ROW80

ROW80 Check-in Changes in Taste?

Hello, ROWers and all my other online friends.  I have had a pretty good week, despite a very disappointing incident with a couple of my direct reports at the day job.  However, I have better things to do than fret about that situation. My older son turned 22 yesterday–where the heck did the time go?  It has been good to recover with family and set day job irritations aside.

I’ve had the interesting experience of picking up two books that I had put down before because they did not appeal to me, but I really liked them this time.  Have any of you had that happen?  I mentioned  awhile ago the Alys Clare Hawkenlye series.  I tried to read Fortune Like the Moon ten years ago, and couldn’t get into it.  Although I haven’t worked back to that title (not in ebook from the public library), I’ve read most of the books in the series and truly enjoyed them.  Also, about five years ago, I tried to read Robin Hobbs’  Assassin’s Apprentice and abandoned it after about fifty pages.  I read it in one go on Friday, staying up until about 3 am. Do you think our tastes change that much? Or is it a confluence of circumstance and mood?

Ever since November 1st, I have been writing every day, and only failed to meet my 500 word goal once–and even then wrote close to 400.  I’ll take it!

I have kept up with my visits to ROWers, and am continuing to meet the goal of replying to comments within a week.

If you have a chance, please go pay it forward by visiting the other ROWers, whom you can find here.

17 thoughts on “ROW80 Check-in Changes in Taste?”

    1. Courtney, I’ve found that time is very elastic with kids. You’ll be looking at your 22-year-old (yes, much sooner than you can believe), but you will still see the six-year-old, and the two-year-old, and the infant. It’s mind boggling, but comforting, too.

      Writing everyday is one of the hardest things I do! Thank you for the encouragement!

  1. Several years ago I picked up One Hundred Years of Solitude by Gabriel Garcia Marquez. I believe I got 75 pages into it before deciding I hated the book. Picked it up again this year and now it is one of my all time favorites. I think you’re right, a confluence of circumstance and mood can affect our tastes considerably.

    Congrats on consistently meeting your writing goals!

  2. I’ve had that experience with books before. I think circumstances, mood, and current tastes have much to do with it. And conversely, there are books and authors I used to like that I no longer enjoy. I like to think it’s because I’ve matured, but who knows?

    Daily writing is difficult, but keep up the good work! You’ll be glad you did.

    1. Your point about no longer liking authors is a good one, Kathrese. There are entire genres I no longer like–and I also hope it is due to maturity. 🙂

      Thank you for the encouragement about the daily writing,. This past week it has been torture, but I feel the urge despite the pain! I like to see the word count change everyday, too.

  3. Time and confluence… We’re at different places in our humanity and experience when we read certain books. I’m sure that Hop on Pop or And Now We are Six wouldn’t quite hold the same appeal that they have to my son to either of us (though the later certainly is more timeless in a sense). Then again, he’s not as fascinated with the majority of books that I read…

    I LOVE reading about your NaNoWriMo experiences. I mean, I agree about the whole obsession with word count being too much (sadly I don’t think it’s a local problem), but the idea of regular practice…. I need to get back to my Five Sentences. Because it’s the regularity that’s really important, as I’m sure you’ll agree.

    1. Excellent points, Eden. I think that I tend to forget that I am still changing and being shaped by experience.

      I’m glad you’re enjoying my NaNo posts–I am finding out a lot about myself during the experience. I’ve gotten push back from some people about writing daily, and certainly everyone needs to find a practice that works for them, but you are spot on when you say that regularity is key.

      1. My father says he doesn’t intend to stop growing until they throw the first shovel full of dirt on him. A bit morbid, but I still like it as a philosophy on life.

        Push back? I hope it wasn’t too harsh. Even if you end up deciding that being a writer isn’t your cup of tea, you deserve the chance to truly test yourself and find out.

      2. I like that philosophy, Eden. As for the push back, it was from other writers who had asked what my modus operandi was. It didn’t bother me that they thought I was nuts to write everyday (I guess to be perfectly clear, it’s 6/7, not every day, usually)–it’s certainly not for everyone. Thankfully, my group of family and friends are every supportive.

      3. Ah…

        I think 6/7 is a a far more sensible way to face a writing (or any) project. I’ve actually slowed down a lot for this NaNo (enough so I might not win this year), but my writing has been more consistent and better quality. And I’m finding (and fixing) a lot of plot issues now that I might feel too wiped after the holidays to deal with otherwise.

        Should update my wordcount though. I have about 15 pages of handwritten stuff I haven’t added to the NaNo-site’s word count thingie yet…

        It’s about the story after all, ne?

        (I’m glad we’ve been able to offer some support. The real strength to do it ‘your way’ is your own. We’re just here as softer padding to land on.)

  4. Congratulations on meeting your word goal!
    I think sometimes we just have to be in a certain mood/place for some books. I know I hang on to books in my TBR pile for years before I ever get around to them…

Please leave a reply

