Posted by: Elizabeth Anne Mitchell | January 3, 2014

Goals Round One 2014

A Round of Words in 80 Days is a writing challenge “that knows you have a life,” balancing accountability to a group of colleagues with realistic, measurable goals.  If this sort of challenge sounds interesting, click here for the skinny from the creator, Kait Nolan.

My overarching goals are broad, but give the bones of my Round One specific strategies.  They are split into five areas, which then lead to the tactical, measurable, goals for Round One.

  1. Personal: Live mindfully and positively.
  2. Professional: Make and protect the time to write
  3. Physical: Move more
  4. Emotional: Reconnect with family and friends
  5. Spiritual: Meditate

On the tactical level, I have the following measurable goals:

  1. Meditate for no less than ten minutes a day.
  2. Find gratitude for at least one thing every day.
  3. Return to the daily habit of at least 250 words a day.
  4. Never sit when I can stand, never stand when I can pace.  Stand for at least 5 minutes every hour; pace for at least 5 minutes every hour; walk for 5 minutes every 2 hours.
  5. Contact every extended family member on their birthday.
  6. Reply to comments on blogs within two days.

It doesn’t look like a lot, but I had the wind knocked out of me in mid-December, and need to start back slowly. 

A crucial part of ROW80 is the community. Please go check out some of the other participants’ goals here.

 

Responses

  1. Slow and steady is the sure way of getting there, Elizabeth Some days you may have the extra energy to sprint a little, but you should never feel obliged to. The point is to get there, not to brag about how fast you did it.

  2. I think these are wonderful and very inspirational ROW80 goals. I love meditating; it makes me feel so grounded and refreshed, and I think that gratitude is an essential part of any well-lived life. Good luck meeting your goals in 2014, Elizabeth.

  3. What wonderful goals, Elizabeth. Working towards them one step, one day at a time will make your personal dreams a reality. Good luck!

    What do you write?
    Sherry
    writing as Ariana Wells

  4. Baby steps are the best way to success IMO. I had to cut back on fitness due to some health issues last couple of months, and am working back into that the same way you are – slowly. Good luck!

  5. Hey, as was said, slow and steady wins the race! Good luck!

  6. I enjoyed reading the categories of goals you’ve set that move from the personal to the spiritual and admire that commitment to meditation. So specific. No less than 10 minutes a day. What a centering here that I achieve only sporadically but admire those who can slow down to simply breathe. Cherish the moment! May 2014 bring you good health and good writing.

  7. Great goals. I have to cut back too this quarter. I think the main thing is that we keep moving forward and don’t give up.

    Good luck!

  8. I think they are great goals. Elizabeth. I especially like the one about gratitude.

    Best of luck this year.

  9. I love how positive and community-themed your goals are. I hope 2014 brings you many blessings and some recovery from your 2013 year-end. Sending you a huge hug!


Please leave a reply

Categories

