ROW80

ROW 80 Check-in October 20

Those of you who hang around the ROW80 page on Facebook may have seen that my slow start to Round Four ground to a temporary halt only two days in when I ended up in the ICU the day I expected to go home.

The flurry of fear, changes in lifestyle and implosion of short term plans has been substantial. The planned rest has been expanded and time for rumination has been filled with many new topics.

I have done very badly on my goals so far, but I can only get better.

I will fulfill my assignment as a sponsor, and encourage more ROWers than my assignment whenever possible. I am catching up yesterday and today.

I will respond to comments within a week.  This time frame will shrink as my typing gets back to normal. I ended up in the hospital twice as long as planned, so I was behind.  I did catch up yesterday, however, and hope to stay on top of comments.

I will continue to explore in free-writing, at least three times a week, what genres and stories light me on fire, where I feel I have something to say that may teach and entertain. I have been writing down ideas, memories, and phrases as I can.

I will continue to fight against a cluttered mind and environs, by decluttering at least three hours a week. I spent more than three hours this past week supervising cleaning minions.

Please go visit around the other ROWers, whom you can find here.

29 thoughts on “ROW 80 Check-in October 20”

  1. I’m glad you’re feeling better. More importantly, I’m glad you’re okay and recovering at home. Hopefully recovery goes well and things will settle into a great and easy routine for you. Keep up the slow and steady pace and in time you’ll be faster a bit more each day.

  2. It sounds like you’re taking care of you and that’s great. It also sounds like you are getting back to routine and that’s great too, but know your limits and continue to take care of yourself.

  3. I really think you have an excellent excuse for being behind on things. Goodness sake, cut yourself some slack. I think you are doing fine on your goals. Get some rest and don’t push yourself. Everything can wait until you’re ready and able.

  4. Thank you for visiting and commenting — and continuing to be a sponsor, in spite of all that’s happened. May your healing continue. I found Shan Jeniah’s column on the ROW80 blog this morning, and it was exactly what I needed to read for its message of ‘attentiveness’ and letting writing be part of every day in whatever form it appears — more flow than fight or flight. As you said, ‘life happens’ and we can choose to cherish even the chaos. Be well.

    1. Beth, I so enjoy being a sponsor, I’d hate to have to give it up. Shan’s post had a lot to say to me as well, especially since my brush with serious illness has emphasized “bring present.”

      I’m trying to take the gift of this time to think and reflect on things, many of which will translate to writing at some point.

    1. Alberta, I know it’s not easy for you to say, because you dealt with your own health issues recently, and I’m quite sure you chafed under the necessity to take it slow.

      My sons are very good nurses, and know when to push me (like the physical therapy exercises) and when to make me rest. I do suffer from feeling useless, but am trying to use the time well while resting. Thank you for the advice! 🙂

Please leave a reply

