ROW80

Leaving the Cave ROW80 3/9/2014

sun through clouds
Hazy breakthrough by Dave R. Farmer, WANA Commons

 

It has been a long time since I checked in. Although I managed to stir myself into replying to my sponsor post, and even wrote a post for August McLaughlin’s Beauty of A Woman BlogFest, I have been hibernating. However, I’ve come to realize that I need to get back into this community. I have crawled out of my cave, though it is still winter in my part of the country, and the sun only a promise.  My thoughts have been rife with doubt and uncertainty, which I find paralyzing.  I retreated to the safe shores of academia, and gave up creativity.   Surfeited with facts, my muse rebelled–so here I am, jumping back into the fray.

For now, I will continue with my original goals.  I will change them if they are not working for me the next week or so. I have a lot of work to do, as I have only succeeded in following numbers 4 and 5. with occasional bursts of gratitude.

  1. Meditate for no less than ten minutes a day. 
  2. Find gratitude for at least one thing every day. Occasionally.
  3. Return to the daily habit of at least 250 words a day.  
  4. Never sit when I can stand, never stand when I can pace.  Stand for at least 5 minutes every hour; pace for at least 5 minutes every hour; walk for 5 minutes every 2 hours. Yes.
  5. Contact every extended family member on their birthday. Yes.
  6. Reply to comments on blogs within two days. 

I’m glad to be back.  I’ve missed all of you, as the community is such a crucial part of ROW80. Please go check out some of the other participants here.

4 thoughts on “Leaving the Cave ROW80 3/9/2014”

  1. This week the rains came and the snow finally melted. I feel those winter doldrums you describe so well. Commitments to others make it tough to keep focused on writing and being an active part of this wonderful community. But you know just posting an update helps to keep us focused on what is most important . . . any progress, even small, brings us closer to the work of our heart. I too am grateful for this ROW80 community. May this next week go well for you.

    1. Thank you, Beth, for your encouragement and for your patience in getting a reply from me. It is supposed to sleet here tonight, so Winter still has quite the hold on the area. Even so, I’m starting to feel a tiny bit more alive and creative–I’ll take any progress, as you say. I hope you have a great break between Rounds, and I look forward to seeing you in Round Two.

  2. I did not realize that you were in a cave Elizabeth. Where have I been? Perhaps in a cave too. Great to see you and keep writing. I love your determination. And if it doesn’t work, no worries. Sometimes we all need to readjust our goals and schedules. Live happens. I hope you have a great week of writing. Enjoy! 🙂

    1. Thank you for stopping by, Karen. I was pretty quiet about retreating to my cave, so I’m not surprised or offended that you didn’t notice!

      I’m slowly getting more thoughts on paper and coaxing my muse out of the closet where it retreated. Have a lovely week!

Please leave a reply

