope the news about your brother is good – worry is a great creativity dampener – time to be kind to yourself – all the best:)

    • Thank you, Alberta. I have been pretty easy on myself lately, and we now have heard the good news, so I can gird myself to get back to business!

  6. Praying that the news about your brother is good.

    I like your pedometer idea. I should try that! Best wishes with your story planning and blog revamping. It sounds like you have a lot on your plate, but you’re making excellent progress.

    • Thank you, Julie. Despite the doctor’s preliminary diagnosis, we heard back that it is not cancer.

      I could never track really how far I’d walked until I started using a pedometer. The funny thing is that for all the times I don’t walk as much as I thought, there are many times I walk farther than I thought.

      I took a break for a few days, but I kept thinking about the story and the blog revamp. Now to get back to work!


Please leave a reply

Categories

