Posted by: Elizabeth Anne Mitchell | October 30, 2013

ROW80 Check-in October 30

I surprised the heck out of myself yesterday, when my comment on Jenny Hansen’s Surviving NaNo post  somehow transmogrified into a pledge to 1) write every day 2) lock Ms. RedPencil, my infernal, internal critic in the closet 3) not edit AT ALL until December.

WHAT THE??  For those of you new here, I have refused to have anything to do with NaNo–not my style, not my speed, no interest in comparing myself with others and failing.

I am an academic, trained to weigh every word before, during, and after the pixels hit the screen.  I’m lucky to write 300 net words a day.  There’s a reason my email address is lapidary prose–I polish things to death! Read my articles sometime–no, on second thought, read them only if you suffer with insomnia and the doctors have admitted defeat.

So what happened?  Jenny nailed it in her reply to my comment–for some reason, I’m still here, when it was touch and go.  My husband told me he knew it was serious when the hospital had an R.N. accompany me to the testing area, to revive me if I arrested. It seems a little ungrateful not to change one’s life, given the circumstances. And here’s November, so . . . . I’m not signing up officially for NaNo, because, well, I haven’t plotted, or done character sketches, or . . . well, I don’t have a good excuse not to, but, oh heck, maybe I will.

On other fronts, I *finally* replied to comments made on my Round Three sponsor post. I have to catch up with comments on Sunday’s check-in, but plan to do that this evening.

I also began a beta read, which I am enjoying immensely.  I’ve done the Ms. RedPencil English professor thing on it, and plan to re-read for continuity, characterization, and flow.  It’s a great read.

I promised two other writers readings, and have owed them for some time.  My apologies. I find I need to read in paper to do them justice; the logistics are a bit squirrelly at the moment, but I plan to have them printed out in the next few days.

I continue to read for pleasure.  I often cannot sleep, so I read.  I ran across Eloisa James, and have enjoyed her romances.  Her heroines are not the usual type, which I find appeals to me far more than the retiring innocent who somehow transforms in the right man’s hands.  Not to offend, but I’ve tired of the latter milquetoast heroine.

I hope everyone had a great October, and is looking forward to November.

Please go visit the other ROWers, whom you can find here.

Responses

  1. Yes. I like to call the devil that holds me back “Dr. Ruth” — even though my academic career ended during the post-doc phase, over a decade ago. But whipping that trained critic to silence is still a major challenge! Good luck on getting your evil (and good — let’s not forget that *g*) nemesis locked away in the broom closet for a while, until you need her again.

    • Lol, I love that, Dr. Ruth! It is a challenge to keep her quiet right now, while needing her help in the editing phase. So far, so good–she sticks her head out of the closet, but I chase her back in.

  2. Oh, and glad too all the R.N. (not me *g*) was an unnecessary precaution! (Just like me to get all caught up in the writing stuff and not respond to the personal … :/ )

  3. Thank you for sharing the post to Jenny Hansen’s tips on NaNoWriMo. I’ve been sitting on the fence and now am wavering more than ever, just 48 hours before the start of Nano. Your decisions make perfect sense. You can be one of those rebel Nanos! And me too. For despite all else, there’s that urge to write the story. May the coming month be successful AND healthy for you!

    • Yes, Jenny’s tips really hit the mark for me, Beth. I am definitely a rebel, writing a memoir about my childhood. Thank you for the good wishes!

  4. If you ever want a writing partner to bring over some tea (you’ll let me plug in my laptop so I can get some words in, I hope) in November, I could probably make that happen.

    I’ve never actually done a NaNoWriMo write-in, but there are some amazing sprints that run on Twitter. There is the #wordwar, #wordmongering, the #row80 teamsprinty crew (of course), the #NaNoWriMo people themselves and many others. The great thing about some of the Writing Month sprints is they are short. Ten minutes bursts of writing actually make it easier to just write it all down, even if it’s dreck.

    After all, March is National Novel Editing Month… So you’ve got time (http://nanoedmo.net/)

    And hooray for getting some of your reading backlog done. I know how hard that can be sometimes.

    • Absolutely, Eden. I’m looking forward to tea and writing. I haven’t made it to any of the sprints yet, since I’m writing at 5 am so far, but I’d love to add a quick sprint into the mix.

      Everyone on the NaNo site says to leave the editing till December, but if I finish in February, March works out so much better!

  5. I just wanted to send you a big hug. You have always been so lovely to cheer me on. So, consider me part of your fan club. I’ll root for you in November and forward, whatever writing you decide to do. I do NaNo, because I’m stubborn and once I agree to a challenge… well, I will do it. Sad that I have to sign up for a challenge to do it. I know I can, but knowing I said I can to a group of people motivates me more.

    • Thank you for the hug, Tia–it is greatly appreciated. Hey, whatever motivates you works for me. I often have to tell people I’m going to do something, so they will keep me honest.

      I truly appreciate your being in my fan club. I’m a happy member of yours! I hope you enjoy/enjoyed your trip to NYC. I find I like it more every time I visit.

  6. Oh well done in recognising your good fortune and using that to break old habits and challenge yourself. Best of luck for NaNo Elizabeth. X

    • Thank you, Shah, I think it’s human nature to continue on in our paths until something knocks us sideways. Thanks for stopping by! x


Please leave a reply

Categories

