Posted by: Elizabeth Anne Mitchell | June 9, 2013

ROW80 Looking backward and forward

Kait asked how our first summer Round went this year. I did rather well on eliminating clutter in my environs, but not so much in my head.

I spent much of this Round with incipient panic fluttering at the back of my brain.  In the day job, I had taken on too many tasks to let them moderate and schedule themselves.  I need to schedule them, and force myself not to flit from task to task.  I do not multi-task, with the exception of knitting and watching TV.  Working on an annual report all morning, then switching to fiction at lunch, I realized that I don’t even adjacent-task very well.  I need a transition between the two, and have discovered culling a task from a list of ten-minute projects far better than jumping from one major project to another.

I plan to organize my writing ideas and projects for the next Round.  I have managed to corral the clutter of knitting and concomitant paper during this Round, but I have a solid ottoman-sized pile of papers to organize for writing. I still have to find all my writing books, which were swallowed by the gaping maw of the garage when we moved in March of 2012.  I have contemplated buying the Kindle versions, but have not yet pulled the trigger on that impulse.

How are all of you doing as we slide into home base in this Round?

Writing:

One hour three times.  On target by the end of the day here.

Although it took no writing, I did post a June Theme here and a Friday laugh here.

Community:

Visit my assigned blogs twice a week– I am still slightly behind, but am making progress.  Yay, me.

Reply to all comments–I spent some time yesterday replying to comments, making me feel all virtuous.  I still have more to do, but I’ve overcome the inertia.

Clutter:

One hour three times a week at home going through paper detritus of modern life–for the moment I have conquered the paper tiger.  I am changing this goal to filing important papers for one hour twice a week.

One hour three times a week going through electronic files–rename, delete, archive. I tackled my work email, which is one email short of ridiculous.

Health:

Walk. Seriously. 30 minutes a day. Only once this past week; the chilly rains made it difficult.

Follow-up on all the health issues.  Waiting on some, took the reins in my hands on some.  I tend to forget that I have to be my own health advocate.

Family day, no working and time with family, one day per week–Yes. I managed to spend only one hour filing and another on responding to comments on Saturday.  My husband was napping the whole time, so I don’t feel bad at all.

Reading:

List and report on what I’m reading, even the dry, academic stuff.

The Unnamed, Jennifer L. Oliver

Forever Road, Catie Rhodes

Please go cheer for the ROWers who have stuck with us through this Round.  The linky is here.

Responses

  1. You’ve been a busy little bee, haven’t you? 🙂 I seriously think eliminating clutter helps with all aspects of life. That’s why I’m trying so hard to follow the FlyLady’s plan. She believes in taking baby steps. I multi-task too much, too. I think it’s a woman thing, because men are terrible at it. But we all probably need to slow down a bit and concentrate on one thing at a time.

    Forever Road is on my to be read list.

    • I need to get back on the FlyLady plan–I used to follow it to the letter, and it really helped.

      I really enjoyed Forever Road–I highly recommend it.

  2. you sound like you’re doing well – so busy – make me feel idle – esp as I thought your idea of clearing the decks for an hour each day a great idea and have done nothing about it:(

    all the best for the coming week:)


Please leave a reply

Categories

