Posted by: Elizabeth Anne Mitchell | March 31, 2013

ROW80 Goals for Round 2 2013

Writing, screen, Elizabeth Anne Mitchell,

Clutter free writing desk,

The following are my goals for the second Round of a Round of Words in 80 Days in 2013.  What is A Round of Words, or ROW80, as  participants like to call it? It is a writing challenge that “knows you have a life.”  Click here to read more about it from the creator of the challenge, Kait Nolan.

EDIT: Kait posted a challenge for this Round in the call for goals.  It is to be the best me possible, without comparing myself to anyone else.  Kait’s challenge leads to the same end as my goals, even though Kait’s post didn’t come out for several hours after I had posted.  It’s nice how life hands one these coincidences, isn’t it?

This Round, I am concentrating on self-care: of the person; the writer; the body; the spirit.

An added  mantra for the Round is minimize the unimportant in order to maximize the important. To that end, I am ridding myself of clutter, whether paper or electronic; concentrating on healthy habits of body and mind; and connecting rather than hibernating.

Writing:  One hour three times a week writing in the following order:

  • the academic article du jour
  • Morning Pages
  • Blog posts

Community: 

  • As a sponsor, I will visit my assigned blogs twice a week.
  • I will reply to all comments on my blogs within 2 days.
  • One non-blog related post per week on Facebook and Twitter. (Stolen, with extreme gratitude, from Raelyn Barclay)
  • One share, re-tweet, whatnot per week on Facebook and Twitter. (Stolen, as above)

Clutter: 

  • One hour three times a week at home going through paper detritus of modern life.
  • One hour three times a week going through electronic files–rename, delete, archive.

Health: 

  • Walk. Seriously. 30 minutes a day.
  • Follow-up on all the health issues.  Don’t want to? Sorry for ya. At least one issue per week
  • Family day, no working and time with family, one day per week. (Stolen from  Julie Glover  via Raelyn Barclay)

Reading:

  • Update Goodreads at least every other week. (Yes, stolen again from Raelyn Barclay).
  • List and report on what I’m reading, even the dry, academic stuff. (This idea is stolen from Lena Corazon, who shares her dissertation reading)

Please go check our some of the participants in this challenge here.

Responses

  1. Those are some good goals! Best of luck to you 😀

  2. Good, clear goals! I wish you every success. I may borrow a few of these ideas myself, for future rounds.

  3. I think perhaps one of my goals should be to spend LESS time on goodreads. I’m an addict. hahaha

    The desk looks good! Good luck with your goals and a more clutter free life!

  4. Good goals! I’d love to work on clutter too but I have to focus on writing ones this time and make better progress in this round.

  5. Love that clean desk! You’ve got some great goals, too – I’m trying to walk more often, and climb stairs!, every day also.

  6. Love your list! Given the thought you’ve put into it, I’ve no doubt you can accomplish these things. Wishing you a healthy, productive ROW80!

  7. I love your focus on self-care. I’m there with you! Including the part about needing to follow up on health issues. You have some great goals set up. And you are not alone!

  8. I probably am one of only a few that finds that clean desk a bit frightening… But a movement to “declutter”–I can get behind that. The detritus that we all acquire in our lives as we live them does more than just take space–it saps our energy and our spirits.

    Good move, Elizabeth. And your idea for “stealing” ideas… it’s not stolen when it was given to you.

  9. Great photo that reinforces that de-cluttering goal. I also liked how you so specifically and clearly laid out your goals for this round. May you enjoy the process and achieve all your goals!


Please leave a reply

Categories

