ROW80

Bagpipe farewell and ROW80 check-in

Although my mother-in-law was of mostly English heritage, I call on my own Celtic heritage for a bagpipe farewell to her.  I enjoyed the views of Scotland, although very little of my heritage is Scots. As my husband said in his eulogy, rest easy.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=euWfTiYwRB0

Now for ROW80 goals: last week was tough, not only because of my mother-in-law’s funeral, but the 26 hours of driving involved in getting there and back in 60 hours total. I’m getting too old to drive straight through the night, folks, especially twice in less than three days.

Perhaps understandably, I crashed upon our return, and have not met many goals.  I’m not going to complain about it, because this sort of week is not the norm.

One hour writing the academic article du jour every day. No. I have spent a lot of brain time assessing the best times and places to get this writing done, which is a baby step in the right direction.

Morning Pages three times a week. Times like last week bring up rafts of metaphysical thought, but nothing ended up written down.  I hope to put some of my thoughts on screen this week.

As a sponsor, I will visit my assigned blogs twice a week. Despite all odds, I kept up mid-week, and will finish up today’s comment by tomorrow.

I will reply to all comments on my blogs within 2 days. I have fallen slightly behind, but plan to catch up by Wednesday.

One non-blog related post per week on Facebook and Twitter. Not yet.

One share, re-tweet, whatnot per week on Facebook and Twitter. Not yet.

One hour three times a week going through electronic files–rename, delete, archive. Only one hour, but I should have more chance this week to attack the work files.

Walk 10 minutes a day. No.  The heat and humidity of the Midwest is mirrored in upstate New York, so no walking outside.  I will endeavor to walk around my thankfully air-conditioned building during work days.

Family day, no working and time with family, one day per week.  All day Tuesday and Wednesday were spent with family and friends.  As was said many times, it’s too bad that tragedy tends to be the impetus that brings families together, but at least many of us were together.

Update Goodreads with one title each week. I plan to finish this goal tomorrow.

List and report on what I’m reading at one check-in a week. I can’t read in a car, so I will update this list on Wednesday.

As always, please visit and encourage other ROWers.  It is a wonderful community. Go see for yourself here.

1 thought on “Bagpipe farewell and ROW80 check-in”

  1. Elizabeth, you are amazing! I appreciate so much the clarity of your goals (and how easy it is to measure your progress). I shall learn from you! And I think you have been realistic this last week, given the loss of your mother-in-law. Be kind, celebrate the good memories, and write when you can.

Please leave a reply

