Posted by: Elizabeth Anne Mitchell | July 3, 2013

Round 3 Goals

I am late in joining this third Round of Words, due to life getting in the way.  My mother-in-law is gravely ill and not expected to survive past this weekend. My reflections on life, as well as the needs of my family,  lead me to setting small, short-time goals, at least for the beginning weeks.

If you are unfamiliar with a Round of Words, or ROW80, click here to read more about it from the creator of the challenge, Kait Nolan. It is a writing challenge that “knows you have a life;” its flexibility is often helpful, as it is for me this Round.

This Round, I am continuing my earlier mantra to minimize the unimportant to maximize the important. I am concentrating on healthy habits of body and mind, and connecting rather than hibernating.

One hour writing the academic article du jour every day

Morning Pages three times a week

As a sponsor, I will visit my assigned blogs twice a week.

I will reply to all comments on my blogs within 2 days.

One non-blog related post per week on Facebook and Twitter.

One share, re-tweet, whatnot per week on Facebook and  Twitter.

One hour three times a week going through electronic files–rename, delete, archive.

Walk 10 minutes a day.

Family day, no working and time with family, one day per week.

Update Goodreads with one title each week.

List and report on what I’m reading at one check-in a week.

Please go encourage other ROW80 writers here.

Responses

  1. so sorry to hear your news -it is hard to plan goals when life in its most meaningful way stops in your path

    your goals sound do-able in the meantime and I wish all the best

    your clearing goals last round galvanised me to start in on mine and have – after a sluggish start begun to make real inroads – thanks:)

    • Thank you, Alberta. My mother-in-law passed away in the early hours today. It helps to know that she no longer suffers and is at rest.

      The morning pages will help me work through the mix of emotions, I hope.

      I’m proud that one of my goals inspired you! I’m finding the lack of clutter freeing–I hope it does the same for you. 🙂

  2. I commend you for sticking with ROW80 during this hard time. You are one strong lady. I wish you the best with your goals and send virtual hugs.

    • Thank you, Gloria, for the hugs. ROW80 is such a good support network for life as well as writing, and I have found such good friends here, I need to stick with it. I’m hoping that writing will help me process my emotions.

      I hope you have a lovely holiday, and a great rest of the week.

  3. I am so sorry for your loss, but as you say, she is at peace now and in no more pain.
    Those seem like manageable goals. I also need to do some digital archiving as my hard drive is nearing capacity and I know there’s a lot of junk on there I don’t need.

  4. Condolences to you and your family on the loss of your mother-in-law. My MIL died last year and it has left a hole, but it was time for her to go. I like how you said that your MIL is at rest.

    You’ve got a good grasp on your goals. I also keep one day aside for family, and I think it’s even helped my focus on the writing. I’m refreshed when I get back into my WIP. Best wishes for a wonderful round!

  5. Glad to see you back and writing, especially given your recent loss. It sounds like you had a very good relationship with your mother-in-law. May the good memories you have comfort you now.

    Re ROW80, your goals are admirably balanced between what is possible and your commitments to your self and family. May your routine of working and those morning pages bring solace.


Please leave a reply

Categories

