ROW80

ROW80 Check-in December 1

Once again, I have missed a couple of check-ins.  My life is still rather crazy, with one bright spot being that I have managed to keep up with writing 28 out of 30 days in the month of November. I’ve managed to increase my daily word output by 100%, consistently writing at least 500 words, and at times approaching 700.  I ended NaNo with 16,009 words–not even half of what is  needed to win, but more than enough to make me happy. While it was an interesting experiment, and provided some of the kick in the patootie to get me to write every day, NaNo really isn’t for me.  I am far more motivated by my ROW80 and other writing friends.

I wrote a post on gratitude  on my author blog (www.elizabethannemitchell.com), which has been stagnant for several months, following with one on thankfulness  for those who are no longer with me, in one way or another.  I have managed to catch up with replies to comments, and have kept up with my sponsor duties.

I read Kait Nolan’s Be Careful, It’s My Heart, sitting by a fire on a windy, chilly day. It’s a fun contemporary romance, based on the classic movie White Christmas, well worth reading. I’ve not been reading much else, these past few days, hoping to get some work done on my blogs, and planning  December goals.

My medical issues continue to surface, as I found out Tuesday I will need to have further surgery, but it will have to wait until I have the clot issues under control. My family issues continue, and the day job is not going well right now, as I have mentioned in the past.  It is very easy for me to focus on the negative, but I am concentrating on the half-full glass.

I am finishing up a four-day weekend with my family, the first such time off with my sons since I took on the day job over 18 months ago.  I have managed to write more than I am used to, even through some very tough memories.  I am able to indulge my creative side through knitting and quilting, which I have set aside for far too long.

I’d love to know how you are doing, if you did NaNo, are participating in ROW80,or are doing neither.  Also, if you have a chance, please go visit the other ROWers, whom you can find here.

13 thoughts on “ROW80 Check-in December 1”

  1. I might just have to read Kait’s book, because every time I hear the title I hear Bing Crosby singing the song. That’s one of our favoeite movies, as is the followup “White Christmas” wit Bing, Danny Kaye, Vera-Ellen and Rosemary Clooney.

    I am sorry that things aren’t so well for you health, family, and job-wise. I’ll keep you in my thoughts and pray that things are better by Christmas for you.

  2. Sending you hopes for good resolution to your health troubles and your work headaches. We do have a car again, and I would love to come see you in a couple of weeks (I owe the kids this weekend, due to needing to cancel their Halloween plans, so the week after works for me if it does for you.)…

    Family and writing time, and time to reflect, seem like breaks in the clouds. I hope they’re starting a trend!

  3. Congratulations on the word count! That’s wonderful! And 28 out of 30 days? Spectacular!

    Sorry to hear about the further health problems. Hang in there–thinking lots of good thoughts for you.

  4. I love the #ROW80 community. It’s important to take care of yourself so you can be the best you can be for everyone around you. Feel free to vent whenever you need a release. You’ve got many shoulders to ‘lean on’ here. 🙂

    Sending you happy thoughts and good vibes through your computer screen this round and always.

    Cheers,

    Tonette

    1. Thank you, Tonette. I’m trying to get used to taking care of myself–overcoming the socialization of being the caregiver and putting myself last is difficult. I appreciate being able to vent in this great community, and I very much appreciate the happy thoughts and good vibes.

  5. I think one of the important things in writing and most other things is to be happy with your own progress. I’m sorry to hear about your health troubles and family issues but I think it’s good that you’re trying to focus on the glass being half-full.

  6. And here I’d been hoping that things were still on the upswing after the earlier glitches of the surgery. 😦 If you need any moral support, I’ll be in Albany most of next week, and can stop in with mild teas or even just a hug.

    Or a concert at noon…

    Beyond that… 28 days of regular writing? That is awesome. I’d say you definitely won the NaNo, wordcount be damned. Though I certainly can see reasons for saying that it’s not your cup of tea.

Please leave a reply

