ROW80

ROW80 Check-in Floored by the Falls

First, a happy Father’s Day to all the fathers out there.  I hope it was a good, relaxing day for you all.  The dads in my life work hard, and the rest is well-deserved.

I spent the end of this past week in Buffalo at a conference.  Afterwards,  my husband suggested we go see Niagara Falls.  He saw them with our sons when he helped them move from Indiana to New York last spring, but I have never seen them. Simply put, they are stunning,  We didn’t go on the Maid of the Mist, although I plan to do so next time we are there, nor did we go through the Cave of the Winds, where one can go behind the falls, but again, it is on my list.

We took our passports, planning to go to the Canadian side, but it was threatening rain, so we stayed state-side. The walkway winds along the rapids, the fence providing a bulwark between one’s body and the rushing water about 18 inches away.  At the top of the falls, the fence keeps one back about 15 feet from the water plummeting 165 feet.  The spray rises into the air, marking the falls from a distance of several miles away on the highway.

I thought about the early European explorers coming upriver to see this boiling, thundering, set of falls that look as though some titan punched perpendicularly through them, leaving the water to rush down a horseshoe-shaped hole–hence the Horseshoe Falls.  My thoughts about the experience have been swirling as rapidly as the water, leaving me to jot down snippets and thoughts with no clear shape to them yet.  It was quite the experience.

Have you been to a place that made you think, that haunted you in a way you didn’t expect?

Writing:

One hour three times.  I missed a day due to the above-mentioned out-of-town conference.

Community:

Visit my assigned blogs twice a week– By the end of the day, I will be caught up.

Reply to all comments–I have worked back to the beginning of this Round on my blog; I have the comments on the sponsor post and earlier posts yet to do, but that will happen soon.

Clutter:

One hour twice a week at home filing important papers.  I was out of town for the end of the week, but still managed to meet this goal.  It feels good!

One hour three times a week going through my work email.  Yes, although it is still ridiculous, it is better.

Health:

Walk. Seriously. 30 minutes a day. My foot swells when I walk too much–this goal will have to be modified until I see the podiatrist.  Sigh.

Follow-up on all the health issues.  It took from April 25th until June 13th to hear from a local doctor about a biopsy. I’m calling a new doctor tomorrow.

Family day, no working and time with family, one day per week–Yes. The conference was in Buffalo, so the husband and I went to Niagara Falls, which I had never seen before.  It was only three-quarters of a day, but it was very nice.

Reading:

List and report on what I’m reading, even the dry, academic stuff.

Cold Days, Jim Butcher.

Again, Diana Murdock

Haunted on Bourbon Street, Deanna Chase

Keeper of My Heart, Darcy Flynn

I’ve read a few samples this week, too:

Every Witch Way but Wicked, Amanda M. Lee

Reason to Breathe, Rebecca Donovan

Please go cheer for the ROWers in this Round’s home stretch.  The linky is here.

2 thoughts on “ROW80 Check-in Floored by the Falls”

  1. I loved the falls – and I too tried to imagine what early folk thought when first they were viewed (I did the same thinking decades ago when I was at the Victoria Falls) you can see how we produce gods and goddesses for natural world such as water – the power and awe those falls produce – I went twice once in the summer and once in the winter – try a trip in the winter for magic and beauty – some of falls actually freeze! wonderous sight.

    my friend from forever/editor and I took a boat trip and hovered feet away from the bottom of the falls – exciting or what!!! (bear in mind I am not actually a very good sailor!

    Your week was very good considering you took time off – all the best for coming week and your doctor problems:)

  2. If you ever feel inspired (and willing to try a short hike with us… it’s 2.5 miles round trip and there are plenty of places to pause along the way), I must take you to Kaaterskill Falls. They’re actually taller than Niagara, but less broad. Both are gorgeous in their own way…

    Ick on waiting so long from a local doctor. May I be so bold (you can contact me privately if you wish) about who the doctor was?

    At least everywhere else you are making progress.

Please leave a reply

