ROW80

Goals Round Two 2014

A Round of Words in 80 Days is a writing challenge “that knows you have a life,” balancing accountability to a group of colleagues with realistic, measurable, goals.  If this sort of challenge sounds interesting, click here for the skinny from the creator, Kait Nolan.

During Round One, I succeeded in creating several daily habits: meditating, finding gratitude, connecting, and moving. I plan to concentrate on the remaining two trouble spots for Round Two.  If I achieve them mid-Round, I have more in the wings.

1. Return to the daily habit of at least 250 words a day.

2. Comment/reply to comments within two days.

My life goals are broad, split into the following five areas:

  1. Personal: Live mindfully and positively.
  2. Professional: Make and protect the time to write
  3. Physical: Move more
  4. Emotional: Reconnect with family and friends
  5. Spiritual: Meditate

A crucial part of ROW80 is the community. Please go check out some of the other participants’ goals here.

23 thoughts on “Goals Round Two 2014”

  1. Yay, goals! These are solid and simple, which is a good way to success. I didn’t put in it in my post, but one of my goals this round is to finally get that book to you, Elizabeth. lol.

    Best of luck! I’m excited to be back and cheering everyone on.

  2. Hi Elizabeth. I love the idea of including meditating as a goal. Sounds perfect for my life at the moment. So excited to be back doing ROW80 again and so glad that so many of the old faces are still around. 🙂

    1. Jody, it’s great to see you in ROW80 again. Meditating at least ten minutes a day was one of my goals last Round. It became so central and grounding for me, it’s a habit. I’m trying to establish balance in my life, and I recommend meditation highly.

  3. I love that so many of the ROWers have goals beyond just the writing. 250 words should be manageable, especially given your Professional goal. I wish you the best in working on them all.

    1. I agree, Andrew. Even though ROW80 is clearly a writing challenge, it acknowledges that life happens, so it lends itself to goals beyond writing. Meditation and connecting with others are beneficial to my writing, as well. Thanks for dropping by. I look forward to getting to know you this Round.

  4. Your goals are so simply and directly expressed, they are inspiring in themselves. For sometimes I get bogged down with those long to-do lists. Here you remind me again of the value of simply writing and of being mindful. What gifts!

  5. Elizabeth, you have got such a gorgeous smile. Once cannot but be enthused by the goals you set for yourself. They, the goals are realistic. And you’re doing great! 🙂

  6. Glad to see you’re adding a word count goal!!! I feel like I’m finally getting there too. Had to organize a lot of other stuff/life first to get it to work. All the best for Round 2!

  7. Look at you, answering all these comments and meeting a goal, already! =)

    Your goals are elegantly simple. I have a good feeling about them.

    See you next Tuesday! =)

  8. Hello, my friend! I love the sound of your goals for this round–simple and attainable, and better yet, they are things that will really improve quality of life. I didn’t include a daily word count in mine, but I am thinking of employing Eden Mabee’s “5 sentence” minimum for both creative and academic writing, just so I can feel like I’ve done *something* each day.

    Looking forward to ROWing with you!

    1. It’s so nice to see my fellow academic-cum-fiction writer around again! I’ve used Eden’s technique often when I’m taking small baby steps on something. I have to get a bit more done this Round–nothing like having to stand up in front of an audience to make sure one’s research is done.

      I’m writing stories about my mom, too. They may not go anywhere, but they help.

Please leave a reply

